Warnock and Comcare

Case [2008] AATA 567


Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2008] AATA 567

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No 2008/0945

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE  DIVISION )
Re SHAUN WARNOCK

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Dr K S Levy, RFD, Senior Member

Date2 July 2008

PlaceBrisbane

Decision

The Tribunal determines that:

(1)      The decision under review is set aside;

(2)      The calculation of NWE is not within the bounds of the reviewable decision.

(3)      The adjustment percentage is 100% of NWE.

(4)      The AE for 2007 is $778 per week for farming and $100 per week for bus driving in weeks where that employment is available.

(5)     The Tribunal remits the matter to the respondent for recalculation of the entitlement, taking account of s8 of the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (indexation) and any other statutory or relevant factor.

...............[Sgd].........................

Senior Member

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION – Administration of the Act – normal weekly earnings – whether the claim for the amount of overtime as part of the applicant’s normal weekly earnings is to be included in the consideration of the decision under review – whether a previous determination, in relation to the elements of the formula under s19 (3) of the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, is correct – decision under review set aside.   

Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss 4(1),5,8,9,14(1),19(2),19(3)(a),19(3)(f)

Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation and Other Legislation Amendment Act 2007 ss 4(1), 8(9E), 8(9F).

Bortolazzo & Saffron v Comcare (1997) 25 AAR 290

Re Spurr and Comcare (1999) 28 AAR 424

Comcare v Davies [2008] FCA 393

Woodbridge v Comcare (1994) 20 AAR 196

J & H Timbers Pty Ltd v Nelson (1972) 126 CLR 625

Cage Developments Pty Ltd v Schubert (1983) 151 CLR 584

REASONS FOR DECISION

2 July 2008 Dr K S Levy, RFD, Senior Member          

INTRODUCTION

1.      The applicant, Shaun Warnock, applied for compensation as a former Commonwealth Government employee.  That claim was rejected on 5 June 2006 when the decision maker determined that he was not eligible because of an exclusionary provision.  On review, that decision was set aside and liability was payable by Comcare under s14 of the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (‘the Act’).  It was determined that the exclusionary provision was not applicable in that case as the issue upon which it depended had not commenced at the date of the applicant’s injury (Comcare v Chenhall (1992) 37 FCR 75). That decision was made on 8 August 2006.

2.      A determination was then made on 18 October 2007 under s19 (3)(a) of the Act and determined that Mr Warnock was entitled to 75% of Normal Weekly Earnings (NWE) in determination of the formula applicable in ascertaining the compensation for his case.  On 8 November 2007, Senior Member Carstairs awarded a stay in the implementation of a decision dated 3 September 2007. 

3.      There was also a determination dated 5 December 2006 in relation to the amount of NWE which should be applicable from 1 June 2006 pursuant to…

Continue reading Warnock and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Warnock and Comcare [2008] AATA 567
Case
[2008] AATA 567
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The case of Warnock and Comcare involved a dispute regarding the calculation of normal weekly earnings (NWE) under the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988. The applicant sought to include overtime payments as part of their NWE. The matter was before the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, which was tasked with reviewing the decision made by Comcare, the respondent in this instance. The central issue was whether the Tribunal should consider the overtime payments in the calculation of NWE and whether a previous determination related to the elements of the formula under section 19(3) of the Act was correct.

The Tribunal carefully examined the legal framework and the relevant case law to determine the proper approach to calculating NWE. It considered precedents such as Bortolazzo & Saffron v Comcare, Re Spurr and Comcare, and Comcare v Davies. The Tribunal also looked at statutory provisions and amendments, specifically those introduced by the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation and Other Legislation Amendment Act 2007. After thorough analysis, the Tribunal concluded that the decision under review did not appropriately consider the statutory requirements for calculating NWE. The Tribunal found that the previous determination regarding the elements of the formula under section 19(3) was incorrect, leading to an improper calculation of the applicant's entitlement.

Consequently, the Tribunal set aside the decision under review and directed that the matter be remitted to Comcare for recalculation of the entitlement. The Tribunal specified that the calculation should take into account section 8 of the Act, which pertains to indexation, and any other relevant statutory or factor. The Tribunal also determined the adjustment percentage and the specific amounts for the applicant's entitlement for the year 2007, setting it at $778 per week for farming and $100 per week for bus driving where that employment was available. This comprehensive review and the subsequent orders aimed to ensure that the applicant's entitlement was accurately calculated in accordance with the law.

Orders

Orders of the court

The Tribunal determines that:

(1) The decision under review is set aside;

(2) The calculation of NWE is not within the bounds of the reviewable decision.

(3) The adjustment percentage is 100% of NWE.

(4) The AE for 2007 is $778 per week for farming and $100 per week for bus driving in weeks where that employment is available.

(5) The Tribunal remits the matter to the respondent for recalculation of the entitlement, taking account of s8 of the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (indexation) and any other statutory or relevant factor.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.