FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
Thomas v Repatriation Commission [2003] FCAFC 122
VETERAN AFFAIRS – veteran’s entitlements – relevant Statement of Principles – whether disease war-caused – whether reasonable hypothesis connecting disease with circumstances of service
Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) ss 9, 13, 120, 120(A)
Federal Court of Australia Act ss 4, 24Repatriation Commission v Gorton (2001) 110 FCR 321, [2001] FCA 1194 followed
Repatriation Commission v Keeley (2000) 98 FCR 108 followed
Minister for Immigration & Multicultural & Indigenous Affairs v Sochorova [2002] FCAFC 365 referred to
Driclad Pty Ltd v Commissioner of Taxation (Cth) (1998) 121 CLR 45 at 64 cited
JACK WILLIAM THOMAS v REPATRIATION COMMISSION
D20 OF 2002
HEEREY, WHITLAM AND MARSHALL JJ
DARWIN
30 MAY 2003
IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
NORTHERN TERRITORY DISTRICT REGISTRY
D20 OF 2002
ON APPEAL FROM A SINGLE JUDGE OF THE COURT
BETWEEN:
JACK WILLIAM THOMAS
APPELLANTAND:
REPATRIATION COMMISSION
RESPONDENTJUDGES:
HEEREY, WHITLAM AND MARSHALL JJ
DATE OF ORDER:
30 MAY 2003
WHERE MADE:
DARWIN
THE COURT ORDERS THAT:
1. The appeal be dismissed.
2. The appellant pay the respondent’s costs of the appeal.
Note: Settlement and entry of orders is dealt with in Order 36 of the Federal Court Rules.
IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
NORTHERN TERRITORY DISTRICT REGISTRY
D20 OF 2002
ON APPEAL FROM A SINGLE JUDGE OF THE COURT
BETWEEN:
JACK WILLIAM THOMAS
APPELLANTAND:
REPATRIATION COMMISSION
RESPONDENTJUDGES:
HEEREY, WHITLAM AND MARSHALL JJ
DATE:
30 MAY 2003
PLACE:
DARWIN
REASONS FOR JUDGMENT
THE COURT
This appeal raises for determination the question whether a Statement of Principles (“SoP”), which was in force at the time of a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (“the AAT”), is applicable on review of a decision of the respondent concerning whether the appellant's medical condition was war-caused.
Background
The appellant, Mr Thomas, applied to the respondent for an invalidity pension based on his malignant neoplasm of the prostate (“the condition”). Mr Thomas alleged that the condition was “war-caused” under the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) ("the Act").
Mr Thomas engaged in “eligible war service” during World War 2 from 23 October 1939 until 12 October 1945.
The provisions of the Act discussed below are those material to the claim of Mr Thomas for a pension.
A pension is payable under the Act to a veteran who is incapacitated due to a war-caused disease; s 13. Under s 9 a disease is taken to be war-caused if it arose out of or was attributable to war service.
Under s120(1) of the Act the respondent is obliged to determine that the disease was war-caused unless it is satisfied, beyond reasonable doubt, that there is no sufficient ground for making that determination.
Under s120(3) of the Act the respondent is obliged to be satisfied, beyond reasonable doubt, that there is no sufficient ground for determining that the disease was war-caused if, after consideration of the material before it, the…
Continue reading Thomas v Repatriation Commission
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Thomas v Repatriation Commission [2003] FCAFC 122
- Case
- [2003] FCAFC 122
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The legal issues before the court were whether the AAT should have applied the SoP in force at the time of its decision, and whether the primary judge correctly interpreted the relevant case law on the application of SoPs. The Full Court in Repatriation Commission v Gorton and Repatriation Commission v Keeley established that the AAT should consider the SoP in place at the time of its decision and, if there was no entitlement under that SoP, then consider the SoP in force at the time of the respondent's decision to see if there was "an accrued right" preserved under that SoP.
The court found that the primary judge correctly applied the case law and that the AAT should have applied the SoP in force at the time of its decision. The court rejected the appellant's argument that applying the incorrect SoP made no practical difference and held that it was an error of law to apply the incorrect SoP. The court found that no ground of appeal challenged the primary judge's assessment that the AAT should have considered the SoP in existence at the time of its decision.
