Rus and Comcare (Compensation) [2019] AATA 4089 (2 October 2019)
Division:GENERAL DIVISION
File Number: 2014/4611
Re:Christine Rus
APPLICANT
AndComcare
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:Deputy President S A Forgie
Date:2 October 2019
Place:Melbourne
The Tribunal decides to:
1.set aside the reviewable decision of the respondent made on 10 July 2014 affirming its earlier decision dated 15 April 2014; and
2.substitute a decision that the applicant’s late husband was an employee within the meaning of s 5 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.
3.
[sgd]...................................................................
S A FORGIE
Deputy President
Catchwords
COMPENSATION – whether an ‘employee’ as defined in the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 – whether engaged under an enactment – where engaged as a labourer under a contract of service – decision set aside and substituted
Legislation
Administrative Decisions (Judicial Review) Act 1977
Australian Wool Testing Authority Act 1957
Commonwealth Employees’ Compensation Act 1930-1959
Health & Other Services (Compensation) Act 1985
Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988
Victorian Workers’ Compensation Act 1958
Wool Industry Act 1962
Cases
Australian National University v Burns [1982] FCA 191; (1982) 64 FLR 166; 43 ALR 25; 5 ALD 67
Australian National Airlines Commission v Newman (1987) 162 CLR 466; 70 ALR 275
Christofis v Tomazos Bros Pty Ltd (1986) 83 FLR 183
Deputy Commissioner of Patents v Board of Control of Michigan Technological University [1979] FCA 84; (1979) 43 FLR 9; 28 ALR 551; 2 ALD 711
Fair Work Ombudsman v Quest South Perth Holdings Pty Ltd [2015] FCAFC 37; (2015) 228 FCR 346
Fair Work Ombudsman v Quest South Perth Holdings Pty Ltd [2015] HCA 45; (2015) 256 CLR 137; (2015) 326 ALR 470; 90 ALJR 107; 255 IR 229
General Newspapers Pty Limited and Others v Telstra Corporation [1993] FCA 473; (1993) 45 FCR 164; 117 ALR 629
Griffith University v Tang [2005] HCA 7; (2005) 221 CLR 99; 213 ALR 724; 82 ALD 289
Mutual Acceptance Co. Ltd v Federal Commissioner of Taxation [1944] HCA 34; (1944) 69 CLR 389; [1945] ALR 1; (1944) 7 ATD 506
Rus v Comcare [2017] FCA 239; (2017) 160 ALD 135
Scharer v New South Wales [2001] NSWCA 360; (2001) 53 NSWLR 299; 116 LGERA 217
REASONS FOR DECISION
Deputy President SA Forgie
In a judgment dated 10 March 2017, Bromberg J allowed an appeal from my decision in Re Rus and Comcare made on 20 January 2016.[1] I had affirmed a reviewable decision made by Comcare affirming its earlier determination dated 15 April 2014. It had determined that it was not liable to pay compensation to the widow of the late Mr Francis Michael Rus, Mrs Christine Rus, in respect of his death as a result of mesothelioma. The basis of Comcare’s determination was that it was not satisfied that Mr Rus had been an “employee” as defined in s 5 of…
Continue reading Rus and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Rus and Comcare (Compensation) [2019] AATA 4089
- Case
- [2019] AATA 4089
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The legal issues before the Federal Court were whether the AAT had correctly applied the law in determining whether Mr Rus was an employee of the AWB, and whether the AAT had erred by excluding relevant evidence from its consideration. Specifically, the court had to consider the definition of "employee" under the SRC Act, which includes persons employed by the Commonwealth or a Commonwealth authority under a law or a contract of service. The court also considered the probative value of Mr Rus's own statements regarding his work at the AWB in the context of other evidence.
The Federal Court found that the AAT had erred in law by failing to take into account Mr Rus's statements about his work at the AWB when determining his employment status. The court held that these statements were critical to establishing the fact of employment and that their exclusion affected the AAT's exercise of power. The court reasoned that the AAT's task was to determine, on the balance of probabilities, whether Mr Rus was an employee, and this required considering all relevant material.
The Federal Court set aside the AAT's decision and substituted its own finding that Mr Rus was an employee of the AWB for a period towards the end of 1965. This determination was based on the evidence, including Mr Rus's statements and corroborating material, which indicated he performed maintenance work at the AWB during that period.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
The other medical practitioners who have prepared reports included in the T documents have not made any reference to the AWB. They are:(1)Mr Stephen Barnett; report dated 13 December 2012:“The patient clearly remembers throughout his career cutting asbestos sheeting in his work as a builder. …”[34](2) Dr Allan Zimet, Oncologist; report dated 10 February 2013:“Mr Rus was a Builder for many years. During that time he would have had significant exposure to asbestos.This exposure to asbestos is the cause of his mesothelioma.”[35][34] T documents; T3.5 at 23[35] T documents; T3.6 at 25CONSIDERATION None of the evidence that I have includes a document such as a record of interview or notes of an interview signed by Mr Rus. Documents such as the Statement of Claim and the Plaintiff’s Answers to Interrogatories Rendered by the AWB will have been prepared on his instructions. I accept that Mr Dean Rus has given evidence of the conversations with his later father as he recalls them. That said, there are discrepancies among the documents that have some relevance. I take as an example the handwritten notes taken by Ms Sandford when Mr Rus was in hospital and the typed version. Whether Mr Rus worked, to use a neutral word, at the AWB as an assistant maintenance worker, as the typed notes record, or in asset maintenance as would seem to be noted in the handwritten version, the word “employed” that appears in the typed notes makes no appearance at all in the handwritten notes. It is a word used in the handwritten notes to describe Mr Rus’s status at Pethard Insulations but the way it is written in that note bears no resemblance to the word that is illegible in the notes relating to Mr Rus’s working at AWB. I also note that there are other discrepancies between the notes and the evidence in, for example, the report of Professor Fox. The typed notes refer to Mr Rus’s being employed at the AWB for three to four months in 1965 and Professor Fox’s report refers to his being a maintenance worker at the AWB at Altona and Brooklyn for six to twelve months during 1966 when he was 16 years old. There are other examples but I do not think that they undermine the general evidence that points to Mr Rus’s working at the AWB at some time in approximately 1965. Mr Rus’s reference to working at Brooklyn as well as at Altona is not inconsistent with the reference in the AWB’s 1965-1966 Annual Report that a new store was erected at Brooklyn, Victoria, during the year.[36] Even if that store did not require maintenance, the reference made to in the Annual Report does not mean that it was the only wool store at Brooklyn. The AWB’s 1966-67 Annual Report includes a photograph of 28 of the AWB’s then 289 wool stores. The photograph shows 16 wool stores grouped in one compound with another 12 in a different compound located to the rear. Mr Rus’s evidence that he did maintenance work at Brooklyn is consistent with there being a new wool store erected there while he was there.[36] T documents; T19 at 98