Chun v Comcare

Case [2013] FCA 11


FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

Chun v Comcare [2013] FCA 11

Citation: Chun v Comcare [2013] FCA 11
Appeal from: Chun v Comcare [2012] AAT 471
Parties: MIKO CHUN v COMCARE
File number: NSD 1250 of 2012
Judge: ROBERTSON J
Date of judgment: 18 January 2013
Catchwords: ADMINISTRATIVE LAW – appeal from Administrative Appeals Tribunal – workers compensation – calculation of incapacity payments – normal weekly earnings – whether employer superannuation contributions form part of the calculation of normal weekly earnings – whether increases for continuing employees under industrial agreement form part of the calculation of normal weekly earnings  
Legislation:

Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) s 44
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) ss 8(1), 8(6), 8(9B), 19, 20, 21 and 21A
Superannuation Act 2005 (Cth) ss 4, 10 and 17
Superannuation Guarantee (Administration) Act 1992 (Cth)
Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Regulations 1994 (Cth) reg 6.01(2)

Cases cited: Buck v Comcare (1966) 66 FCR 359 referred to
Comcare v Thompson (2000) 100 FCR 375 applied
Hammerton and Comcare [1995] AATA 63, (1995) 21 AAR 204 cited
Mahony v Federal  Commissioner of Taxation (1967) 41 ALJR 232 referred to
McDonald v Department of Defence [1999] FCA 882 applied
McKernan and Comcare (2004) 85 ALD 508 cited
Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission v Perry (2007) 164 FCR 307 considered
Mutual Acceptance Company Limited v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1944) 69 CLR 389 considered
PPHF v Director-General of Security (2011) 193 FCR 436 referred to
Date of hearing: 19 December 2012
Place: Sydney
Division: GENERAL DIVISION
Category: Catchwords
Number of paragraphs: 68
Counsel for the Applicant: Mr C O'Neill
Solicitor for the Applicant: Ian Collins Solicitor
Counsel for the Respondent: Mr P Woulfe
Solicitor for the Respondent: Australian Government Solicitor

IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

NEW SOUTH WALES DISTRICT REGISTRY

GENERAL DIVISION

NSD 1250 of 2012

ON APPEAL FROM THE ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL
BETWEEN:

MIKO CHUN
Applicant

AND:

COMCARE
Respondent

JUDGE:

ROBERTSON J

DATE OF ORDER:

18 JANUARY 2013

WHERE MADE:

SYDNEY

THE COURT ORDERS THAT:

1.The appeal be dismissed.

2.Costs be reserved.

Note:Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.


IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

NEW SOUTH WALES DISTRICT REGISTRY

GENERAL DIVISION

NSD 1250 of 2012

ON APPEAL FROM THE ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL
BETWEEN:

MIKO CHUN
Applicant

AND:

COMCARE
Respondent

JUDGE:

ROBERTSON J

DATE:

18 JANUARY 2013

PLACE:

SYDNEY

REASONS FOR JUDGMENT

  1. This is an appeal on a question of law under s 44 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) from a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (the Tribunal) given on 25 July 2012.

  2. By that decision the Tribunal remitted the decision under review to the respondent, Comcare, in respect of an issue which the respondent had conceded, the issue being as to a date under s 19(2A) of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (the Act). No issue arises on this appeal in respect of that matter. Two other issues were decided against the…

Continue reading Chun v Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Chun v Comcare [2013] FCA 11
Case
[2013] FCA 11
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The case of Chun v Comcare involved the applicant, Chun, appealing against a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) regarding the calculation of his incapacity payments under the Commonwealth Authorities and Companies Act 1997. Chun argued that certain employer superannuation contributions and salary increases should form part of the calculation of his normal weekly earnings (NWE), which in turn affects the amount of incapacity payments he receives.

The legal issues before the court were twofold. Firstly, whether employer superannuation contributions should be included in the calculation of the applicant's NWE. Secondly, whether the applicant was entitled to the benefit of both s 8(6) and s 8(9B) increases in his NWE calculation. These issues hinged on the interpretation of specific sections of the Act and relevant industrial agreements.

In addressing the first issue, the court considered whether employer superannuation contributions constituted an "allowance payable to the employee" within the definition of NWE under s 8(1) of the Act. The court held that such contributions do not form part of the NWE calculation as they are not an "allowance" within the meaning of the Act. As for the second issue, the court found that the applicant was not entitled to the benefit of both s 8(6) and s 8(9B) increases because his employment had been terminated prior to the implementation of the relevant industrial agreement. Therefore, the court concluded that only the salary increases specified in the agreement that was in force at the time of termination should be considered.

The appeal was dismissed, and costs were reserved. The court's decision was grounded in a meticulous interpretation of the statutory provisions and the applicable industrial agreements, leading to a clear and decisive outcome.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The appeal be dismissed.

2. Costs be reserved.

Note: Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.

