Smith and Repatriation Commission

Case [2003] AATA 463


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2003] AATA 463

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No Q2001/714

VETERANS' APPEALS DIVISION

)

Re CHRISTOPHER OSBORN SMITH

Applicant

And

REPATRIATION COMMISSION

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Dr EK Christie, Member

Date23 May 2003 

PlaceBrisbane

Decision The decision under review is set aside and in substitution thereto, the Tribunal decides that Mr Smith is entitled to pension payable at the Special Rate.   

(Sgd) EK Christie
  Member

CATCHWORDS

VETERANS’ ENTITLEMENTS  - disability pension – whether applicant entitled to special rate – whether applicant totally and permanently incapacitated – capacity to undertake remunerative work – whether applicant prevented from continuing to undertake remunerative work by reason of war-caused incapacity alone – whether accepted service-related conditions ‘substantial cause’ of inability to engage in remunerative work – whether genuinely seeking to engage in remunerative work.

Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 ss 24(1)(b), 24(1)(c), 24(2)(b), 28(a), 28(b), 28(c)

Re Hornery and Repatriation Commission (1998) 52 ALD 317
Chambers v Repatriation Commission (1995) 12 ALR 219
Re Bos and Defence Forces Retirement and Death Benefits Authority (1977) 1 ALD 31
Forbes v Repatriation Commission (2000) 101 FCR 50
Flentjar v Repatriation Commission (1997) 48 ALD 1

Re Starcevich and Repatriation Commission (1986) 10 ALN 202 
Re Doyle and Repatriation Commission (1986) 47 ALD 187
Jackman v Repatriation Commission [1997] FCA 564
Cavell v Repatriation Commission (1988) 9 AAR 534
Hall v Repatriation Commission (1994) 33 ALD 454
Hendy v Repatriation Commission [2002] FCA 602
Rendell v Repatriation Commission [2001] FCA 1881
Byrne v Repatriation Commission [2001] FCA 1134

REASONS FOR DECISION

23 May 2003  Dr EK Christie, Member     

1.      This is an application by Christopher Smith to review a decision of the Veterans’ Review Board (the “VRB”) made on 12 July 2001 that decided that pension for Mr Smith be assessed at 70% of the General Rate, with effect from 11 August 1999.

2.      In reaching its decision the VRB concluded:

“In addressing the requirements of section 24(2)(a)(i), the Board accepts that the applicant was experiencing considerable difficulties in the work place.  It accepts that there was a strong possibility that he was made redundant, rather than other vendors, because of complaints in relation to his behaviour.  However, due to the rationalisation process, it was apparent that one of the four vendors currently operating runs in the area would lose their job.  In other words, all things being equal, the applicant had a 1 in 4 chance of losing his run.

In those circumstances, it would be speculative to suggest that, had the applicant not been suffering from post traumatic stress disorder, he would have maintained his employment.  The Board sympathises with the applicant, who has endeavoured to work full time despite disruptive emotional and behavioural symptoms.  However, the evidence before the Board, to which it must have regard, leads it to the view that it cannot be reasonably satisfied that Mr Smith ceased work because of accepted disabilities alone.”  (Exhibit R1, T2, Folio 7)

3.      At the hearing…

Continue reading Smith and Repatriation Commission

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Smith and Repatriation Commission [2003] AATA 463
Case
[2003] AATA 463
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The applicant, Mr Smith, sought a review of a decision by the Repatriation Commission, which declined to award him a special rate disability pension under the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986. The case was heard in the Federal Court of Australia. The central issue was whether Mr Smith was entitled to the special rate of pension, which requires a finding of total and permanent incapacity for any remunerative work due to war-caused incapacity. The court had to determine if Mr Smith was totally and permanently incapacitated, if his incapacity was solely due to war-related conditions, and whether these conditions constituted a substantial cause for his inability to engage in remunerative work.

The court examined the statutory provisions and relevant case law to assess Mr Smith's capacity to undertake remunerative work. It considered whether Mr Smith was genuinely seeking to engage in such work and if his war-caused incapacity was the sole reason preventing him from doing so. The court also scrutinised if the service-related conditions accepted as war-caused were a substantial cause of his incapacity. It found that Mr Smith met the criteria for total and permanent incapacity, as his war-caused conditions were the primary impediment to his ability to undertake remunerative work.

In its reasoning, the court highlighted that Mr Smith's war-related disabilities substantially contributed to his inability to engage in any form of remunerative work. The court concluded that Mr Smith was genuinely seeking employment and that his incapacity was solely due to the war-caused conditions. Consequently, the court set aside the decision of the Repatriation Commission and determined that Mr Smith was entitled to the special rate disability pension.

The court's final order was that the decision under review by the Repatriation Commission was set aside, and in its place, the Tribunal should decide that Mr Smith is entitled to a pension payable at the Special Rate.

Orders

Orders of the court

The decision under review is set aside and in substitution thereto, the Tribunal decides that Mr Smith is entitled to pension payable at the Special Rate.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.