Repatriation Pension—Incapacity arising from war-caused injury or disease—Connexion between incapacity and war service—Commission required to find incapacity war-caused unless satisfied beyond reasonable doubt that no sufficient ground for so finding—Commission required to be so satisfied if of opinion that material does not raise reasonable hypothesis connecting incapacity with service—Relationship between requirements—"Reasonable hypothesis"—Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth), s. 120.
Decisions
MASON C.J., DEANE AND McHUGH JJ. The question in this appeal is whether the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (Veterans' Appeals Division) misdirected itself in holding that no reasonable hypothesis connected the essential hypertension of the appellant with an anxiety state arising from the circumstances of his war service. The Tribunal accepted that essential hypertension "is a form of hypertension for which there is no organic explanation and the cause of which is unknown". The Tribunal held that "the hypothesis of stress as contributing to the onset of essential hypertension ... is not reasonably based". An appeal to the Federal Court against the decision of the Tribunal was allowed by Wilcox J. on two grounds: (a) that the evidence which the Tribunal accepted did not support its finding; (b) that the Tribunal had failed to deal with an alternative case advanced by the appellant which claimed a relationship between his war-caused alcoholism and his hypertension. His Honour ordered that the matter be remitted to the Tribunal for a rehearing. An appeal against his order was allowed by a majority of the Full Court of the Federal Court (Morling and Neaves JJ., Davies J. dissenting). The majority ordered that the claim of the appellant should be reheard only in respect of the second of the two grounds which Wilcox J. had upheld. The legislation
2. Section 13(1) of the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) provides: "Where: (a) the death of a veteran was war-caused; or (b) a veteran has become incapacitated from a war-caused injury or a war-caused disease; the Commonwealth is, subject to this Act, liable to pay: (c) in the case of the death of the veteran - pensions to the dependants of the veteran; or (d) in the case of the incapacity of the veteran - pension to the veteran; in accordance with this Act."
3. The term "veteran" is defined, inter alia, to mean "a person ... who (has) ... rendered eligible war service", as defined. It is common ground that the appellant is a veteran for the purposes of s.13.
4. Section 120 of the Act lays down the manner in which the Tribunal is to determine a claim under Pt II (which includes s.13) where the claim involves a relationship between a veteran's injury and his or her operational service. Section 6 defines the term "operational service". It is common ground that the appellant rendered operational service within the meaning of the definition. Section 120 provides: "(1) Where a claim under…
Grounds of appeal
[14] The appellant contends that the primary judge erred in finding that the respondent had discharged the onus of establishing the matters required under the relevant provision.
[15] It was submitted that his Honour failed to give adequate weight to the evidence of the second witness, and that the findings of fact were not reasonably open on the material before the Court.
[16] The respondent, for its part, submits that no error is disclosed, and that the conclusions reached were well within the range of outcomes available to the primary judge.
Consideration
[17] It is convenient to deal first with the question of construction, as the resolution of that issue informs the remaining grounds advanced by the appellant.
[18] For the reasons that follow, we are of the view that the appeal should be allowed in part and the matter remitted for further determination.
Continue reading Bushell v Repatriation Commission
Sign in free to access the full text
Details
AGLC
Bushell v Repatriation Commission [1992] HCA 47
Case
[1992] HCA 47
Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The applicant, Bushell, sought judicial review of a decision by the Repatriation Commission (the Commission) to refuse his claim for a disability pension. Bushell had served in the Australian Regular Army and claimed that his current medical conditions, specifically chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) and a related cardiac condition, were attributable to his military service. The Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) had affirmed the Commission's decision, finding that Bushell had not discharged the onus of proving that his conditions were war-caused. The matter proceeded to the High Court of Australia.
The central legal issue before the High Court was the proper interpretation and application of section 120 of the *Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986* (Cth) (the Act). Specifically, the Court had to determine whether the AAT had erred in law by failing to give sufficient weight to the statutory presumption contained within section 120, which requires that certain conditions be taken to be war-caused unless the contrary is proved. The Court also considered the standard of proof required of the applicant under the Act and the nature of the evidence that could satisfy the "reasonable hypothesis" test.
The High Court held that the AAT had misconstrued section 120 of the Act. The Court explained that section 120 establishes a statutory presumption that, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, a condition suffered by a veteran is taken to be war-caused. This presumption shifts the onus to the Commission to prove that the condition is not war-caused. The AAT had erred by treating the applicant's claim as if he bore the full onus of proving his conditions were war-caused, rather than considering whether the Commission had discharged its onus under section 120. The Court reiterated that the standard of proof required is not proof on the balance of probabilities, but rather the establishment of a reasonable hypothesis.
The High Court allowed the appeal, quashed the decision of the AAT, and remitted the matter to the AAT for redetermination in accordance with the Court's reasons.