Shillingford v Comcare

Case [2020] FCA 775


FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

Shillingford v Comcare [2020] FCA 775

Appeal from: Shillingford v Comcare [2019] AATA 4972
File number: ACD 102 of 2019
Judge: GRIFFITHS J
Date of judgment: 9 June 2020
Catchwords: ADMINISTRATIVE LAW – appeal from a decision by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) affirming a reviewable determination of Comcare that the applicant’s incapacity entitlement under s 19 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act was $0 because his normal weekly earnings under s 8(10)(a) were calculated as $0 – whether AAT erred in finding that the applicant was no longer entitled to receive compensation payments from 11 September 2017 – whether the AAT should have found that Comcare was liable to make continuing payments under s 19 with reference to s 8(10)(b) because the applicant ceased to be employed by the Commonwealth from 24 February 2017 – notice of appeal dismissed with costs
Legislation:

Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth), s 44

Public Service Act 1999 (Cth), ss 7, 22

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth), ss 5, 8, 9, 19, 62

Cases cited:

Bortolazzo v Comcare [1997] FCA 515; 75 FCR 385

Comcare v Simmons [2014] FCAFC 4; 220 FCR 102

Dunstan v Comcare [2014] AATA 208; 139 ALD 691

John Holland Group Pty Ltd v Robertson [2010] FCAFC 88; 185 FCR 566

Phillips v Commonwealth [1964] HCA 22; 110 CLR 347

Telstra Corporation Ltd v Peisley [2006] FCAFC 79

Date of hearing: The matter was determined on the papers
Registry: Australian Capital Territory
Division: General Division
National Practice Area: Administrative and Constitutional Law and Human Rights
Category: Catchwords
Number of paragraphs: 87
Counsel for the Applicant: Mr P Hanks QC with Mr M Carey
Solicitor for the Applicant: Slater & Gordon
Counsel for the Respondent: Ms P M Bindon
Solicitor for the Respondent: McInnes Wilson Lawyers

ORDERS

ACD 102 of 2019
BETWEEN:

KIM SHILLINGFORD

Applicant

AND:

COMCARE

Respondent

JUDGE:

GRIFFITHS J

DATE OF ORDER:

9 june 2020

THE COURT ORDERS THAT:

1.The amended notice of appeal be dismissed. 

2.The applicant pay the respondent’s costs, as agreed or taxed. 

Note:   Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.


REASONS FOR JUDGMENT

GRIFFITHS J:

introduction

  1. Mr Shillingford appeals under s 44 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) (AAT Act) from a decision dated 26 November 2019 by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT). The AAT affirmed a reviewable determination of Comcare that, on and from 11 September 2017, Mr Shillingford’s incapacity entitlement, as determined under s 19 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (SRC Act), was $0 because his normal weekly earnings under s 8(10)(a) of the SRC Act were calculated as $0.  In coming to that view Comcare took into account that Mr Shillingford would not be earning any income irrespective of his compensatable injuries because there was no work available for him in his area as a casual food safety…

Continue reading Shillingford v Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Shillingford v Comcare [2020] FCA 775
Case
[2020] FCA 775
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The Federal Court considered an appeal by Mr Shillingford against a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) affirming a reviewable determination by Comcare that his incapacity entitlement under s 19 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) was $0 because his normal weekly earnings (NWE) under s 8(10)(a) were calculated as $0. The court was required to decide whether the AAT erred in finding that Mr Shillingford was no longer entitled to receive compensation payments from 11 September 2017, and whether the AAT should have found that Comcare was liable to make continuing payments under s 19 with reference to s 8(10)(b) because he ceased to be employed by the Commonwealth from 24 February 2017.