In conclusion, the appeal was dismissed with costs. The court held that the AAT should have applied the SoP in force at the time of its decision, and that the primary judge correctly interpreted the relevant case law. The court rejected the appellant's argument that applying the incorrect SoP made no practical difference and held that it was an error of law to apply the incorrect SoP.
Orders
Orders of the court
1. The appeal be dismissed.
2. The appellant pay the respondent’s costs of the appeal.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Full text does not contain this section.
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Established by: HEEREY, WHITLAM AND MARSHALL JJ
His Honour the made the following points:(i)The respondent considered the claim by reference to the 1995 SoP and was unable to accept that the condition was war-caused.(ii)The Board considered the claim by reference to the 1995 SoP as amended by the 1996 SoP, but evidence relevant to the claim was not presented to the Board.(iii)There is an accrued right to have the Board or the AAT determine the claim by reference to the SoP in force at the time of the respondent’s decision, if at the time of consideration before the Board or the AAT there is a new SoP which overtakes the one which was applicable at the time of the respondent’s decision.(iv)There is no accrued right before the AAT to have the claim determined by reference to the SoP in force at the time of the Board’s decision where the then current SoP has replaced one in force at the time of the respondent’s decision.Consideration of Appeal Grounds No ground of appeal challenges his Honour’s assessment that the AAT should have considered the claim by reference to the SoP in existence at the time of its decision. However, the appellant’s written submission, under the second ground of appeal discussed at [21] to [24] below, asserted that the AAT was correct to apply the earlier SoP. That submission was confirmed orally by counsel for Mr Thomas. We reject it. We consider that Gorton and Keeley dictate that the AAT should have considered the SoP which applied at the date of its decision. No challenge was made to the correctness of either of those Full Court judgments. Although counsel for the appellant ultimately submitted that if the wrong SoP was applied it made no practical difference, it submitted it is nonetheless an error of law to apply the incorrect SoP. The first ground of appeal took issue with the primary judge’s statement of the test to be determined to see if an SoP was satisfied. At [11] to [13] of his judgment the primary judge said that:“11The Full Court in Deledio indicated there is a four step process involved in addressing a claim such as the present. The Tribunal must first consider whether all the material pointed to a hypothesis connecting the condition with the circumstances of Mr Thomas’s war service. If no such hypotheses arose, the application was to be dismissed. Once such a hypotheses did arise, the Tribunal had to determine whether there was a Statement of Principles in force applicable to the condition. Thirdly, if there was a Statement of Principles then in force it had to form the opinion whether the hypothesis raised is a reasonable one. As there described at 97:“It will do so if the hypotheses fits, that is to say, is consistent with the ‘template’ to be found in the SoP. The hypothesis raised before it must thus contain one or more of the factors which the Authority has determined to be the minimum which must exist, and be related to the person’s service. If the hypothesis does contain these factors, it could neither be said to be contrary to proved or known scientific facts, nor otherwise fanciful. If the hypothesis fails to fit within the template, it will be deemed not to be ‘reasonable’ and the claim will fail.”12The reasons why Statements of Principle determined by the Repatriation Medical Authority have that significance is explained in the reasons for judgment of Allsop J (with whom Emmett J agreed) in Repatriation Commission v Gorton (2001) 110 FCR 321, [2001] FCA 1194 at 335, [58]-[59] (Gorton). Finally, the Tribunal must decide under s120(1) whether it is satisfied beyond reasonable doubt that the condition is not war-caused. If it is not so satisfied, the claim must succeed. If it is so satisfied, the claim must fail.13In practical terms, as counsel for the Commission contended, in the present matter the issues could be reduced to two questions:(a)did the material before the Tribunal raise or point to a hypothesis connecting the condition with the service of Mr Thomas that was consistent with the relevant Statement of Principles, and(b)was the Tribunal satisfied beyond reasonable doubt that the foundation for any hypothesis connecting the condition with the war service of Mr Thomas was displaced.”