FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
Ellison v Comcare [2022] FCA 95
File number: VID 284 of 2020 Judgment of: MURPHY J Date of judgment: 14 February 2022 Catchwords: WORKERS’ COMPENSATION – whether the Administrative Appeals Tribunal erred in determining that it had no jurisdiction to consider a claim for compensation under ss 16 and 19 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) – whether the materials before Comcare in the reconsideration application raised the asserted claim for compensation – appeal allowed – application remitted to the Tribunal for determination according to law Legislation: Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) ss 43(1), 44
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) ss 4(1), 5A, 5B, 14, 16, 19, 29, 53, 54, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64
Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) s 120
Cases cited: Abrahams v Comcare [2006] FCA 1829; 93 ALD 147
Australian Postal Corporation v Hughes [2009] FCA 1057; 111 ALD 579
Benjamin v Repatriation Commission [2001] FCA 1879; 70 ALD 622
Bushell v Repatriation Commission [1992] HCA 47; 175 CLR 408
Comcare Australia v O'Dea [1997] FCA 1409
Comcare v Muir [2016] FCA 346; 150 ALD 321
Comcare v Power [2015] FCA 1502; 238 FCR 187
Ellison v Comcare [2020] AATA 698
Farrell v Comcare [2015] FCA 1337; 148 ALD 527
Frosch v Comcare [2004] FCA 1642
Haberfield v Department of Veterans Affairs as Delegate for Comcare [2002] FCA 1579; 121 FCR 233
Kennedy v Comcare [2014] FCA 82
Leach v Comcare [2021] FCAFC 134
Lees v Comcare [1999] FCA 753; 56 ALD 84
Lodkowski v Comcare [1998] FCA 158; 53 ALD 371
McDonald v Director-General of Social Security [1984] FCA 59; 1 FCR 354
Munswamy v Australian Postal Corporation [2015] FCA 678
Pelgrave v Comcare Australia [2002] FCA 1025
Re Durham and TNT Australia Pty Ltd [2011] AATA 802; 124 ALD 136
Re Muir and Comcare [2015] AATA 612
Reitano v Commonwealth of Australia [1985] FCA 657
Salisbury v Australian Iron and Steel Ltd [1943] WCR (NSW) 97; 44 SR (NSW) 157
Scott vCopenhagen Reinsurance Co (UK) Ltd [2003] EWCA Civ 688; 2 All ER (Comm) 190
Sellick v Australian Postal Corporation [2009] FCAFC 146; 113 ALD 58
Szabo v Comcare [2011] AATA 114
Szabo v Comcare [2012] FCA 28; 126 ALD 469
Szabo v Comcare [2012] FCAFC 129
Telstra Corporation Ltd v Hannaford [2006] FCAFC 87; 151 FCR 253
Division: General Division Registry: Victoria National Practice Area: Administrative and Constitutional Law and Human Rights Number of paragraphs: 146 Date of hearing: 30 September 2021 Counsel for the Applicant: Mr P Hanks QC and Mr M Carey Solicitor for the Applicant: Slater & Gordon Counsel for the Respondent: Ms C Dowsett Solicitor for the Respondent: Moray & Agnew ORDERS
VID 284 of 2020 BETWEEN: DAVID ELLISON
Continue reading Ellison v Comcare
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Ellison v Comcare [2022] FCA 95
- Case
- [2022] FCA 95
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The primary legal issue was whether the materials before Comcare in the reconsideration application raised a legitimate claim for compensation. Specifically, the court had to decide if the requirement for medical treatment and incapacity payments were due to the injury sustained in April 2009 or if they were related to degenerative changes consistent with the aging process. The court needed to ascertain whether the AAT had properly applied the law in affirming Comcare's decision.
The court held that the AAT erred by not considering whether the materials before Comcare raised a legitimate claim for compensation. The court found that the AAT failed to address whether the medical evidence indicated that the requirement for medical treatment and incapacity was related to the compensable injury in 2009 or due to degenerative changes. The court emphasised that the AAT should have considered the medical evidence in determining whether the claim was legitimate. Consequently, the court set aside the AAT's decision and remitted the matter back to the AAT for determination according to law. The court also ordered that unless either party opposed the costs order within seven days, the respondent was to pay the applicant's costs of the proceeding on a party-party basis.
Orders
Orders of the court
1. The decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal made on 2 April 2020 to affirm the decision under review be set aside, and the Applicant’s claim be remitted to the Tribunal to be determined according to law.
2. Unless, within seven days from the date of this order either party files and serves short written submissions (not more than three pages) opposing the order, the Respondent is ordered to pay the Applicant’s costs of and incidental to this proceeding on a party-party basis, to be agreed and if not agreed to be assessed by a Registrar on a lump sum basis.
3. In the event that within seven days a party makes submissions in opposition to the costs order proposed in Order 2, the other party shall within seven days thereafter file responding short written submissions (not more than three pages). The issue of costs will then be determined on the papers.
