Pasqua v Morelli Constructions Pty Ltd

Case [2009] NSWWCCPD 153


WORKERS COMPENSATION COMMISSION
DETERMINATION OF APPEAL AGAINST A DECISION OF THE COMMISSION CONSTITUTED BY AN ARBITRATOR
CITATION: Pasqua v Morelli Constructions Pty Ltd [2009] NSWWCCPD 153
APPELLANT: Rocco Pasqua
RESPONDENT: Morelli Constructions Pty Ltd
INSURER: GIO General Limited
FILE NUMBER: A1-3756/09
ARBITRATOR: Mr J Wynyard
DATE OF ARBITRATOR’S DECISION: 7 August 2009
DATE OF APPEAL DECISION: 02 December 2009
SUBJECT MATTER OF DECISION: Deemed worker; Schedule 1 clause 2 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998
PRESIDENTIAL MEMBER: Deputy President Bill Roche
HEARING: On the papers
REPRESENTATION: Appellant: AM Legal
Respondent: TurksLegal
ORDERS MADE ON APPEAL:

The Arbitrator’s determination of 7 August 2009 is revoked and it is determined that, as at 1 September 2008, the applicant was a deemed worker under Schedule 1 clause 2 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998. The matter is remitted to a different Arbitrator for re-determination of all outstanding issues.

The respondent employer is to pay the appellant worker’s costs of the appeal.

BACKGROUND

  1. The appellant, Mr Pasqua, started work as an apprentice carpenter with the respondent, Morelli Constructions Pty Ltd (‘Morelli’) in about 1999.  He injured his back in the course of his employment with Morelli on or about 9 September 2005.  His claim for compensation was accepted and he returned to work on light duties after an absence of about four to five months.  He suffered a further exacerbation of his back condition and was again off work for a couple of months.  Ultimately, he returned to his full duties as a carpenter.

  1. Mr Pasqua stopped work for Morelli in mid 2007 and started working independently as a carpenter.  As his work was “a little slow”, he contacted Morelli in June 2008 and asked if they could offer him any work.  He then worked for Morelli on a contract basis from 10 June until 1 September 2008 when he again injured his back.  His claim for compensation was disputed on the ground that he was not a worker or a deemed worker under the provisions of the legislation.

  1. In an Application to Resolve a Dispute (‘the Application’) registered in the Commission on 15 May 2009, and as amended at the arbitration hearing, Mr Pasqua alleged that he injured his back and legs, and sustained psychological sequelae as a result of injuries on or about 9 September 2005 and on about 1 September 2008 (T3.52-57).  He claimed weekly compensation in the sum of $1,760.00 from 2 September 2008 to date and continuing together with hospital and medical expenses. 

  1. The insurer’s section 74 notice disputed that Mr Pasqua was a worker or a deemed worker at the time of his injury on 1 September 2008.  The Reply filed on behalf of the respondent on 5 June 2009 sought to dispute an additional 20 issues, including injury.  At the arbitration counsel for Morelli amended the Reply to delete paragraphs 6 to 10 and 17 to 21 inclusive (T10.20).  The Arbitrator deferred ruling on whether he would give Morelli…

Continue reading Pasqua v Morelli Constructions Pty Ltd

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Pasqua v Morelli Constructions Pty Ltd [2009] NSWWCCPD 153
Case
[2009] NSWWCCPD 153
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

Pasqua brought proceedings against Morelli Constructions Pty Ltd in the Industrial Relations Commission of New South Wales, asserting that he was a deemed worker as defined under Schedule 1 clause 2 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998. The dispute arose from a determination by an Arbitrator that Pasqua was not a deemed worker as of 1 September 2008, a finding that had implications for his entitlement to workers' compensation benefits. The court was required to determine whether the Arbitrator's finding was correct and, if not, to rectify the matter by determining Pasqua’s status as a deemed worker.

The central legal issue before the court was whether Pasqua satisfied the criteria to be classified as a deemed worker under the specified clause of the Act. This involved interpreting the statutory language and applying it to the factual circumstances of Pasqua's employment. Specifically, the court had to consider whether Pasqua's employment relationship met the conditions outlined in Schedule 1 clause 2, which includes factors such as the nature of the employment, the level of control exerted by the employer, and the terms of the employment agreement.

The court found that the Arbitrator had erred in concluding that Pasqua was not a deemed worker. In reaching its decision, the court emphasised the importance of a comprehensive assessment of the employment relationship, including the nature and extent of control exercised by Morelli Constructions over Pasqua's work. The court held that Pasqua’s engagement aligned with the criteria for being a deemed worker, leading to the conclusion that the Arbitrator’s determination was incorrect. Consequently, the court revoked the Arbitrator's decision and determined that Pasqua was indeed a deemed worker as of 1 September 2008. The matter was remitted to a different Arbitrator for re-determination of all outstanding issues related to Pasqua's entitlement to workers' compensation benefits.

Orders

Orders of the court

The Arbitrator’s determination of 7 August 2009 is revoked and it is determined that, as at 1 September 2008, the applicant was a deemed worker under Schedule 1 clause 2 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998. The matter is remitted to a different Arbitrator for re-determination of all outstanding issues.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.