Hill and Comcare (Compensation) [2018] AATA 670 (26 March 2018)
Division:GENERAL DIVISION
File Number: 2017/0695
Re:Brian Hill
APPLICANT
AndComcare
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:Miss E A Shanahan, Member
Date:26 March 2018
Place:Melbourne
The Tribunal affirms the decision under review.
[sgd].......................................................................
Miss E A Shanahan, Member
WORKER’S COMPENSATION – left knee meniscal tear arising from playing netball – in the course of employment - arising out of employment – s 6(1)(c) temporary absence from place of work – at the direction or request of the Commonwealth or a licensee – injury occurring at interval between discrete periods of work – decision affirmed.
Legislation
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988
Cases
Kavanagh v Commonwealth (1960) 103 CLR 547
Commonwealth v Oliver (1962) 107 CLR 353
Commonwealth v Lyon (1979) 24 ALR 300
Hatzimanolis v ANI Corp Limited (1992) 173 CLR 473
Wayne Gregory v Comcare Australia (1997) 72 FCR 197
Re Richardson and Comcare (1997) 46 ALD 440
Roncevich v Repatriation Commission (2005) 222 CLR 115
Re Prieto and Comcare [2010] AATA 546
Re Saunders and Comcare (2011) 123 ALD 568
Telstra Corporation Limited v Bowden (2012) 206 FCR 207
Pioneer Studios Pty Ltd v Hills (2015) 13 DDCR 373
Tran v Vo [2017] NSWCA 134
The Star Pty Ltd v Mitchison [2017] NSWCA 149Comcare v PVYW (2013) 250 CLR 246
REASONS FOR DECISION
Miss E A Shanahan, Member
26 March 2018
Mr Brian Hill lodged an application for review of the decision of Comcare on 8 February 2017. The reviewable decision dated 12 December 2016 had affirmed the earlier determination of 10 October 2016 denying liability for a left lateral meniscus tear of the knee sustained on 24 October 2015 while playing netball at the “Department of Human Services Games” (DHS Games). The authorised review officer (ARO) Anna Teofilovic (T26) adopted the reasons of the determination. In the latter, Mr Alex Stocks had adopted the reasoning of Ms Rose Masiello (T21) of Allianz Insurance. Ms Masiello had found that the activity during which Mr Hill sustained his injury was not associated with his employment within the meanings of s 6(1)(c)(i) of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (SRC Act) and therefore compensation was not payable.
At the hearing before this Tribunal, Mr Hill was represented by Mr Karl Pattenden of counsel, instructed by Abraham Ghaleb, solicitor of Slater and Gordon. The respondent was represented by Mr Ray Ternes of counsel, instructed by Katherine Stewart, solicitor with Comcare. The respondent had lodged with the Tribunal documents in accordance with s 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975. The parties tendered further documentation, a list of which is appended to this decision.
Mr Hill gave evidence in person; as did Ms Jolene Miller an employee of Department of Human Services (DHS) whose role it was to co-ordinate the 2015 DHS Games. The parties provided a statement of agreed facts, and while the Tribunal is not bound to accept such a statement, it covered all of the…
Continue reading Hill and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Hill and Comcare (Compensation) [2018] AATA 670
- Case
- [2018] AATA 670
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The Tribunal was required to determine whether Mr Hill's participation in the DHS Games, and the subsequent injury, constituted an "injury arising out of or in the course of employment" for the purposes of the *Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988* (Cth) (SRC Act). Specifically, the Tribunal considered whether the Department had requested, authorised, encouraged, permitted, or induced Mr Hill to attend and participate in the games, thereby bringing his attendance within the scope of his employment.
The Tribunal considered the legal interpretation of "request" under section 6(1)(c)(ii) of the SRC Act, drawing on case law such as *Commonwealth v Lyon*, *Humphrey Earl Limited v Speechley*, and *Commonwealth v Oliver*. These authorities indicate that a request can encompass situations where an employee is reasonably required, expected, or authorised to undertake an activity. The Tribunal noted that while there was no explicit direction for Mr Hill to attend, the Department encouraged employee participation in the games, provided organisational assistance, and had employees dedicated to its coordination. The Tribunal also referred to *Hatzimanolis v ANI Corp Limited*, which established that an employer's encouragement or inducement for an employee to spend an interval in a particular way could bring an activity within the course of employment.
Ultimately, the Tribunal found that while the Department encouraged participation in the DHS Games, and provided some organisational support, there was no evidence of a formal request or inducement for Mr Hill to attend. The games were funded by participant fees and sponsorships, and attendance was open to non-DHS persons. The Tribunal concluded that Mr Hill's participation was not sufficiently connected to his employment to satisfy the requirements of the SRC Act, and therefore his claim for compensation was not successful.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Full text does not contain this section.
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Regrettably, Mr Hill continues to experience left knee pain and incapacity when running and standing for prolonged periods of time. His surgical treatment was appropriate and assessed by the treating surgeon as effective. To the Tribunal’s knowledge, there have not been any repeat investigations to assess the exact status of the left knee joint. The question remains as to whether Mr Hill will require further surgery. Consideration of s 6(c) of the SRC Act The parties and the Tribunal are in agreement that there was no direction given by DHS to Mr Hill to attend the 2015 Games. However, as s 6(1)(c)(ii) of the SRC Act also includes the alternative of a request of the Commonwealth or the licensee to attend an event, it requires further consideration. There is no evidence before the Tribunal of the existence of a formal request that Mr Hill attend the 2015 Games. However, the legal interpretation of the term request has been expanded in Commonwealth v Lyon (1979) 24 ALR 300. Deane J considered the concept of Lyon being reasonably required, expected or authorised to do something in order to carry out his duties. This was based on the formulation of Dixon J in Humphrey Earl Limited v Speechley (1951) 84 CLR 126 and in Commonwealth v Oliver (1962) 107 CLR 353 where the High Court majority considered that the participation in cricket matches between groups of employees ... was countenanced, if not encouraged, by the [employer]. In Oliver, Menzies J had concluded that:It seems to me that we must determine the question before us upon the evidence looked at, not against the background of a particular decision given thirty years ago upon its own facts, but against the background of what seems to me to be a widely-accepted and sensible present-day practice of employers encouraging workers to spend intervals between working hours, which must often be spent upon the employers' premises, in recreational activities.In these authorities consideration was given to the facts and, in particular, weight was given to the activities leading to the injury having occurred between two interval periods while on the employer’s premises. In Re Prieto and Comcare [2010] AATA 546 Professor Creyke addressed the authorities at length and adopted the majority decision in Hatzimanolis v ANI Corp Limited (1992) 173 CLR 473 in terms of the requirement that the employer has authorised, encouraged or permitted the employee to spend his time during that interval at a particular place or in a particular way. And she added:... if the employer, expressly or impliedly, has induced or encouraged the employee to spend the interval or interlude at a particular place or in a particular way. Professor Creyke considered the question of whether the activity was authorised, encouraged, permitted or induced by the employer. She concluded that Ms Prieto, was not authorised, encouraged, permitted or induced by the employer to participate in the soccer match. However, the main point on which the claim failed was that the team was supported not by the government department but by the social club and there was no suggestion that the department sanctioned her participation.