Comcare v Simmons

Case [2014] FCAFC 4


FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

Comcare v Simmons [2014] FCAFC 4

Citation: Comcare v Simmons [2014] FCAFC 4
Appeal from: Simmons v Comcare [2013] FCA 484
Parties: COMCARE v MICHAEL SIMMONS
File number: ACD 56 of 2013
Judges: FLICK, GRIFFITHS AND PERRY JJ
Date of judgment: 13 February 2014
Catchwords:

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW – statutory construction – proper construction of s 8(10) of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) – whether normal weekly earnings properly includes additional allowance – whether it is a relevant consideration to take into account employee’s decision to transfer employment in determining whether allowance should be included in calculation

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION – entitlement of compensation under Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) for injury – calculation of normal weekly earnings under the Act – whether entitlement should be reduced

Legislation: Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth), s 44
Australian Federal Police Act 1979 (Cth), s 27
Compensation (Commonwealth Government Employees) Act 1971 (Cth)
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth), ss 4, 5, 5A, 8(1)-(10), 9(1), 14(1), 16, 19(2)-(14)
Cases cited: Bortolazzo v Comcare (1997) 75 FCR 385
Comcare v Thompson (2000) 100 FCR 375
John Holland Group Pty Ltd v Robertson (2010) 185 FCR 566
McDonald v Department of Defence [1999] FCA 882
Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission  v Perry (2007) 164 FCR 307
Telstra Corporation v Hannaford (2006) 151 FCR 253
Woodbridge v Comcare (1994) 20 AAR 196
Date of hearing: 28 November 2013
Date of last submissions: 28 November 2013
Place: Sydney via videolink to Canberra
Division: GENERAL DIVISION
Category: Catchwords
Number of paragraphs: 96
Counsel for the Appellant: Ms S Maharaj QC with Mr P Woulfe
Solicitor for the Appellant: Australian Government Solicitor
Counsel for the Respondent: Mr L Grey
Solicitor for the Respondent: Pappas, J - Attorney

IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY DISTRICT REGISTRY

GENERAL DIVISION

ACD 56 of 2013

ON APPEAL FROM THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
BETWEEN:

COMCARE
Appellant / Cross-Respondent

AND:

MICHAEL SIMMONS
Respondent / Cross-Appellant

JUDGES:

FLICK, GRIFFITHS AND PERRY JJ

DATE OF ORDER:

13 FEBRUARY 2014

WHERE MADE:

SYDNEY (VIA VIDEOLINK TO CANBERRA) (HEARD IN CANBERRA)

THE COURT ORDERS THAT:

1.The appeal and cross-appeal are dismissed.

2.On or before 27 February 2014, the parties are to submit Short Minutes of Order which give effect to the reasons of the Court.

3.If the parties cannot reach an agreement as to the costs of the appeal and the cross-appeal or the calculations as to the entitlements of the Respondent on or before 27 February 2014, then each party is to file and serve written submission of no more than two pages in length addressing any issue not the subject of agreement.

Note:Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.


IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY DISTRICT REGISTRY

GENERAL DIVISION

ACD 56 of 2013

ON APPEAL FROM THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
BETWEEN:

COMCARE
Appellant / Cross-Respondent

AND:

MICHAEL SIMMONS
Respondent / Cross-Appellant

Continue reading Comcare v Simmons

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Comcare v Simmons [2014] FCAFC 4
Case
[2014] FCAFC 4
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

In the case of Comcare v Simmons, the primary issue was the interpretation and application of section 8(10) of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) in calculating normal weekly earnings (NWE) for workers’ compensation purposes. The dispute arose from Mr Simmons’ decision to transfer his employment from the Operational Response Group (ORG) to another position within the Australian Federal Police (AFP) due to personal reasons, which led to a disagreement over whether certain allowances should be included in the NWE calculation. This case involved an appeal and a cross-appeal concerning the Tribunal's decision on Mr Simmons' entitlement to compensation following a shoulder injury sustained during his employment with the ORG.

The legal issues before the court were whether the decision of Mr Simmons to transfer employment should be considered in calculating his NWE under s 8(10)(b)(i) of the Act and whether the ORG allowance should be included in his NWE calculation under s 8(10)(a) of the Act. The court had to determine if the Tribunal erred in excluding the ORG allowance from the NWE calculation and if Mr Simmons' decision to transfer employment due to personal reasons affected the calculation of his compensation.

The court found that the Tribunal did not err in excluding the ORG allowance from the NWE calculation under s 8(10)(a) of the Act. The court held that s 8(10)(a) is concerned with a notional inquiry that compares the employee's actual current employment to what their earnings would have been had they not been injured, considering whether they would have continued to perform the same duties. The court held that the Tribunal had correctly taken into account Mr Simmons' decision to leave the ORG for personal reasons, as this was a factual matter and not subject to judicial review. The court concluded that the Tribunal's decision was not erroneous and that the cross-appeal should be dismissed.

The court dismissed both the appeal and the cross-appeal, affirming the Tribunal's decision. The parties were required to submit Short Minutes of Order reflecting the court's reasons by a specified date. If the parties could not agree on the costs or the calculations of the respondent's entitlements by that date, they were to file written submissions addressing any unresolved issues. The orders concluded with a note directing the entry of orders in accordance with Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The appeal and cross-appeal are dismissed.

2. On or before 27 February 2014, the parties are to submit Short Minutes of Order which give effect to the reasons of the Court.

3. If the parties cannot reach an agreement as to the costs of the appeal and the cross-appeal or the calculations as to the entitlements of the Respondent on or before 27 February 2014, then each party is to file and serve written submission of no more than two pages in length addressing any issue not the subject of agreement.