The court found that Mr Shillingford remained a Commonwealth employee on 11 September 2017, and his entitlement to incapacity payments fell to be determined under s 8(10)(a) of the SRC Act because that provision applies where an employee continues to be employed by the Commonwealth at the date of calculation. The court rejected Mr Shillingford’s contention that he had ceased to be an employee and his entitlement to incapacity payments should be determined under s 8(10)(b). The court emphasised that the terms of s 22(2)(c) of the Public Service Act 1999 (Cth) made clear that a contract of employment under that legislation may be for duties which are irregular or intermittent, and the effect of s 22(2)(c) was to deem Mr Shillingford’s engagement as a non-ongoing APS employee to be a contract of employment whatever might be the position at common law. Applying the reduction test in s 8(10)(a), because there was no available work for Mr Shillingford, he would have earned nothing even if he was not incapacitated. As the threshold so calculated under s 8(10)(a) was nil, the excess is the full amount of NWE calculated under s 8(1) (i.e. $1,362.88) and, once that excess is deducted from Mr Shillingford’s NWE, the balance is nil. The court found that the AAT did not err in its decision and that the notice of appeal should be dismissed with costs.

The final orders were that the amended notice of appeal be dismissed and that the applicant pay the respondent’s costs, as agreed or taxed.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The amended notice of appeal be dismissed.

2. The applicant pay the respondent’s costs, as agreed or taxed.

Note: Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

The review officer calculated Mr Shillingford’s NWE under s 8(10)(a) of the SRC Act on the basis that he remained an employee. She reasoned that, if his NWE is determined as $0 under that provision, his incapacity entitlement would also be determined as $0 for the period when there was no available employment due to the nature of his casual employment and closure of abattoirs. Thus, she concluded that although Mr Shillingford continued to have an incapacity for work, his entitlement to compensation under s 19 is $0 due to the application of s 8(10)(a). aat’S DECISION AND REASONS The AAT made the following relevant findings:(a)It appeared that the Department’s letter dated 5 June 2015 provided the basis upon which Mr Shillingford was working when he was injured on 23 February 2017 ([18]). (b)Mr Shillingford did not dispute that he accepted the Department’s subsequent offer of employment as set out in its subsequent letter dated 9 June 2017, but he contended that neither this letter nor the Department’s previous letter were, in substance, a contract of employment ([21]).(c)Mr Shillingford contended that, as a non-ongoing temporary employee who had not been engaged for any actual work by the Commonwealth after he was injured, he was not in fact an employee and his entitlement to incapacity payments fell to be determined under s 8(10)(b) of the SRC Act ([23]). (d)A contract of employment may exist even though no actual work is performed, applying the AAT’s previous decision in Dunstan v Comcare [2014] AATA 208; 139 ALD 691 at [56] ([29]). Against a background of those findings, in affirming the reviewable decision, the AAT’s reasons were essentially as follows:(a)Contrary to Mr Shillingford’s primary contention, he remained a Commonwealth employee on 11 September 2017 and his entitlement to incapacity payments therefore fell to be determined under s 8(10)(a) of the SRC Act because that provision applies where an employee continues to be employed by the Commonwealth at the date of calculation (see [16] and [37]). (b)The AAT explained why it rejected Mr Shillingford’s central contention concerning his employment status. It emphasised that the terms of s 22(2)(c) of the PS Act made clear that a contract of employment under that legislation may be for duties which are irregular or intermittent, as was also made explicit in both letters from the Department offering Mr Shillingford employment on a casual basis. The effect of s 22(2)(c) was to deem Mr Shillingford’s engagement as a non-ongoing APS employee to be a contract of employment whatever might be the position at common law (at [24]-[28]). (c)Applying the reduction test in s 8(10)(a), because there was no available work for Mr Shillingford, he would have earned nothing even if he was not incapacitated (at [38]).(d)As the threshold so calculated under s 8(10)(a) was nil, the excess is the full amount of NWE calculated under s 8(1) (i.e. $1,362.88) and, once that excess is deducted from Mr Shillingford’s NWE, the balance is nil (at [38]). (e)Although the AAT did not come to a concluded view, it indicated that if Mr Shillingford’s entitlement to incapacity payments on 11 September 2017 fell to be determined under s 8(10)(b) on the basis that he had ceased to be an employee (as claimed by him), and if the approach taken in a previous AAT decision in Dunstan was applied, the outcome under s 8(10)(b)(i) would be the same, namely that Mr Shillingford would be entitled to compensation at a nil amount (at [44]-[46]). NOTICE OF APPEAL

