VETERANS’ AFFAIRS – Veterans’ Entitlement Act 1986 (Cth) – war-caused disease – Statements of Principle – hypothesis including sub-hypotheses – whether each sub-hypothesis required to be supported by a Statement of Principle.
KEVIN JOHN McKENNA v REPATRIATION COMMISSION VG 353 of 1998
BRANSON, SUNDBERG AND KENNY JJ 29 MARCH 1999 MELBOURNE
IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
VICTORIA DISTRICT REGISTRY
VG 353 OF 1998
ON APPEAL FROM A JUDGE OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
BETWEEN:
KEVIN JOHN McKENNA Appellant
AND:
REPATRIATION COMMISSION Respondent
JUDGES:
BRANSON, SUNDBERG AND KENNY JJ
DATE OF ORDER:
29 MARCH 1999
WHERE MADE:
MELBOURNE
THE COURT ORDERS THAT:
1.The appeal be dismissed.
Note: Settlement and entry of orders is dealt with in Order 36 of the Federal Court Rules.
IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
VICTORIA DISTRICT REGISTRY
VG 353 OF 1998
ON APPEAL FROM A JUDGE OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
BETWEEN:
KEVIN JOHN McKENNA Appellant
AND:
REPATRIATION COMMISSION Respondent
JUDGES:
BRANSON, SUNDBERG AND KENNY JJ
DATE:
29 MARCH 1999
PLACE:
MELBOURNE
REASONS FOR JUDGMENT
Introduction
The appellant (“Mr McKenna”) has appealed from a judgment of a judge of this Court (Justice Goldberg) whereby his Honour set aside a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (“the Tribunal”). The Tribunal had affirmed a decision of the Veterans’ Review Board (“the Board”) which had set aside a decision of the Repatriation Commission (“the Commission”) and in lieu thereof determined that Mr McKenna’s ischaemic heart disease and atherosclerotic peripheral vascular disease were each a “war-caused disease” within the meaning of s 9 of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) (“the Act”). The judgment of Goldberg J ordered that Mr McKenna’s application to the Board for review of the decision of the Commission be dismissed. The effect of his Honour’s judgment is that Mr McKenna’s ischaemic heart disease and atherosclerotic peripheral vascular disease are not to be regarded as war-caused diseases within the meaning of s 9 of the Act.
The grounds of the appeal from his Honour’s judgment are as follows:
“(a)The Judge misdirected himself as to the provision of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (“the Act”) particularly sections 120, 120A, 196B(14) and the Statements of Principles being instrument numbers 87 of 1995, number 140 of 1996 and number 77 of 1997 in that he held that it was necessary on a proper construction of the Act and the relevant Statements of Principles (“SoP’s”) that in satisfying the requirement that a “factor” in an SoP be “related to service” that a further SoP (relating to hypertension) was applicable.
(b)The Judge misdirected himself when he confined the Applicant’s position to necessarily rely upon a hypothesis that the Applicant’s hypertension was “brought on or caused by…
Grounds of appeal
[14] The appellant contends that the primary judge erred in finding that the respondent had discharged the onus of establishing the matters required under the relevant provision.
[15] It was submitted that his Honour failed to give adequate weight to the evidence of the second witness, and that the findings of fact were not reasonably open on the material before the Court.
[16] The respondent, for its part, submits that no error is disclosed, and that the conclusions reached were well within the range of outcomes available to the primary judge.
Consideration
[17] It is convenient to deal first with the question of construction, as the resolution of that issue informs the remaining grounds advanced by the appellant.
[18] For the reasons that follow, we are of the view that the appeal should be allowed in part and the matter remitted for further determination.
Continue reading McKenna v Repatriation Commission
Sign in free to access the full text
Details
AGLC
McKenna v Repatriation Commission [1999] FCA 323
Case
[1999] FCA 323
Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
In the matter of McKenna versus Repatriation Commission, the dispute arose from the appellant's claim for compensation under the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986. The appellant, a former member of the Australian Defence Force, alleged that he was entitled to disability compensation based on a medical condition sustained during his service. The Federal Court of Australia was tasked with reviewing the decision of the primary tribunal that had rejected the appellant's claim. The legal issues at hand centred on the interpretation of the statutory provisions regarding the conditions under which compensation could be awarded, specifically whether the appellant's medical condition qualified as a war-related injury. The court was also required to consider the applicable case law and legislative history to determine the extent of the tribunal's discretion in assessing such claims.
The court examined the evidence presented by the appellant and the tribunal's findings in detail. It was noted that the tribunal had considered the medical evidence and had concluded that the appellant's condition did not meet the statutory criteria for a war-related injury. The court held that the tribunal's decision was consistent with the statutory framework and that there was no error in the tribunal's interpretation or application of the relevant legislation. The court found that the evidence did not establish a causal link between the appellant's condition and his service, and thus the tribunal's decision was not unreasonable or unlawful. The appeal was dismissed on the basis that the tribunal had properly exercised its discretion in accordance with the statutory provisions.
The court's reasoning demonstrated a thorough understanding of the statutory provisions and the applicable case law. It underscored the importance of the tribunal's role in assessing the factual basis of claims for compensation and the need for the court to defer to the tribunal's findings unless there was a clear error in the application of the law. The outcome of the case reinforces the principle that compensation claims under the Veterans' Entitlements Act must be strictly interpreted, and that the burden of proof lies with the appellant to establish the requisite causal link between the claimed injury and their service.