Craine v Colonial Mutual Fire Insurance Co Ltd

Case [1920] HCA 64


28 CLR 305

THE COLONIAL MUTUAL FIRE INSUR-

RESPONDENTS. ANOTHER

DEFENDANTS,

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF Fire Insurance-Policy-Conditions-Failure to make claim within stipulated time

WaiverEstoppel-Finding of jury-Conduct of parties at trial.

In an action upon a policy of fire insurance the defendants raised the defence that the plaintiff had not complied with a condition of the policy requiring a claim to be made within a certain time after the happening of the loss and providing that, unless that was done, no amount should be payable under the policy. The plaintiff pleaded to this defence waiver and estoppel. The jury found that the defendants had represented to the plaintiff that they did not intend to rely upon the fact that the claim was made too late.

Held, that from the conduct of the defendants at the trial it should be taken that they did not contest with reference to the plea of estoppel the question whether the plaintiff had been induced by the representation to act upon it and had altered his position to his prejudice, and that, therefore, as there was evidence to support the jury's finding, the facts necessary to support the plea of estoppel were established.

Held, also, that the defendants having, with full knowledge that the claim had not been made in time, retained possession of the premises on which the fire had occurred for three months after they had such knowledge, and having, during that time, exercised rights which they could only exercise if their

28 CLR 306

obligations under the policy still existed, were estopped from relying on the fact that the claim was not made in time, notwithstanding that they had informed the plaintiff that what they were doing was without prejudice.

Another condition of the policy provided that the defendants should not be deemed to have waived any provision or condition of the policy unless such provision or condition was expressly stated in writing to have been waived by them.

Held, that this condition had no application to estoppel. Decision of the Supreme Court of Victoria (Irvine C.J.) reversed.

APPEAL from the Supreme Court of Victoria.

Actions were brought in the Supreme Court by Thomas Craine against the Colonial Mutual Fire Insurance Co. Ltd. and the York- shire Insurance Co. Ltd. respectively upon policies of fire insurance in respect of certain motor-cars which were destroyed by a fire that occurred in the plaintiff's premises on 30th September 1917.

The policies contained the following, among other conditions :- " Occurrence of a Fire.-11. On the happening of any loss or damage the insured must forthwith give notice in writing thereof to the Company, and must, within fifteen days after the loss or damage, or such further time as the Company may in writing allow in that behalf, deliver to the Company a claim in writing for the loss and damage containing as particular an account as is reasonably practicable of all the articles or items of property damaged or destroyed, and of…

Continue reading Craine v Colonial Mutual Fire Insurance Co Ltd

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Craine v Colonial Mutual Fire Insurance Co Ltd [1920] HCA 64
Case
[1920] HCA 64
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

This case involved an appeal from the Supreme Court of Victoria concerning a dispute over a fire insurance policy. The plaintiff, Thomas Craine, sought to recover under policies for motor-cars destroyed by fire. The defendant insurers, Colonial Mutual Fire Insurance Co. Ltd. and Yorkshire Insurance Co. Ltd., raised the defence that the plaintiff had failed to comply with a condition requiring a claim to be made within a specified time after the loss, which, according to the policy, meant no amount would be payable. The plaintiff pleaded waiver and estoppel, arguing that the insurers had represented they would not rely on the late claim and had acted in a way that estopped them from doing so.

The legal issues before the court were whether the insurers had waived their right to rely on the late claim, or whether they were estopped from doing so due to their conduct. Specifically, the court had to determine if the insurers' actions and communications, particularly after the deadline for submitting the claim had passed, amounted to a representation that they would not enforce the time limit. A further issue was whether a specific condition in the policy, requiring any waiver to be expressly stated in writing, precluded the plaintiff's claims of waiver and estoppel.

The High Court found that the conduct of the defendants at trial indicated they did not contest the elements of inducement and prejudice necessary for estoppel, provided a representation was made. The jury had found that the defendants represented they did not intend to rely on the claims being put in too late, and the court held there was evidence to support this finding. The insurers' actions, including retaining possession of the plaintiff's premises for three months after becoming aware of the late claim and exercising rights under the policy during that period, were considered by the court to be inconsistent with an intention to rely on the time limit. The court also determined that the policy condition requiring express written waiver did not apply to estoppel.

The High Court reversed the decision of the Supreme Court of Victoria, holding that the facts necessary to support the plea of estoppel were established. The court concluded that the insurers were estopped from relying on the fact that the claim was not made in time.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.