Repatriation Commission v Williams [2001] FCA 1195 Administrative Law
Repatriation Commission v Williams [2001] FCA 1195
REPATRIATION COMMISSION v JOAN MARY WILLIAMS
N 934 OF 2001
HEEREY, EMMETT and ALLSOP JJ
29 AUGUST 2001
SYDNEY
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW - VETERANS AFFAIRS - veterans entitlements -claim by widow for pension - appeal from review of decision of Administrative Appeals Tribunal affirming decision that veteran's death not war-caused - Statements of Principle governing assessment of review - where Statement of Principle in force at time of claim later repealed - claimant entitled to rely on later Statement of Principle - Keeley and Gorton applied - on question of whether condition causing death was caused by smoking - steps that Tribunal required to take in reaching finding of causation - Tribunal erred in circumstances in requiring claimant to prove existence of facts founding hypothesis - appeal dismissed
WORDS AND PHRASES - `at least five cigarettes per day' - where fixed definite period - did not mean an average over period
ON APPEAL FROM A SINGLE JUDGE OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
BETWEEN:
REPATRIATION COMMISSION
APPELLANT
AND:
JOAN MARY WILLIAMS
RESPONDENT
JUDGES:
HEEREY, EMMETT and ALLSOP JJ
DATE OF ORDER:
29 AUGUST 2001
WHERE MADE:
SYDNEY
THE COURT ORDERS THAT:
1. The appeal be dismissed.
2. The appellant pay the respondent's costs.
Note: Settlement and entry of orders is dealt with in Order 36 of the Federal Court Rules.
IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
NEW SOUTH WALES DISTRICT REGISTRY
N 934 of 2001
ON APPEAL FROM A SINGLE JUDGE OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
BETWEEN:
REPATRIATION COMMISSION
APPELLANT
AND:
JOAN MARY WILLIAMS
RESPONDENT
JUDGES:
HEEREY, EMMETT and ALLSOP JJ
DATE:
29 AUGUST 2001
PLACE:
SYDNEY
REASONS FOR JUDGMENT
HEEREY J:
1 The appellant Repatriation Commission (the Commission) appeals from a judgment of a judge of this Court (Wilcox J) which set aside a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (the Tribunal) that had affirmed decisions of the Commission and the Veterans' Review Board (VRB) rejecting the respondent's claim for a pension under the Veterans' Entitlement Act 1986 (Cth) (the VE Act).
2 This appeal was heard at the same time as the appeal in Repatriation Commission v Gorton [2001] FCA 1194, the decision in which is delivered today. Like Gorton, the present case involved, in part, an attack by the Commission on the decision of an earlier Full Court in Repatriation Commission v Keeley (2000) 98 FCR 108. It is not necessary to repeat in these reasons what I have said in Gorton on this question.
3 The respondent Mrs Joan Williams is the widow of Colin Thomas Williams (the veteran) who died on 14 February 1999, the cause of death being coronary atherosclerosis. On 16 March 1999 Mrs Williams lodged a…
Grounds of appeal
[14] The appellant contends that the primary judge erred in finding that the respondent had discharged the onus of establishing the matters required under the relevant provision.
[15] It was submitted that his Honour failed to give adequate weight to the evidence of the second witness, and that the findings of fact were not reasonably open on the material before the Court.
[16] The respondent, for its part, submits that no error is disclosed, and that the conclusions reached were well within the range of outcomes available to the primary judge.
Consideration
[17] It is convenient to deal first with the question of construction, as the resolution of that issue informs the remaining grounds advanced by the appellant.
[18] For the reasons that follow, we are of the view that the appeal should be allowed in part and the matter remitted for further determination.
Continue reading Repatriation Commission v Williams
Sign in free to access the full text
Details
AGLC
Repatriation Commission v Williams [2001] FCA 1195
Administrative Law
Case
[2001] FCA 1195
Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
In the matter of Repatriation Commission v Williams, the Full Bench of the Federal Court of Australia was called upon to determine an appeal concerning the eligibility of a widow for a pension under the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth). The case involved a review of a decision by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) which had affirmed that the veteran's death was not attributable to war service. The widow had sought to rely on a later Statement of Principle, which was in force at the time of her claim, to argue that her husband's death was caused by a condition related to his service, specifically smoking-related lung cancer. The central legal issue was whether the claimant was entitled to rely on a Statement of Principle that was enacted after the veteran's death and if the Tribunal had correctly applied the law in assessing causation. The court had to determine whether the Tribunal erred in its process by requiring the claimant to prove the existence of facts that were foundational to the hypothesis that the veteran's smoking was attributable to his service.
The court addressed the issue by examining the legislative framework and the Tribunal's approach to causation. It considered the principles established in cases such as Keeley and Gorton, which provided guidance on the application of Statements of Principle and the burden of proof in veterans' claims. The court found that the Tribunal had erred by placing the burden on the claimant to prove the existence of facts that were necessary to establish the causal link between the veteran's smoking and his service. Instead, the court held that the Tribunal should have assessed whether the facts as presented were sufficient to support a reasonable hypothesis that the condition causing the veteran's death was caused by his service. In interpreting the phrase "at least five cigarettes per day," the court held that it did not require an average over a period but a consistent smoking habit during the relevant time.
Consequently, the Full Bench of the Court held that the Tribunal's approach was flawed and that the claimant should not have been required to prove the existence of facts that formed the basis of the hypothesis. However, despite this error, the court determined that it did not impact the overall outcome of the case, as the evidence did not support the hypothesis that the veteran's smoking was attributable to his service. Therefore, the appeal was dismissed, and the decision of the AAT was affirmed. The court did not alter the outcome but clarified the procedural requirements for future cases concerning veterans' entitlements and the application of Statements of Principle.