Note: Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

For the reasons set out below, I consider that the appeal should be dismissed. In my view, the decision by Mr Simmons to transfer out of the ORG and not to accept an offer to remain in the ORG was not relevant to the calculation of his NWE under s 8(10)(b)(i) of the Act. However, I agree with Justice Flick and Justice Griffiths that the position is different with respect to s 8(10)(a) of the Act and that the cross-appeal should also be dismissed for the reasons given by their Honours. 2. THE DECISION OF THE TRIBUNAL2.1 The Tribunal’s findings of fact The background facts are not in dispute. On 15 May 2009, Mr Simmons injured his right shoulder in the course of his employment in the ORG based in Canberra. At the time, his base salary of $1,148.09 per week was supplemented by $648.05 in certain allowances, including relevantly the ORG allowance. The value of that allowance amounted to $383.39 per week payable fortnightly in arrears and was therefore equivalent to approximately $20,000 per annum. The ORG allowance had been payable to Mr Simmons as an employee who had been assigned duties as an “operational” employee in the ORG under cl 7.2 of the Australian Federal Police (International Deployment Group) – Operational Response Group – Domestic – Determination No 7 of 2007 (“the Determination”) made under s 27 of the Australian Federal Police Act 1979 (Cth). Relevantly, the Determination provided in clauses 7.4 and 9.5 that:“7.4 ORG operational employees receiving this allowance will be required:a.To be contactable and available for immediate deployment overseas.b.To manage leave arrangements and personal commitments subject to deployment requirements. This will include cancellation of leave where operational requirements demand.c.To maintain health and fitness for deployment overseas at a level necessary for operational response. The minimal standard is the AFP National Fitness Standard. However, this may be varied by the NMIDG [National Manager International Deployment Group] at any time.d.To maintain appropriate skill levels as notified by the NMIDG at any time.e.To maintain other eligibility for employment requirements as specified in sub-clause 9.5.…9.5Payment of this allowance will not be made when ORG employees cease to be eligible and/or available for deployment. This includes but is not limited to:a.Cessation of assignment of ORG duties within Australia.b.Deployment of ORG employee overseas.c.Failure to meet medical, psychological, training and integrity assessments necessary for deployment.d.Failure to maintain the requirements specified at sub-clause 7.4 or 8.4.” Thus, under the Determination, Mr Simmons as a member of the ORG was required to be fit and available for immediate deployment overseas on operational duties. The Tribunal found that Mr Simmons’ shoulder injury rendered him unfit for work for a time. He obtained medical and physiotherapy treatment for the injury over the following months, and underwent surgery on 30 July 2009. Thereafter he commenced rehabilitation treatment. He was given suitable duties working three days a week for four hours per day from 31 August 2009 in the Sydney premises of the AFP. However, he was, then and subsequently, subject to medical restrictions including that he could not lift objects with his right arm.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

By contrast, his Honour found that the Tribunal had not erred in excluding the ORG allowance from the calculation of Mr Simmons’ NWE under s 8(10)(a) which governed the calculation of NWE for the period commencing on 8 February 2010 until he left the employment of the Commonwealth in August 2011. His Honour found that s 8(10)(a) differs from s 8(10)(b) in that the calculation under the former is not tied to a fixed point in time. Rather, citing Dowsett J in John Holland at 586 [74]-[76], his Honour held at [27] that “… s 8(10)(a) is concerned with a notional inquiry that commences with the employee’s actual current employment and compares that to what his or her earnings would have been in that employment had he or she not been injured… ‘including consideration of whether he or she would have continued to perform the same duties as were being performed at the time of the accident.’” On this basis, his Honour held that:“37The question as to what was a relevant consideration for a decision-maker under s 8(10)(a) is a question of law. While it is true that the Tribunal did not precisely phrase the question it addressed in the way in which Mr Simmons contended it should have, it is quite clear from its reasoning that it formed the view that Mr Simmons did not leave the Operational Response Group because of his injury. The Tribunal found that the personal reasons were Mr Simmons’ Newport home and the closer proximity to his daughter. It rejected his claim that his injury was a cause of his decision to transfer to Sydney.38.The Tribunal had to address the hypothetical question in s 8(10)(a) by a consideration of the facts, including what Mr Simmons would have done had he not been incapacitated for work. He remained employed by the Commonwealth up until about August 2011. I see no error in the Tribunal having taken into account his decision, for personal reasons, to leave the Operational Response Group in arriving at the assessment of the earnings that he would receive if he were not incapacitated for work. This was a question of fact for the Tribunal and it would require the Court to engage in merits review to come to some other conclusion. The latter course is not open.”3. CONSIDERATION3.1 The statutory scheme As is apparent, the central issue on the appeal and cross-appeal concerns the construction of s 8(10) of the Act, the terms of which are set out below at [71], and more particularly s 8(10)(a) and (b)(i). No issue directly arose in relation to s 8(10)(b)(ii). Section 8(10) constitutes one aspect of a complex scheme by which compensation is calculated for an employee who is incapacitated for work as a result of an injury to which the Act applies. As such, it is necessary to start with an analysis of that statutory scheme before the question of the proper construction of s 8(10) can be addressed.3.1.1Liability to pay compensation Section 14(1) of Part II of the Act imposes liability on Comcare to pay compensation to injured employees (as defined) in the following terms:“Subject to this Part, Comcare is liable to pay compensation in accordance with this Act in respect of an injury suffered by an employee if the injury results in death, incapacity for work, or impairment.”