FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
Brackenreg v Comcare [2010] FCA 724
Citation: Brackenreg v Comcare [2010] FCA 724 Appeal from: Brackenreg v Comcare [2009] AATA 819 Parties: DEBORAH BRACKENREG v COMCARE File number: NTD 20 of 2009 Judge: MANSFIELD J Date of judgment: 13 July 2010 Catchwords: WORKERS COMPENSATION – appeal from decision of Administrative Appeals Tribunal -– appellant suffered compensable injuries when involved in motor vehicle accident whether a number of other conditions were also caused by that accident so as to entitle appellant to compensation in respect of them – where Comcare had paid medical expenses in respect of them, whether Comcare had onus of proving they were not compensable – Tribunal did not fail to consider submissions seriously advanced by the appellant that were relevant to the issues – Tribunal did not fail to consider credible evidence – no error of law made out – appeal dismissed
EVIDENCE – there is no legal or evidential onus of proof on the parties – Tribunal correctly applied practical onus
Legislation: Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) s 44(1)
Compensation (Commonwealth Government Employees) Act 1971 (Cth) s 63(1)(b)
Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) ss 14, 16, 29, 62, 124, 137
Public Service Act 1922 (Cth)Migration Act 1958 (Cth) s 476
Cases cited: Brackenreg v Comcare Australia (1995) 56 FCR 335 cited
Brackenreg v Comcare [2005] AATA 1121 cited
Telstra Corporation Ltd v Hannaford (2006) 151 FCR 253 followed
Hannaford v Telstra Corporation Ltd (2005) 41 AAR 156 cited
Lees v Comcare (1999) 29 AAR 350 cited
McDonald v Director-General of Social Security (1984) 1 FCR 354 discussed
Canute v Comcare (2005) 226 CLR 535 cited
Commonwealth v Muratore (1978) 141 CLR 296 considered
Commonwealth v Borg [1991] FCA 710 considered
Phillips v The Commonwealth (1964) 110 CLR 347 cited
Drake v Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (1979) 46 FLR 409 cited
Comcare v Nichols [1999] FCA 209 cited
Power v Comcare (1998) 89 FCR 514 cited
Lang v Comcare (2007) 94 ALD 141 cited
Dranichnikov v Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs (2003) 197 ALR 389 applied
Industry Research and Development Board v Bridgestone (2004) 136 FCR 47 cited
Applicant WAEE v Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs (2003) 75 ALD 630 citedDate of hearing: 20 April 2010 Date of last submissions: 14 May 2010 Place: Adelaide (via video link with Darwin) Division: GENERAL DIVISION Category: Catchwords Number of paragraphs: 93 Counsel for the Appellant: M Johnson Solicitor for the Appellant: Robert Welfare Barristers & Solicitors Counsel for the Respondent: B Dubé Solicitor for the Appellant: Sparke Helmore Lawyers
IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
NORTHERN TERRITORY DISTRICT REGISTRY
GENERAL DIVISION
NTD 20 of 2009
ON APPEAL FROM THE ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL
BETWEEN: DEBORAH BRACKENREG
AppellantAND: COMCARE
Respondent
JUDGE:
MANSFIELD J
DATE OF ORDER:
13 JULY 2010
WHERE MADE:
ADELAIDE (VIA VIDEO LINK WITH DARWIN)
THE COURT ORDERS THAT:
1.The appellant have leave to amend the grounds of appeal by adding as ground…
Continue reading Brackenreg v Comcare
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Brackenreg v Comcare [2010] FCA 724
- Case
- [2010] FCA 724
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The key legal issues the court had to decide included whether the Tribunal had failed to consider relevant submissions made by the appellant, whether it had failed to consider credible evidence, and if it had made any error of law in determining the appellant's entitlements. The court examined the submissions made by the appellant and the evidence presented before the Tribunal. It found that the Tribunal had not failed to consider the submissions or evidence seriously, and it had not made any error of law. The court held that there was no legal or evidential onus of proof on the parties, and the Tribunal had correctly applied a practical onus of proof. The court concluded that the appellant had not demonstrated any error on the part of the Tribunal that would warrant the appeal being upheld.
In its reasoning, the court noted that the statutory scheme for workers' compensation allows for progressive and evolving decision-making, which is consistent with ongoing review of relief or entitlements. The court highlighted that the scheme reflects a flexible scope for adjustment by way of decisions in the nature of awards to be made subsequently to the determination of liability. The court further held that the Tribunal was empowered to make subsequent findings of fact in relation to the circumstances of the case, and it had done so correctly in this matter.
