Re: COMMISSIONER FOR SUPERANNUATION And: FAY OLIVE SCOTT No. G62 of 1986 Administrative Law
COURT
IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
QUEENSLAND DISTRICT REGISTRY GENERAL DIVISION Fisher J. Spender J. Pincus J.
CATCHWORDS
Administrative Law - administrative Appeals Tribunal - Appeal from - Superannuation Act - spouse of eligible employee - wholly or substantially dependent - meaning of substantially - consideration of question of dependency - question of fact.
COUNSEL for the applicant Mr. Needham instructed by the Australian Government Solicitor
COUNSEL for the respondent Mr. Westbrook instructed by Trilby Misso & Co.
ORDER
The appeal be allowed and the decision appealed from be set aside.
The matter be remitted to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal for reconsideration with a direction that the word "substantially" in the definition of "spouse" in s.3 of the Superannuation Act 1976 means "in the main" or "essentially".
There be no order as to the costs of the appeal. Note: Settlement and entry of orders is dealt with in Order 36 of the Federal Court Rules.
JUDGE1
This is an appeal from a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal ("the Tribunal") pursuant to sub.s.44(1) of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 ("the A.A.T. Act"). On 15 May 1986 the Tribunal set aside a decision of the applicant, the Commissioner for Superannuation ("the Commissioner") rejecting the claim of the respondent Fay Olive Scott ("Mrs. Scott") that a spouse's benefit be paid to her in accordance with s.81 of the Superannuation Act 1976 ("the Act"). The Tribunal remitted the matter to the Commissioner for reconsideration in accordance with a direction that Mrs Scott was entitled to a spouse's pension under that section of the Act. The essential matter of law before us was the proper construction of the phrase "wholly or substantially dependent" in the definition of "spouse" in s.3 of the Act. The Commissioner by Notice dated 12 June 1986 appealed against the decision of the Tribunal on the ground that it had misdirected itself in holding that to show substantial dependence it was sufficient to show only that the dependency was more than trivial, minimal or nominal. On 10 July 1986 an amended notice of appeal was filed wherein the ground thereof was stated as being a misdirection as to the proper meaning of the phrase "wholly or substantially dependent" in paragraph (b) of the definition of "spouse" in sub.s.3(1) of the Act. On the hearing of the appeal counsel for the Commissioner limited his submission to the contention that the Tribunal misdirected itself in the manner alleged in the original notice of appeal, namely as to the meaning of the word "substantially".
The circumstances in which the dispute arose were very adequately set out in the reasons of the Tribunal and it is sufficient if we state them briefly. Mrs. Scott was a widow, her husband having died on or about 11 October 1982. He was an eligible employee for the purposes of the Act, having…
Grounds of appeal
[14] The appellant contends that the primary judge erred in finding that the respondent had discharged the onus of establishing the matters required under the relevant provision.
[15] It was submitted that his Honour failed to give adequate weight to the evidence of the second witness, and that the findings of fact were not reasonably open on the material before the Court.
[16] The respondent, for its part, submits that no error is disclosed, and that the conclusions reached were well within the range of outcomes available to the primary judge.
Consideration
[17] It is convenient to deal first with the question of construction, as the resolution of that issue informs the remaining grounds advanced by the appellant.
[18] For the reasons that follow, we are of the view that the appeal should be allowed in part and the matter remitted for further determination.
Continue reading Commissioner for Superannuation v Scott
Sign in free to access the full text
Details
AGLC
Commissioner for Superannuation v. Scott, F.O. [1987] FCA 98
Case
[1987] FCA 98
Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The matter before the court was an appeal brought by the Commissioner for Superannuation against the decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal in relation to the eligibility of an individual, Scott, to be recognised as a dependent spouse under the Superannuation Act 1976. The primary issue was the interpretation of the term "substantially dependent" within the act and whether Scott met this criterion to qualify as the spouse of an eligible employee.
The legal issues central to the appeal revolved around the interpretation of the term "substantially dependent" as it appeared in the definition of "spouse" in section 3 of the Superannuation Act. The court was tasked with determining whether the term should be interpreted in a strict or broader sense and what weight should be given to the various factors that contribute to establishing dependency in the context of superannuation entitlements. This required a nuanced examination of the legislative language, the purpose of the act, and relevant case law.
In delivering the judgment, the court held that the term "substantially dependent" should be interpreted in a manner consistent with its ordinary meaning, which encompasses being "in the main" or "essentially" dependent on the eligible employee. The court found that the Tribunal had not adequately considered all relevant factors and had misapplied the term "substantially dependent" in a manner that was too restrictive. As a result, the court allowed the appeal, set aside the decision of the Tribunal, and remitted the matter for reconsideration with the correct interpretation of the term in question. The court emphasised the importance of a holistic approach in assessing dependency, taking into account all relevant factors that contribute to a spouse's reliance on the eligible employee.
Orders
Orders of the court
The appeal be allowed and the decision appealed from be set aside.
The matter be remitted to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal for reconsideration with a direction that the word "substantially" in the definition of "spouse" in s.3 of the Superannuation Act 1976 means "in the main" or "essentially".
There be no order as to the costs of the appeal.
Note: Settlement and entry of orders is dealt with in Order 36 of the Federal Court Rules.