Administrative Appeals Tribunal
ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL )
) No’s: 2012/4919
General Administrative Division ) 2013/0508 2013/0509Re: Paul Ross
Applicant
And: Comcare
RespondentCORRIGENDUM
TRIBUNAL: Mr R G Kenny, Senior Member
DATE: 18 July 2014
PLACE: Brisbane
The Tribunal directs the Registrar, pursuant to subsection 43AA(1) of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth), to alter the text of the decision in this application as follows:
1.Replace “$1879.10” on the front page of the Decision with “$1889.46”.
2.Replace “July 1998” with “February 1998” in line 1 of paragraph 1.
...............................Sgd.................................
Senior Member
[2014] AATA 476
Division GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION File Numbers
2012/4919
2013/0508
2013/0509
Re
Paul Ross
APPLICANT
And
Comcare
RESPONDENT
Decision
Tribunal Mr R G Kenny, Senior Member
Date 15 July 2014 Place Brisbane The Tribunal sets aside the decisions under review and substitutes its decision that the amount per week that the applicant is able to earn in suitable employment is $1,879.10 per week and remits the matters to Comcare to recalculate the applicant’s compensation entitlements in accordance with these reasons.
.............................Sgd...........................................
Mr R G Kenny, Senior Member
Catchwords
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION – Acceptance of liability under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (“the Act”) for right knee condition – Reviewable decision to revoke determinations relating to incapacity payments from 1 July 2007 until 8 July 2012 (“the relevant period”) – Further reviewable decision that incapacity entitlement in the relevant period was nil – Assessment of ability to earn in suitable employment – Decisions set aside and substituted – Matters remitted to Comcare for recalculation
Legislation
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth), ss 4, 19
CASES
Arbuckle v Comcare [2005] AATA 820
Cage Developments Pty Ltd v Schubert (1983) 151 CLR 584
Comcare v Davies [2008] FCA 393
Hooper v Comcare [2001] AATA 548
J & H Timbers Pty Ltd v Nelson (1972) 126 CLR 625
Leach v Ross and Babes in Paradise Pty Ltd as Trustee for the Babes in Paradise Trust [2013] QSC 333Warnock v Comcare [2008] AATA 567
REASONS FOR DECISION
Mr R G Kenny, Senior Member
15 July 2014
Background
In July 1998, while employed by the Australian Federal Police (“AFP”), Paul Ross
(“the applicant”) suffered a right knee injury for which Comcare accepted liability under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (“the Act”). The applicant’s employment was terminated on 15 February 2005. Between 4 July 2007 and
27 June 2012 (“the relevant period”), Comcare made determinations in relation to the applicant’s entitlement to incapacity payments for the period from 1 July 2007 until
8 July 2012. After a reconsideration of those determinations by own motion, Comcare, on 5 September 2012, made a reviewable decision to revoke them (“September reviewable decision”) [Ref: 2012/4919].
On 11 September 2012, Comcare determined that the applicant had an ability to earn $2,468.05 in suitable employment from 9 July 2012 and, on 19 September 2012, Comcare determined that the applicant was not entitled to incapacity payments during the relevant period. On 12 December 2012,…
Continue reading Paul Ross and Comcare
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Paul Ross and Comcare [2014] AATA 476
- Case
- [2014] AATA 476
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The Tribunal found that Comcare's assessment of Mr Ross's ability to earn in suitable employment was flawed. The Tribunal determined that the appropriate benchmark for assessing Mr Ross's earning capacity was the income he would have earned if he had been employed in a suitable position, rather than the profits of his business. The Tribunal relied on the Australian Bureau of Statistics data for owner-managers of incorporated enterprises, adjusted for a 35% increment, to arrive at an appropriate weekly earning figure of $1,889.46 for 2012. The Tribunal concluded that this figure should be applied to the other years in the relevant period. The Tribunal also noted that Mr Ross's actual earnings from his business were not reflected in his reported annual salary of $30,000, as he received additional benefits such as personal expenditure covered by the business.
The Tribunal set aside Comcare's decisions and substituted its own decision that Mr Ross's ability to earn in suitable employment was $1,889.46 per week. The case was remitted to Comcare for recalculation of Mr Ross's compensation entitlements in accordance with the Tribunal's reasons. The Tribunal's decision clarified that the measure of an individual's earnings for the purposes of calculating incapacity payments should be based on the remuneration or wages they would earn in suitable employment, rather than the profits derived from their business.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
In the alternative, Ms Ford submitted that the applicant had an ability to earn $50,000 per year during the relevant period as an employee in other suitable employment. Consideration Under s 19(4)(a) of the Act, where the employee is in employment, including self-employment, regard must be had to the amount per week that the employee is earning in that employment. I am satisfied that the applicant’s actual earnings from the business are not reflected in his annual salary of $30,000. This was agreed by Mr Dwyer and Ms Ford. The applicant received additional benefits by means of items of personal expenditure being attributed to the business. This included certain grocery items, travel costs and restaurant costs. Prior to the business’ purchase of the vehicle in 2009 for the applicant to use, it also included fuel costs. Ms Michie’s evidence was that the applicant’s personal expenditure met by the business amounted to $17,140 in 2012.[15] Payment of the applicant’s personal items by using them to reduce the level of the applicant’s loan to the business was equivalent to treating them as capital owed by the business to the applicant. The evidence is far from clear as to the precise amounts of personal expenditure which were dealt with in that way. Indeed, the evidence is that the amount of his loan actually increased over the years and no explanation was provided by the applicant in that regard. Ms Michie also gave the taxable value of the vehicle supplied to the applicant as being $20,968 in the financial years 2010 and 2011 and $16,130 in the financial year 2012.[16] The structure of the company and the trust would have enabled the applicant to receive the profits of the business but his evidence was that he chose not to do so because of the need to accumulate a capital sum with which to discharge any future obligations the applicant and/or the company may have to Mr Leach as a result of the Supreme Court proceedings. It seems, from the Court’s decision, that this may have proved to be a prudent approach. However, the applicant’s involvement with Mr Leach should bear no relationship to what constitutes income to the applicant.[15] See paragraphs 23, 26 and 27 (above).[16] See paragraph 26 (above). Reference has been made to the turnover and the profits of the business. On Ms Michie’s evidence, this was as high as $864,893 in 2011 and averaged in the order of $750,000 per year from 2007 to 2012. Annual profits were reported by Ms Michie to average in the order of $92,000 from 2008 to 2011. However, I accept the submissions of both counsel that the measure of the applicant’s earnings should be: the remuneration [of the] fruit of his labour, his wages or equivalent. It should not be measured by the profits he derives by embarking his capital in a business or by his usual capital equipment in earning money.[17][17] J & H Timbers Pty Ltd v Nelson (1972) 126 CLR 625 at 643. See also Hooper v Comcare [2001] AATA 548 at [36]; Comcare v Davies [2008] FCA 393; Warnock v Comcare [2008] AATA 567 at [41]; Cage Developments Pty Ltd v Schubert (1983) 151 CLR 584; Arbuckle v Comcare [2005] AATA 820 at [95].