HIGH COURT OF AUSTRALIA
Dixon C.J., Fullagar, Taylor, Menzies and Windeyer JJ.
KAVANAGH v. THE COMMONWEALTH
19 May 1960
Workers' Compensation
Workers' Compensation—Commonwealth employees—"Injury by accident"—Arising "in the course of his employment"—Solely temporal relation between injury and employment—Casual connexion between injury and employment unnecessary—Commonwealth Employees' Compensation Act 1930-1956 (Cth), s. 9 (1).
Decisions
1960, May 19.
The following written judgments were delivered:-
DIXON C.J. The appellant is the widow of Hubert Francis Kavanagh, who was a storeman employed in the stationery section of the Postmaster-General's Department at Melbourne. He was an employee of the Commonwealth within the meaning of the Commonwealth Employees' Compensation Act 1930-1956. His widow claimed that he died as the result of an accident arising in the course of his employment and sought from the Commissioner for Employees' Compensation compensation under that Act amounting to 2,350 pounds. The Delegate of the Commissioner determined that the death of the appellant's husband did not result from personal injury by accident arising out of or in the course of his employment by the Commonwealth or from a disease due to the nature of his employment and therefore that the claim should be disallowed. From this determination the widow appealed in pursuance of s. 20 of the Act to the County Court at Melbourne. Her appeal was dismissed and from the order of the County Court she now appeals to this Court. (at p552)
2. Section 9 (1) of the Act provides that if personal injury by accident arising out of or in the course of his employment by the Commonwealth is caused to an employee, the Commonwealth shall, subject to the Act, be liable to pay compensation in accordance with a schedule. The word "injury" is defined to mean any physical or mental injury and to include the aggravation, acceleration or recurrence of a pre-existing injury: s. 4 (1). The schedule provides for compensation where death results from the injury: first schedule, cl. (1) (a). (at p552)
3. Kavanagh died in hospital on 20th January 1958 of bronchopneumonia and heart failure supervening upon a rupture of the oesophagus which he had suffered during the hours of work at his place of employment on 14th January 1958. The rupture was caused by sudden vomiting, the cause of which could not be explained. It is not disputed that the death "resulted" from the rupture of the oesophagus within the meaning of the word "result" as used in the schedule. The question in contest is whether the rupture of the oesophagus was a personal injury by accident arising in the course of the employment. (at p552)
4. It appears that Kavanagh, who was about sixty-three years of age, was employed in the work of packing stationery at postal premises in Little Bourke Street. Work began at eight o'clock in the morning. On Monday, 13th January 1958, he had worked overtime and on his return home he had had a late meal. Next morning he left home at the usual…
Continue reading Kavanagh v The Commonwealth
Sign in free to access the full text
Details
- AGLC
- Kavanagh v The Commonwealth [1960] HCA 25
- Case
- [1960] HCA 25
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The High Court of Australia heard an appeal in *Kavanagh v The Commonwealth*. The appellant, Kavanagh, sought to recover damages from the respondent, the Commonwealth, for injuries sustained while he was a member of the Australian Regular Army. The dispute concerned whether the Commonwealth owed a duty of care to Kavanagh in relation to the circumstances of his enlistment and subsequent service, and if so, whether that duty had been breached.
The central legal issues before the Court were: first, whether the Commonwealth owed a duty of care to a member of the Australian Regular Army in respect of the conditions of their service and enlistment; and second, if such a duty was owed, whether the Commonwealth had breached that duty by failing to take reasonable steps to prevent the appellant from suffering injury. The Court also considered the extent to which the relationship between the Crown and a member of the armed forces might be characterised as one of employer and employee for the purposes of establishing a duty of care.
The Court held that the relationship between the Commonwealth and a member of the armed forces was not analogous to that of a private employer and employee, and therefore the ordinary principles of common law negligence did not apply in the same way. Dixon C.J. and Fullagar J. found that the conditions of service in the army were governed by specific legislation and regulations, and that the Crown did not owe a duty of care to its soldiers in respect of the inherent risks of military service. Taylor and Menzies JJ. agreed with this conclusion, emphasizing that the nature of military service involved risks that were accepted by those who enlisted. Windeyer J. dissented, arguing that the Commonwealth did owe a duty of care to its soldiers, similar to that owed by an employer to an employee, and that this duty had been breached.
Ultimately, the majority of the High Court dismissed the appeal, finding that the Commonwealth was not liable in negligence for the injuries sustained by Kavanagh.
The central legal issues before the Court were: first, whether the Commonwealth owed a duty of care to a member of the Australian Regular Army in respect of the conditions of their service and enlistment; and second, if such a duty was owed, whether the Commonwealth had breached that duty by failing to take reasonable steps to prevent the appellant from suffering injury. The Court also considered the extent to which the relationship between the Crown and a member of the armed forces might be characterised as one of employer and employee for the purposes of establishing a duty of care.
The Court held that the relationship between the Commonwealth and a member of the armed forces was not analogous to that of a private employer and employee, and therefore the ordinary principles of common law negligence did not apply in the same way. Dixon C.J. and Fullagar J. found that the conditions of service in the army were governed by specific legislation and regulations, and that the Crown did not owe a duty of care to its soldiers in respect of the inherent risks of military service. Taylor and Menzies JJ. agreed with this conclusion, emphasizing that the nature of military service involved risks that were accepted by those who enlisted. Windeyer J. dissented, arguing that the Commonwealth did owe a duty of care to its soldiers, similar to that owed by an employer to an employee, and that this duty had been breached.
Ultimately, the majority of the High Court dismissed the appeal, finding that the Commonwealth was not liable in negligence for the injuries sustained by Kavanagh.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Full text does not contain this section.
Decision
Reasons for decision
Full text does not contain this section.
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Full text does not contain this section.