Jackman v Repatriation Commission

Case [1997] FCA 564


CATCHWORDS

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW - appeal from decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (“the AAT”) that applicant not eligible for special rate of pension - whether AAT failed to provide an adequate statement of reasons - whether AAT decision based on finding that there was an intervening event or condition - whether decision so unreasonable that no reasonable decision maker could have so decided - whether AAT applied the correct standard of proof

Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth), s 24(1)(c)
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth), s 43(2B)

Repatriation Commission v Smith (1987) 15 FCR 327, cited
Banovich v Repatriation Commission (1986) 69 ALR 395, cited
Cavell v Repatriation Commission (1988) 9 AAR 534, applied
Malec v J C Hutton Pty Ltd (1990) 169 CLR 638, considered
Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs v Wu Shan Liang (1996) 185 CLR 259, cited
Repatriation Commission v Wilson (1996) 43 ALD 77, cited
Repatriation Commission v Braund (1991) 23 ALD 591, cited
Copperart Pty Ltd v Commissioner of Taxation (1993) 13 ATC 4779, cited
Commissioner of Taxation v Osbourne (1990) 26 FCR 63, cited

TERENCE WILLIAM JACKMAN - v - REPATRIATION COMMISSION

No NG 521 of 1996

Tamberlin J
Sydney
30 June 1997

IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA )
)
NEW SOUTH WALES DISTRICT REGISTRY )     No. NG 521 of 1996
)
GENERAL DIVISION

)

BETWEEN:     

TERENCE WILLIAM JACKMAN
Applicant

                 AND:     

REPATRIATION COMMISSION
Respondent

CORAM: TAMBERLIN J
PLACE: SYDNEY
DATED: 30 JUNE 1997

MINUTE OF ORDERS

The Court orders that the application be dismissed with costs.

Note:Settlement and entry of orders is dealt with in Order 36 of the Federal Court Rules.

IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA )
)
NEW SOUTH WALES DISTRICT REGISTRY )     No. NG 521 of 1996
)
GENERAL DIVISION

)

BETWEEN:     

TERENCE WILLIAM JACKMAN
Applicant

                 AND:     

REPATRIATION COMMISSION
Respondent

CORAM: TAMBERLIN J
PLACE: SYDNEY
DATED: 30 JUNE 1997

REASONS FOR JUDGMENT

TAMBERLIN J:

Introduction

This is an appeal, pursuant to s 44 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth), from a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (“the AAT”) that the applicant does not satisfy s 24(1)(c) of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (“the Act”) and is therefore not eligible for a special rate of pension.

Background

The applicant was born on 6 June 1922. He is a war veteran and suffers from a number of war-caused disabilities, these include ischaemic heart disease and an anxiety state. The applicant has been in receipt of a disability pension since 1967 and a service pension since he was 60 years of age.

In October 1981 the applicant suffered a severe heart attack and was on sick leave until early 1982. Prior to this he had been working full-time as a secretary of the Queensland Confederation of Industry. In April 1982, shortly after returning to work, he obtained employment as a full time Secretary Manager of the Queensland Nursery Industry Association. The applicant had been advised by his general practitioner, Dr Shepherd, and his…

Continue reading Jackman v Repatriation Commission

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Jackman v Repatriation Commission [1997] FCA 564
Case
[1997] FCA 564
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The appeal before the Court concerns the decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) that the applicant, Terence William Jackman, does not satisfy s 24(1)(c) of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) and is therefore not eligible for a special rate of pension. The applicant, a war veteran, suffers from war-caused disabilities, including ischaemic heart disease and an anxiety state, and has been in receipt of a disability pension since 1967 and a service pension since he was 60 years of age. The applicant had worked full-time as a secretary until a severe heart attack in 1981 and subsequent medical advice to slow down or retire. He subsequently retired in 1983 and has not worked since. The applicant argued that his war-caused disabilities were the sole reason for his retirement and that there was no other intervening reason for his cessation of employment.

The legal issues before the Court were whether the AAT failed to provide an adequate statement of reasons for its decision and whether the AAT erred in its construction and application of s 24(1)(c) of the Act by concluding that the applicant did not meet the "alone test" at the date of application in 1994, when it found that he did so at the date of retirement in 1983. The applicant also argued that the AAT did not apply the correct standard of proof. The Court found that the AAT did not err in its reasoning. The AAT balanced the evidence in favour of the applicant with other relevant considerations, such as the applicant's age, time out of the workforce, retirement intentions, financial position, and family circumstances. The AAT concluded that it could not be reasonably satisfied that the applicant's war-caused disabilities alone precluded him from engaging in remunerative employment as at the date of application. The AAT's reasons were concise but sufficient to enable the applicant to understand the basis for the decision. The Court rejected the argument that the AAT applied an incorrect standard of proof, as the AAT had correctly identified the standard of proof to be applied and reached its conclusion based on the evidence before it.

The Court dismissed the appeal with costs, affirming the AAT's decision that the applicant did not satisfy s 24(1)(c) of the Act and was therefore not eligible for the special rate of pension.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.