Prowse and Comcare (Compensation) [2019] AATA 411 (14 March 2019)
Division:GENERAL DIVISION
File Number(s): 2016/6093
Re:Kim Prowse
APPLICANT
AndComcare
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:Member Mark Hyman
Date:14 March 2019
Place:Canberra
The decision under review is set aside and in substitution the tribunal decides that:
(a)Ms Prowse has an injury under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (SRC Act) and is entitled to compensation; and
(b)the matter is remitted to Comcare to determine the compensation that is to be paid to Ms Prowse.
........................................................................
Member Mark Hyman
Catchwords
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION – denial of liability – psychological condition – diagnosis – whether contributed to, to a significant degree, by employment – whether one or more causal events were administrative action – whether causal administrative action was reasonable – whether taken in a reasonable manner – whether in the absence of the administrative action the condition would have arisen – date of injury – decision set aside
Legislation
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975, ss 35, 37
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, ss 4, 5A, 5B, 7, 14, 16, 19, 71
Cases
Bailey v Broadsword Marine Contractors [2017] FCAFC 219
Comcare v Drinkwater [2018] FCAFC 62
Comcare v Martin (2016) 258 CLR 467; [2016] HCA 43
Comcare v Martinez (No 2) [2013] FCA 439
Comcare v Mooi [1996] FCA 1587
Comcare v Power [2015] FCA 1502
Commonwealth Bank v Reeve [2012] FCAFC 21
Dean v Australian Postal Corporation [2010] FCA 680
Drenth v Comcare [2012] FCAFC 86
Georges and Telstra Corporation [2009] AATA 731
Hart v Comcare [2005] FCAFC 16
Kennedy Cleaning Services Pty Ltd v Petkoska (2000) 200 CLR 286
Lim v Comcare (2017) 344 ALR 499; [2017] FCAFC
Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission v May [2016] HCA 19; (2016) 257 CLR 468
Prain v Comcare [2017] FCAFC 143
State Transit Authority of NSW v Chemla [2007] NSWCA 249
Stewart and Comcare [2018] AATA 3685
Von Stieglitz and Comcare [2010] AATA 263
Wiegand v Comcare [2002] FCA 1464
Zickar v MGH Plastic Industries Pty Ltd (1996) 187 CLR 310
REASONS FOR DECISION
Mark Hyman, Member
14 March 2019
This decision is about whether the applicant, Ms Kim Prowse, is entitled to workers’ compensation. Ms Prowse was engaged in the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet in the delivery of programs aimed at Australia’s Indigenous communities. She developed a psychiatric condition and lodged a claim for compensation with Comcare, the respondent. This claim was denied on application, and a second time on internal review, in a reconsideration determination. On 11 November 2016 Ms Prowse applied to this tribunal for review of Comcare’s decision.
The tribunal held a hearing over four days. The matter was heard first on 5 and 6 November 2018 but Ms Prowse was too unwell on the third day to continue; the hearing was vacated and resumed for two further days on 21 and 22 January 2019. Ms Prowse appeared in person and gave evidence. She was represented by Mr Karl…
Continue reading Prowse and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Prowse and Comcare (Compensation) [2019] AATA 411
- Case
- [2019] AATA 411
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The legal issues before the court were whether Ms Prowse suffered from an ailment under the *Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988* (Cth) (SRC Act), and if so, whether her employment was a significant contributing factor. Crucially, the court had to determine if the condition was caused by administrative action taken by her employer, and if that action was reasonable and taken in a reasonable manner. The court also needed to consider whether, in the absence of such administrative action, the condition would have arisen, and to establish the correct date of injury.
The court considered extensive medical evidence from various psychiatrists and a general practitioner, noting Ms Prowse's pre-existing psychological vulnerabilities and distressing personal events. Comcare argued that the primary causative events were administrative actions, specifically a direction regarding her working hours on 29 January 2015, and that these actions were reasonable and taken in a reasonable manner. The court acknowledged inconsistencies in Ms Prowse's evidence regarding flexible work arrangements and performance appraisals, but ultimately found that the administrative action taken on 29 January 2015 was the cause of the injury, and that this action was reasonable and taken in a reasonable manner. The court concluded that without these events, the injury would not have occurred, thus satisfying the "Martin test" for causation and triggering the exclusion under s 5A(1) of the SRC Act.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Full text does not contain this section.
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Ms Callan put the case for Comcare along the following lines:·the psychiatric condition suffered by Ms Prowse is an ailment under the SRC Act;·the major causative events were those of 29 January 2015, in particular the direction that she was to start work at 9am;·it is not contested that the psychiatric condition was contributed to, to a significant degree, by Ms Prowse’s employment at PM&C, and the nexus with her employment, required under the SRC Act, is therefore established; ·but the condition is excluded under subsection 5A(1) of the SRC Act because it was caused by reasonable administrative action, taken in a reasonable manner;·the direction to come in at 9am related to Ms Prowse’s working hours and was therefore administrative action aimed at her employment;·it was reasonable of Ms Koch to make that direction given the difficulties with Ms Prowse’s attendance and wider problems of her performance;·in all the circumstances, the action was taken in a reasonable manner, given that the direction to come to work at 9am was preceded by a warning, and accompanied by a request for further medical evidence and by an acknowledgement that if such evidence was provided flexible work arrangements could be reconsidered; ·the evidence of the psychiatrists should not be relied on for the Martin test; the experts’ guidance on diagnosis can be relied on but for causation the tribunal is better positioned to reach its own conclusions, based on the oral evidence and the clinical notes of Dr Kraus, which suggest that the condition did not arise until after 29 January 2015 and was caused by the events of that day: without those events the injury would not have occurred; and ·that understanding of causation would meet the Martin test, and the reasonable administrative action exclusion would apply.CONSIDERATIONThe evidence, its quality and relevance Ms Callan emphasised inconsistencies in Ms Prowse’s evidence and between her evidence and some of the documentary material before the tribunal. It is indisputable that such inconsistencies exist. It was clear, for example, that Ms Prowse was at the very least imprecise when she referred to the flexible work arrangements. Thus her email to Ms Hefren-Webb seeking her assistance[44], dated 28 July 2015, describes the arrangement as requiring her to arrive at work by 10am and to leave as late as 6pm. In oral evidence she suggested the arrangement was that she could start as late as 10.30am and that the beginning and end was governed by the 7am to 7pm working day at PM&C; and at other times she said that the start and finish times were not specified and were left to her discretion, provided she was able to complete all her work. Another example is with regard to a performance appraisal that Ms Koch conducted for Ms Prowse in December 2014, covering July-December of that year. The rating arrived at was “consistently achieves”, awarded both for “key deliverables” and for “behaviours”. Ms Prowse described this outcome as “glowing” on more than one occasion, but that must be an exaggeration, given that there are only four rating points (“unsatisfactory”, “mostly achieves”, “consistently achieves” and “consistently exceeds”). Again, Ms Prowse’s account of being “seconded” to the IAS grant applications, and of her previous projects being “backfilled” has, as Ms Callan suggested “an air of unreality” about it; in an office environment, with emails continuing to arrive, and with only a limited number of personnel, it is hard to believe that Ms Prowse could have been so deceived about what was happening to her projects.[44] T3, folio 98.