Note: Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
On 6 April 2018 a Comcare review officer decided to affirm the determination dated 11 January 2018. The reasons for decision stated:In reviewing the determination regard has been given to all the relevant evidence contained within your claim file, the reasons for requesting a reconsideration and the relevant provisions of the SRC Act.On 2 June 2009 you submitted a claim for compensation for ‘musculo ligamentous strain of lower back’. You claimed you first noticed your symptoms on 21 April 2009 and first sought treatment with Dr John Broderick (general practitioner) on 22 April 2009. You claimed you sustained your injury when you were completing a morning warm-up. You also noted on your claim form that you had experienced similar symptoms of soreness and stiffness in your lower back two to three times in the last five years.By determination dated 20 June 2009, liability was accepted for lumbar sprain (unspecified). The determination noted that the evidence supported that your claimed condition arose out of or in the course of your employment.By determination dated 11 January 2018, liability for ongoing medical treatment and incapacity was declined. The termination was based on the opinion of Dr Philip Haynes (consultant occupational physician) who considered that your current lumbar condition was related to pre-existing degenerative changes consistent with the ageing processes and not related to the lumbar sprain injury that was sustained in the course of your employment on 21 April 2009.On 11 March 2018, you requested reconsideration of the determination dated 11 January 2018.The issue to decide in this reconsideration is whether you are entitled to compensation for medical expenses and incapacity payments in respect of lumbar sprain (unspecified). I note that you dispute the labelling of your accepted condition, however, Comcare have continued to pay compensation for your injury since 2009, irrespective of the labelling of your accepted condition, and, consequently this review is based on the medical evidence at hand.To be entitled to compensation for medical treatment and incapacity payments under sections 16 and 19 of the SRC Act, it must be satisfied that the requirement for medical treatment and incapacity payments are as a result of the injury sustained on 21 April 2009.(Emphasis added.) Various medical reports were before Comcare in the reconsideration application, which the review officer summarised in the following terms:(a)Dr Haynes’ report dated 14 November 2017:In his report dated 14 November 2017, Dr Haynes diagnosed you with disc changes at L4/5 and L5/S1 levels of the lumbar region consistent with degenerative processes. Dr Haynes opined that any lumbar sprain has been superseded by degenerative changes in the lumbar spine. Dr Haynes opined that this condition was likely to become progressively worse with ageing which occurred in all persons. Dr Haynes commented that the MRI scan investigation reports support his conclusion. Dr Haynes considered that your back condition would be in its present state whether or not you had been undertaking work activities of a Marine Tactical Officer.…Dr Haynes did not consider that your incapacity for work was contributed to by your employment, noting that your current degenerative back symptoms prevented you from the performance of your duties as a Marine Tactical Officer…Dr Haynes considered that you were fit to undertake work duties where you could stand or sit as required and avoid repetitive bending or lifting…(b)Dr Sewell’s report dated 5 December 2017:In his report dated 5 December 2017, Dr Philip Sewell (general practitioner) noted the report of Dr Haynes and agreed with Dr Haynes’ diagnosis of disc changes at L4/5 and L5/S1 levels on [sic] the lumbar region. However, he disagreed with Dr Haynes’ opinion that your current presentation was due to the ageing process. Dr Sewell considered that if it were not for the duties you performed over a period of seven years, you would not have developed the degenerative disease in your spine. Dr Sewell opined that your current condition was due to the incident in 2009 and the duties you performed over a period of seven years.…Dr Sewell agreed with Dr Haynes’ opinion that you had a capacity to work, however, due to your geographical isolation from suitable jobs and your inability to travel for long periods of time in a car, prevented you from obtaining gainful employment.(c)Reports by Dr Carey, dated 26 August 2015, 22 September 2015 and 30 January 2018:Dr Carey did not agree with Dr Haynes’ opinion that your back condition had changed from being caused by the accepted injury to that of a degenerative/constitutional/congenital condition.…Dr Carey does not provide any opinion on your capacity to work, rather he just disagreed that your condition was now degenerative and continued to opine that your current condition was as a result of the initial injury in 2009.(d)A report of Dr Craig Mills, a consultant orthopaedic surgeon engaged by Comcare, dated 30 December 2015:In his report dated 30 December 2015, Dr Craig Mills (orthopaedic surgeon) diagnosed you with two-level discal disease and two-level facet disease mostly on the left hand side and mildly degenerative facet joints on the right. Dr Mills considered that your condition was consistent with the stated cause of your injury [in April 2009].(e)A Rehabilitation Management Functional Capacity Assessment report dated 14 December 2015:The Rehab Management Functional Capacity Assessment report dated 14 December 2015, stated that you reported a gradual onset of lower back pain which you attributed to your work on a customs boat. You reported that you had experienced many episodes of back pain over a period of four years (2011-2015). You reported that you [initially] experienced a lower back ‘spasm’ while completing a warm up for a training course when based in Canberra [in 2009]. You reported that you continued to experience occasional flare ups. You reported that in 2013, you…completed a fun run when you felt a twinge in your back that caused an aggravation of your lower back injury. You reported that you attempted to return to work three or four times since this incident however you continued to experience spasms and symptom aggravation upon returning to work.