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Mr Shillingford submitted that the termination of employment could not be relevant to a consideration of the level of earnings prior to the injury when employment existed, or to the calculation of the level of compensation payable by reasoning of the former employee’s incapacity for work, because such an approach “would undermine the SRC Act’s provisions (in Part III) for rehabilitation of incapacitated employees, reinforced by continuing payment of weekly compensation (pursuant to s 19) if rehabilitation proves impracticable”. CONSIDERATION AND DETERMINATION It is convenient first to make some general observations regarding relevant caselaw and principles before applying those matters to the circumstances here and bearing in mind the importance of giving effect to the AAT’s relevant findings of fact unless there is some good reason in law demonstrated by Mr Shillingford for not doing so. (a) Caselaw and relevant principles Unsurprisingly, both parties referred to various cases regarding the construction and operation of the SRC Act, as well as caselaw on the common law meaning of employment. There is nothing wrong with that approach as long as it does not derogate from the fundamental importance of applying now well settled principles of statutory construction to relevant provisions of the SRC Act and PS Act having regard to the unchallenged findings of fact made by the AAT. It is also relevant to note that neither party invited the Court to make findings of fact pursuant to s 44(7) of the AAT Act and although Mr Shillingford contested the AAT’s reasoning in construing and applying various provisions in both the SRC Act and PS Act, I did not understand him to contend that any finding of fact made by the AAT was vitiated by an error of law. In summarising the parties’ respective submissions, reference has been made to the relevant authorities relied upon by the parties. It is desirable to say something further regarding John Holland, which is probably the leading relevant authority for the purposes of this appeal. In John Holland, Dowsett J (with whom Spender J agreed) highlighted some important features of s 8(10) of the SRC Act. As his Honour noted at [18], the effect of a reduction under s 8(10) is to reduce the amount of compensation payable pursuant to s 19. Other important features of s 8(10) were identified by Dowsett J at [19] and [20]:19.Section 8(10) differentiates between employees who continue to be employed by the Commonwealth or a licensed corporation (to whom s 8(10)(a) applies) and employees who have ceased to be so employed (to whom s 8(10)(b) applies). However the section does not expressly identify the point in time at which a relevant employee’s employment status is to be determined. The compensation payable pursuant to s 19 is weekly compensation, being the amount of the NWE less the amount which the employee earns in the week for which he or she is to be compensated, or the amount which he or she is capable of earning in suitable employment. I infer that s 8(10) is to operate according to the circumstances which obtain in each week in respect of which compensation is otherwise payable. In Bortolazzo v Comcare (1997) 75 FCR 385 at 388, Heerey J took that approach.20.The amounts identified in ss 8(10)(a) and (b) are hypothetical amounts. In s 8(10)(a) the identified amount is the amount of weekly earnings which the employee “would receive if he or she were not incapacitated for work”. In the context of s 8(10) this provision contemplates the possibility that the employee, even if not injured, may, in the week in question, have received less than his or her NWE as otherwise calculated. Section 8(10)(b) prescribes reduction of that figure by the difference between it and the greater of two other amounts. The first amount is the weekly earnings which the employee would have received if he or she had continued to be employed by the Commonwealth or the licensed corporation in the employment in which he or she was engaged at the date of the injury. The second amount is the amount which the employee would have received if he or she had continued to be employed by the Commonwealth or the licensed corporation in the employment in which he or she was engaged at the date on which employment by the Commonwealth or the licensed corporation ceased.