Mines v Repatriation Commission

Case [2004] FCA 1331


FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

Mines v Repatriation Commission [2004] FCA 1331

VETERANS’ ENTITLEMENTS – pension – disease – whether war-caused – standard of proof – standard for determining whether veteran suffers from a disease – post traumatic stress disorder – question whether veteran experienced a traumatic event in course of war service – whether this question determined on balance of probabilities or on reverse beyond reasonable doubt standard – characterisation of symptoms suffered by veteran – whether Tribunal’s approach correct

Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) ss 9(1), 6-6F, 7(1), 13(1), 196B, 120, 120A
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) ss 44(1), 44(5)

Repatriation Commission v Deledio (1998) 83 FCR 82 followed
Repatriation Commission v Smith (1987) 15 FCR 327 followed
Byrnes v Repatriation Commission (1993) 177 CLR 564 considered
Repatriation Commission v Cooke (1998) 90 FCR 307 cited
Preston v Repatriation Commission (1993) 45 FCR 214 cited

Repatriation Commission v Budworth [2001] FCA 1421 (2001) 116 FCR 200 considered
Repatriation Commission v Gosewinckel [1999] FCA 1273 (1999) 59 ALD 690 cited

Benjamin v Repatriation Commission [2001] FCA 1879 (2001) 70 ALD 622 cited

JOHN WILLIAM MINES v REPATRIATION COMMISSION
V 632 of 2003

GRAY J
19 OCTOBER 2004
MELBOURNE

IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

VICTORIA DISTRICT REGISTRY

V 632 of 2003

ON APPEAL FROM THE ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

JOHN WILLIAM MINES
APPLICANT

AND:

REPATRIATION COMMISSION
RESPONDENT

JUDGE:

GRAY J

DATE OF ORDER:

19 OCTOBER 2004

WHERE MADE:

MELBOURNE

THE COURT ORDERS THAT:

1.        The appeal be allowed.

2.        The decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, made on 14 July 2003,
affirming the decision under review, be set aside. 


           

3.        The case be remitted to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, differently constituted,
to be heard and decided again.


           

4.        The respondent pay the applicant’s costs of the appeal.

Note:    Settlement and entry of orders is dealt with in Order 36 of the Federal Court Rules.

IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

VICTORIA DISTRICT REGISTRY

V 632 of 2003

ON APPEAL FROM THE ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

JOHN WILLIAM MINES
APPLICANT

AND:

REPATRIATION COMMISSION
RESPONDENT

JUDGE:

GRAY J

DATE:

19 OCTOBER 2004

PLACE:

MELBOURNE

REASONS FOR JUDGMENT

The nature and history of the proceeding

  1. This appeal from a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (‘the Tribunal’) concerns the application of the difficult provisions of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) (‘the VE Act’) concerning the manner in which decision-makers must approach the determination of issues on which entitlements depend.

  2. The applicant served in the Australian Army from 12 April 1967 to 2 August 1998.  He rendered operational service in Vietnam between 22 April 1968 and 11 May 1969 and again between 11 February 1971 and 2 February 1972, the second period of service being voluntary.  He retired from service on medical grounds, with atrial fibrillation.

  3. On 30 November 1998, the applicant made a claim for a disability pension and medical treatment for hypertension, atrial fibrillation and sleep apnoea.  On 16 December 1998, the respondent, the Repatriation Commission (‘the Commission’) refused this…

Continue reading Mines v Repatriation Commission

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Mines v Repatriation Commission [2004] FCA 1331
Case
[2004] FCA 1331
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The applicant in this case sought to appeal the decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, which had dismissed his claim for a service pension based on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). The Tribunal's decision hinged on its assessment of the applicant's claims and evidence regarding the severity of stressors during his operational service, and whether these stressors were linked to his current health conditions. The applicant argued that the Tribunal had applied an incorrect standard of proof, failing to adhere to the higher threshold required to sustain a hypothesis connecting his service to his health conditions. Instead of applying the standard of proof beyond reasonable doubt, the Tribunal seemed to apply a lower standard of satisfaction on the balance of probabilities.

