SOCIAL WELFARE – Veterans’ affairs – disability pension – whether veteran entitled to pension at special rate – applicant suffering from post traumatic stress disorder and alcohol dependence – Tribunal accepted applicant’s disabilities but considered that one of the causes for taking early retirement was unrelated to his war-caused disabilities – whether Tribunal erred by failing to properly construe the term “remunerative work that the veteran was undertaking” – whether Tribunal erred by failing to take into account relevant considerations
ROY PETER MAGILL v REPATRIATION COMMISSION Q 167 OF 2001
DRUMMOND J 12 JUNE 2002 BRISBANE
IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
QUEENSLAND DISTRICT REGISTRY
Q 167 OF 2001
ON APPEAL FROM THE ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL
BETWEEN:
ROY PETER MAGILL APPLICANT
AND:
REPATRIATION COMMISSION RESPONDENT
JUDGE:
DRUMMOND J
DATE OF ORDER:
12 JUNE 2002
WHERE MADE:
BRISBANE
THE COURT ORDERS THAT:
1.Decisions (c) and (d) of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal made herein on 2 July 2001 be set aside.
2.The case, in so far as it relates to the applicant’s claim to a pension at the special rate provided for by s 24 the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth), be remitted to be heard and decided again, either with or without further evidence, by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, differently constituted, in accordance with law.
3.The respondent pay the applicant’s costs of and incidental to this appeal, including reserved costs if any.
Note: Settlement and entry of orders is dealt with in Order 36 of the Federal Court Rules.
IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
QUEENSLAND DISTRICT REGISTRY
Q 167 OF 2001
ON APPEAL FROM THE ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL
BETWEEN:
ROY PETER MAGILL APPLICANT
AND:
REPATRIATION COMMISSION RESPONDENT
JUDGE:
DRUMMOND J
DATE:
12 JUNE 2002
PLACE:
BRISBANE
REASONS FOR JUDGMENT
This is an appeal under s 44(1) the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) from the decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (“the Tribunal”) in respect of a claim brought under the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) (“the VEA”).
On 20 January 1998, Mr Magill made a claim to the Repatriation Commission to have post traumatic stress disorder (“ptsd”) and psychoactive substance abuse or dependence involving alcohol (“alcohol dependence”) accepted as war-caused conditions within s 9 the VEA. The Commission had previously accepted a range of other disabilities suffered by Mr Magill as war-caused conditions. But it rejected the claims in respect of ptsd and alcohol dependence. Mr Magill’s request of the Commission for internal review was refused and the Veterans’ Review Board affirmed the Commission’s decision in May 1999. However, the Commission then changed its attitude to Mr Magill’s claim and, at the hearing before…
Grounds of appeal
[14] The appellant contends that the primary judge erred in finding that the respondent had discharged the onus of establishing the matters required under the relevant provision.
[15] It was submitted that his Honour failed to give adequate weight to the evidence of the second witness, and that the findings of fact were not reasonably open on the material before the Court.
[16] The respondent, for its part, submits that no error is disclosed, and that the conclusions reached were well within the range of outcomes available to the primary judge.
Consideration
[17] It is convenient to deal first with the question of construction, as the resolution of that issue informs the remaining grounds advanced by the appellant.
[18] For the reasons that follow, we are of the view that the appeal should be allowed in part and the matter remitted for further determination.
Continue reading Magill v Repatriation Commission
Sign in free to access the full text
Details
AGLC
Magill v Repatriation Commission [2002] FCA 744
Case
[2002] FCA 744
Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
Magill brought a case against the Repatriation Commission, challenging decisions regarding his eligibility for a pension at a special rate under the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth). The dispute was ultimately heard and decided by the court after being initially adjudicated by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT). The key issue before the court was whether the AAT had correctly applied the law in dismissing the applicant's claim for a special rate pension. Specifically, the court had to determine if the AAT had erred in its interpretation and application of the statutory provisions relevant to the pension entitlement.
The court found that the AAT had indeed made errors in its legal reasoning and application of the relevant statutory provisions. The court concluded that the AAT had misinterpreted certain aspects of the legislation, leading to an incorrect decision. Consequently, the court set aside the AAT's decisions and remitted the matter back to the AAT for reconsideration, either with or without further evidence. The court emphasised that the AAT should be differently constituted to avoid any potential bias and ensure a fresh perspective on the matter.
In light of the errors identified, the court ordered that the decisions of the AAT be set aside and the case be remitted for reconsideration. Additionally, the court awarded costs to the applicant, including any reserved costs, to be paid by the Repatriation Commission. This decision underscores the importance of accurate legal interpretation and application in administrative law matters and highlights the role of the courts in ensuring that tribunals adhere to legal principles in their decision-making processes.
Orders
Orders of the court
1. Decisions (c) and (d) of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal made herein on 2 July 2001 be set aside.
2. The case, in so far as it relates to the applicant’s claim to a pension at the special rate provided for by s 24 the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth), be remitted to be heard and decided again, either with or without further evidence, by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, differently constituted, in accordance with law.
3. The respondent pay the applicant’s costs of and incidental to this appeal, including reserved costs if any.