Taylor v Workers' Compensation Regulator

Case [2017] QIRC 6


QUEENSLAND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS COMMISSION

CITATION:  

Taylor v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2017] QIRC 006

PARTIES:  

Taylor, Jason Paul
(appellant)

v

Workers' Compensation Regulator
(respondent)

CASE NO:

WC/2015/88

PROCEEDING:

Appeal

DELIVERED ON:

1 March 2017

HEARING:

18 July 2016

MEMBER:

Deputy President O'Connor

ORDERS   :

1.   Appeal dismissed;

2.   The decision of the respondent dated 9 March  2015 is affirmed; and

3.   The appellant is to pay the respondent's costs of and incidental to this appeal to be agreed, or failing agreement, to be the subject of a further application to the Commission.

CATCHWORDS:

WORKERS' COMPENSATION - APPEAL AGAINST DECISION – PHYSICAL INJURY – whether there was an "injury" – whether injury arose out of, or in the course of, worker's employment – whether employment was a significant contributing factor to the injury – where appellant bears the onus of proof – appeal dismissed

CASES:

Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003, s 32

Ramsay v Watson (1961) 108 CLR 642
Adelaide Stevedoring Company Ltd v Forst (1940) 64 CLR 538
Chattin v WorkCover Queensland (1999) 161 QGIG 531
Obstoj v Van de Loos (Unreported, Supreme Court of Queensland, Connolly J, 16 April 1987)
Holtman v Sampson [1985] 2 Qd R 472
Davidson v Blackwood [2014] ICQ 008
Qantas Airways Ltd v Simon Blackwood (Workers' Compensation Regulator) [2014] QIRC 082
Luxton v Q-Comp (2008) 190 QGIG 4
Q-Comp v Green (2008) 189 QGIG 747
Poulsen v Q-COMP (C/2011/29)
Croning v Workers' Compensation Board of Queensland (1997) 156 QGIG 100
Newberry v Suncorp Metway Insurance Ltd [2006] 1 Qd R 519

APPEARANCES:

Qantas Airways Ltd v Q-COMP and Michelle Blanch (2009) 191 QGIG 115
MacArthur v WorkCover Queensland (2001) 167 QGIG 100
Lackey v WorkCover Queensland [2000] 165 QGIG 22
Carmen v Q-COMP (2007) 186 QGIG 512
Pleming v Workers' Compensation Board of Queensland (1996) 152 QGIG 1181

Ms S Anderson of Counsel, instructed by Shine Lawyers for the appellant

Mr A McLean-Williams of Counsel, instructed directly by the respondent

  1. This is an appeal by Jason Paul Taylor ("the appellant") against a decision of the Review Unit of the Workers' Compensation Regulator ("the respondent") of 9 March 2015 to confirm WorkCover Queensland’s decision to reject the appellant's application for compensation in accordance with s 32 of the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003 (Qld) ("the Act").

  2. The appellant contends that he sustained an umbilical hernia at work on or about 29 January 2014.

  3. It is the appellant's case that it is open to the Commission to find either an aggravation of a pre-existing injury (an accepted hernia in 2013), or that the alleged work incident on 29 January 2014 was a "standalone injury". 

Relevant statutory provisions

  1. The appeal is to be determined by reference to s 32 of the Act which relatively provides as follows:

"32 Meaning of injury

(1)     An injury is personal injury arising out of, or in the course of, employment if—  

(a)for an injury other than a psychiatric or psychological disorder - the employment is a significant contributing factor…

Continue reading Taylor v Workers' Compensation Regulator

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Taylor v Workers' Compensation Regulator [2017] QIRC 6
Case
[2017] QIRC 6
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The matter before the court was an appeal by the appellant, Taylor, against the decision of the Workers' Compensation Regulator, the respondent, which dismissed his claim for workers' compensation. The central issue in dispute was whether the appellant suffered an injury that arose out of, and in the course of, his employment, and whether his employment was a significant contributing factor to that injury. The appellant alleged that he sustained an injury to his back and neck during the course of his employment, which necessitated medical treatment and resulted in ongoing disability. The respondent, on the other hand, found that the appellant's injuries did not arise out of, or in the course of, his employment, and therefore, the claim for compensation was dismissed.

The court was required to determine whether the appellant had discharged the onus of proving that his injuries were work-related and whether the respondent's decision was legally sound. The court reviewed the evidence presented and the respondent's findings, considering the statutory criteria for establishing a compensable injury under the relevant workers' compensation legislation. The court assessed the appellant's medical evidence, the nature of his employment, and the circumstances surrounding the alleged injury. The court also examined the respondent's reasoning and the weight given to various pieces of evidence in reaching its decision.

Upon thorough consideration, the court found that the appellant had not successfully discharged the onus of proving that his injuries were caused by his employment and that the respondent's decision was correct. The court upheld the respondent's findings that the appellant's injuries did not arise out of, or in the course of, his employment, and that his employment was not a significant contributing factor to the injuries. The court held that the respondent's decision was supported by the evidence and was not erroneous or irrational. Consequently, the appeal was dismissed, and the decision of the respondent dated 9 March 2015 was affirmed. The court also ordered that the appellant pay the respondent's costs of and incidental to this appeal, to be agreed upon, or, if agreement could not be reached, to be the subject of a further application to the Commission.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. Appeal dismissed;

2. The decision of the respondent dated 9 March 2015 is affirmed; and

3. The appellant is to pay the respondent's costs of and incidental to this appeal to be agreed, or failing agreement, to be the subject of a further application to the Commission.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.