The legal issues before the court were whether the Tribunal had correctly applied the standard of proof required to sustain a hypothesis linking the applicant's service to his health conditions and whether it had appropriately considered the evidence and the relevant statutory provisions and guidelines. The court needed to determine if the Tribunal's errors in applying the standard of proof warranted setting aside its decision and remitting the case for reconsideration. The central question was whether the applicant was entitled to a proper consideration of his claims in accordance with the correct legal principles and evidentiary standards.

In addressing these issues, the court found that the Tribunal had indeed erred by not applying the correct standard of proof. The court held that unless the Tribunal could be satisfied beyond reasonable doubt as to the facts supporting the hypothesis and linking it to the factors in the statutory guidelines, it was bound to find that the hypothesis upheld the necessary connection. The Tribunal's failure to apply this higher standard of proof meant that the applicant had not received a fair and proper assessment of his claims. Consequently, the court allowed the appeal, set aside the Tribunal's decision, and remitted the case back to the Tribunal for reconsideration. The respondent was also ordered to pay the applicant's costs of the appeal.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The appeal be allowed.

2. The decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, made on 14 July 2003,

affirming the decision under review, be set aside.

3. The case be remitted to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, differently constituted,

to be heard and decided again.

4. The respondent pay the applicant’s costs of the appeal.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

GRAY J
In its fact finding, the Tribunal did not apply the correct standard of proof. It did not recognise that, unless it could be satisfied beyond reasonable doubt as to the facts supporting the hypothesis and linking the hypothesis to the factors in the ‘templates’ of the SoPs, it was bound to find that the hypothesis upheld the necessary connection. Instead, the Tribunal appears to have engaged in a fact-finding exercise of the ordinary kind, determining for itself whether, on the evidence, the facts were as the applicant had suggested at various times. In one respect, when it said ‘the severity of the claimed stressors is in doubt’, the Tribunal appears to have reversed the required standard of proof. Only if it could be satisfied beyond reasonable doubt that the stressor events had not occurred, or had not had the necessary traumatic effect on the applicant, could the Tribunal have reached the conclusion that the hypothesis as to a connection between any condition suffered by the applicant and his operational service was not sustained. It was not sufficient for the Tribunal just to decide which version of the evidence it preferred. Conclusion When taken together, these errors of the Tribunal are sufficient to warrant allowing the appeal. The applicant has not had a chance to have his case dealt with by the Tribunal by a proper process of reasoning. It might be that he turns out to fail at the first hurdle. When it comes to consider whether it is reasonably satisfied that the applicant suffers from symptoms that, given the right traumatic event, might amount to PTSD, the Tribunal might well find on the material before it that it is not so satisfied. That is not a matter for determination by this Court, which deals only with questions of law in appeals of this kind. In any event, the applicant is entitled to have a proper consideration by the Tribunal, following the four steps referred to in Deledio, in respect of any condition from which the Tribunal is reasonably satisfied that he suffers. The Tribunal must consider whether the applicant suffers from hypertension, sleep apnoea, gastro-oesophageal reflux disease, ‘nervous condition’ and substance abuse. If it is reasonably satisfied that he suffers from any of those conditions, or from a collection of symptoms capable of amounting to any of those conditions, it must consider whether there is a hypothesis connecting that condition with the applicant’s operational service. If so, it must ascertain whether there is a relevant SoP and test the hypothesis against the factors referred to in that SoP, for the purpose of determining whether the hypothesis is reasonable. Only if the hypothesis fits the ‘template’ in a relevant SoP will the Tribunal be called upon to deal with issues of fact. Only if satisfied beyond reasonable doubt that the material before it does not establish the facts necessary to sustain the hypothesis will the Tribunal be entitled to dismiss the applicant’s claim.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Established by: GRAY J

Full text does not contain this section.