Background

Background to the litigation

There was no dispute that Comcare was liable under ss 14 and 19 of the Act. However, the applicant disputed the calculation of his incapacity payments under s 19.Facts The facts as found by the Tribunal were that the applicant was employed by the Department of Defence until his employment was terminated, on misconduct grounds I was told, on 15 October 2009. I was also told that the applicant had suffered injuries in or around May 2007 and July 2009. The Tribunal also found that the relevant industrial agreement as at 15 October 2009 was the Defence Collective Agreement 2006-2009. Paragraph G9.3 of that Agreement provided:Defence will provide an employer superannuation contribution for each employee who is a member of the PSSap or who elects a fund different from their default. The contribution will be based on fortnightly contribution salary and be paid at a rate as specified by the PSSap, though not less than 15.4 per cent.“PSSap” is the Public Sector Superannuation Accumulation Plan (PSSAP): see for example the definition in s 4 of the Superannuation Act 2005 (Cth) (Superannuation Act). The Defence Enterprise Collective Agreement 2009 provided, from 3 November 2009, for the following increases in salary for employees covered by that Agreement:G2.1 In recognition of the contribution made by employees to improving productivity and efficiency throughout Defence, salary will be increased by:a.3.8% from no later than the second pay day after the Agreement becomes operational (expected to be 12 or 26 November 2009, with payment made on the following pay day); andb.2.4% from 8 July 2010, which is expected to be paid on 22 July 2010. As I have said, these provisions of the Defence Enterprise Collective Agreement 2009 were implemented on 3 November 2009. The parties agreed there was an (immaterial) error in [16] of the Tribunal’s reasons where this date was stated as 3 November 2011. As I have also said, Mr Chun’s employment was terminated on 15 October 2009, prior to the implementation of the Defence Enterprise Collective Agreement 2009. The Tribunal also found, for the purposes of s 8(6)(c) of the Act, that at the date his employment was terminated the applicant had already reached the highest level in the range of salary for the position he held. Notice of appeal By his amended notice of appeal dated 26 October 2012 the applicant stated the following two questions of law:1.Whether Employers Superannuation Contributions form part of the NWE calculation in whole or in part.2.Whether the Applicant is entitled to the benefit of both s 8(6) and s 8(9B) increases.ConsiderationFirst question The answer to the first question turns on the meaning of the words “any allowance payable to the employee in each week in respect of his or her employment during the relevant period” within the description of “A” in s 8(1) of the Act. More particularly, the question is whether, as the applicant contends, the employer contributions to his superannuation are such an “allowance”.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

By his amended notice of appeal dated 26 October 2012 the applicant stated the following two questions of law:1.Whether Employers Superannuation Contributions form part of the NWE calculation in whole or in part.2.Whether the Applicant is entitled to the benefit of both s 8(6) and s 8(9B) increases.ConsiderationFirst question The answer to the first question turns on the meaning of the words “any allowance payable to the employee in each week in respect of his or her employment during the relevant period” within the description of “A” in s 8(1) of the Act. More particularly, the question is whether, as the applicant contends, the employer contributions to his superannuation are such an “allowance”. Section 19 of the Act, referred to above, provided relevantly:19 Compensation for injuries resulting in incapacity(1)This section applies to an employee who is incapacitated for work as a result of an injury, other than an employee to whom section 20, 21, 21A or 22 applies.(2)Subject to this Part, Comcare is liable to pay to the employee in respect of the injury, for each week that is a maximum rate compensation week during which the employee is incapacitated, an amount of compensation worked out using the formula:NWE – AEwhere:AE is the greater of the following amounts:(a)the amount per week (if any) that the employee is able to earn in suitable employment;(b)the amount per week (if any) that the employee earns from any employment (including self‑employment) that is undertaken by the employee during that week.NWE is the amount of the employee’s normal weekly earnings.… (3A) If, as a result of the incapacity:(a)the amount per week payable to the employee in respect of his or her continued employment is reduced; and(b) a pension under a superannuation scheme is payable to the employee;subsection (3) applies in relation to the employee in relation to a week during which the employee is incapacitated as if the references in the subsection to the amount he or she was able to earn during the week in suitable employment were instead references to the sum of that amount and any amount of the pension referred to in paragraph (b) that is payable to the employee in respect of that week.… Normal weekly earnings (NWE) is defined in s 4(1) and s 8(1) of the Act as follows:For the purposes of this Act, the normal weekly earnings of an employee (other than an employee referred to in subsection (2)) before an injury shall be calculated in relation to the relevant period under the formula:(NH x RP) + Awhere:NH is the average number of hours worked in each week by the employee in his or her employment during the relevant period.RP is the employee’s average hourly ordinary time rate of pay during that period; andA is the average amount of any allowance payable to the employee in each week in respect of his or her employment during the relevant period, other than an allowance payable in respect of special expenses incurred, or likely to be incurred, by the employee in respect of that employment.