Ultimately, the court dismissed the appeal and ordered that the appellant pay the respondent’s costs of the application. The court allowed the appellant leave to amend the grounds of appeal to include an additional ground relating to the Tribunal's view of the law of causation in workers’ compensation. However, this additional ground did not change the outcome of the appeal.
Orders
Orders of the court
1. The appellant have leave to amend the grounds of appeal by adding as ground 2.6 the following:
The learned Senior Member erred in law in proceeding on an erroneous view of the law of causation in workers’ compensation, to find that the temporo-mandibular joint dysfunction condition resulted from the injury, but that the psychiatric disorder, gastric condition and headaches (on the evidence caused in part at least by the temporo-mandibular joint dysfunction condition) did not so result.
2. The application by way of appeal is dismissed.
3. The appellant pay to the respondent its costs of the application.
Note:
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Full text does not contain this section.
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Those two matters were based upon Comcare having accepted liability for medical and like expenses in the past incurred in respect of psychological and psychiatric treatment and household help expenses, and in respect of the syrinx condition and for degenerative changes in the cervical spine.CONSIDERATION The matters raised by asserted errors 2.3 and 2.5 were said to flow from the way the Tribunal addressed what it called Issue 1. In substance, it was argued that because Comcare had accepted liability for medical and like expenses in the past incurred in respect of symptoms other than those from the musculo-ligamentous neck strain, it had redefined the injury which it had accepted as compensable, and (by inference) it could no longer dispute liability to pay compensation in respect of those conditions. Before addressing that contention, I note that the submissions of the appellant did not suggest that the claimed entitlement of the appellant to compensation the subject of this appeal depended on whether the provisions of the 1971 Act or the 1988 Act were applied. The transitional provisions in the 1988 Act provide that, in respect of injuries sustained before its commencement, compensation is payable under the 1988 Act as if it were payable under the 1971 Act: see in particular s 124 of the 1988 Act. Telstra Corporation Ltd v Hannaford (2006) 151 FCR 253 concerned an issue similar to that now raised by the appellant. The employer had accepted liability to pay compensation to its employee in respect of the disease Ross River fever, and duly paid compensation. Then it found out that the employee was not suffering from Ross River fever, but a different disease which was not work-related. It decided it was not liable to pay any further compensation. That decision was affirmed on review by the Tribunal. On appeal, it was argued that the Tribunal could not affirm the decision because it did not formally have before it the initial decision to accept the claim, and so it could not go behind that initial decision by making a finding inconsistent with it. That point was successful at first instance: Hannaford v Telstra Corporation Ltd (2005) 41 AAR 156, but that decision was reversed on appeal. Heerey J (with whom Dowsett J agreed) said at [8] that the 1988 Act does not mean that a decision to accept a claim “permanently enshrines” every finding of fact on which a determination is made. His Honour pointed out that Part VI of the 1988 Act specifically empowers the respondent to reconsider its earlier decisions, at any time, including any earlier finding of fact, and that the “modern, practical statutory scheme for the compensation of injured workers” allowed the Tribunal to revisit the finding whether the employee had suffered from Ross River fever as originally diagnosed. Conti J (with whom both Heerey and Dowsett JJ generally agreed) after reviewing the statutory scheme in detail and earlier authorities on the issue, said at [57]:In my opinion, it should be concluded, upon the correct construction of the SRC Act [the 1988 Act], and in particular of the provisions thereof upon which I have focused attention in these reasons, that the AAT is empowered to make subsequent findings of fact in relation to the circumstances the subject of decision-making under ss 16 and 19 of the SRC Act, and also under ss 21 and 27 of the SRC Act, where the determination of the first instance decision-maker (here of course Telstra) made under the auspices of s 14 of the SRC Act remains in operation in the sense that it has not been the subject of any inconsistent outcome in the context of a subsequent review by the AAT. The statutory scheme allows for progressive and evolving decision-making giving effect to the provisions of ongoing review of relief or entitlements in the nature of course of workers compensation, being review which allows for adjustment or change in the light of events and circumstances which may subsequently happen. The statutory scheme hence reflects a flexible scope for adjustment by way of decisions in the nature of awards to be made subsequently to the determination of s 14 liability, whether that determination be made in isolation, or in the context of decision-making concerning consequential relief that may be required in the light of evolving circumstances. It is therefore a scheme which allows progressively for ongoing relief, and is thus not comparable of course with the process of curial resolution of the traditional common law entitlement of an injured employee for damages as a consequence of the negligent conduct of an employer. The opening words of s 14(1) “[s]ubject to this Part” are consistent with the flexibility inherent in the ensuing codification of the various facets of compensation envisaged.