McNicol and Comcare

Case [2003] AATA 559


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2003] AATA 559

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)           No A2002/237

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE  DIVISION )
Re BEATRICE MCNICOL

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Mr M J Sassella, Senior Member
Dr M D Miller AO, Member

Date16 June 2003

PlaceCanberra

Decision The tribunal affirms the decision under review.  The applicant qualifies for no costs associated with this application.

..............................................

Senior Member

CATCHWORDS

WORKERS' COMPENSATION – Death of employee – claim by spouse – spouse as dependant – employee died from myocardial infarction – whether death caused by compensable injury

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss 4(1) (“dependant”, “dependent”, “disease”, “injury”, “spouse”), 17(1), (2), (3), (4), (7), (9),

Casarotto v Australian Postal Commission (1989) 86 ALR 399

Lott and Comcare, Re (1996) 44 ALD 741

Nadge and Australian Postal Corporation, Re (1994) 33 ALD 710

Zickar v MGH Plastic Industries Pty Ltd (1996) 187 CLR 310

REASONS FOR DECISION

16 June 2003 Mr M J Sassella, Senior Member
Dr M D Miller AO, Member            

APPLICATION

1. This is an application by Beatrice McNicol (“the applicant”) for review by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (“the tribunal”) of a decision of a delegate in Comcare (“the respondent”) (T81) made on 29 June 2001. The decision was affirmed on 20 November 2001 by an independent review officer (T86) who rejected the applicant’s claim for a death benefit under s 17 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (“the Act”)[1].  The applicant’s husband, John McNicol (“the employee”), had died on a date between 25 and 28 May 2000 (T64), arguably as a result of a work-related injury.

[1] tribunal convened a hearing in this matter in Canberra on 24 February 2003.  Mr H Selby of counsel represented the applicant.  Ms L Walker of counsel represented the respondent.

3.       The tribunal heard oral evidence from Dr N G Ardlie, a physician, and from Professor M F O’Rourke, Professor of Medicine at the University of New South Wales, Head of the Vascular-Ventricular Interactions Program, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute at that university and a visiting medical officer in the Department of Cardiovascular Medicine and Hypertension at Sydney’s St Vincent’s Clinic.

4.       The tribunal had access to the following documents which were admitted as exhibits:

Exhibit TD1 – Section 37 Statement and associated documents (exhibits T1 – T88) provided by the respondent.

Exhibit A1 – Applicant’s statement of facts and contentions, 7 August 2002.

Exhibit A2 – Report by Dr Ardlie dated 13 June2002.

Exhibit A3 – Report by Dr D M Coles, a cardiologist, dated 13 September 1991.

Exhibit A4 – Report by Dr Coles dated 6 October 1998.

Exhibit R1 – Respondent’s statement of facts and contentions, 16 May 2002.

Exhibit R2 – Report by Professor O’Rourke dated 22 April 2002.

Exhibit R3 – Report by Professor O’Rourke dated 26 August 2002.

LAW

5. At the date of death of Mr McNicol Comcare was liable to pay compensation to him under s 14 of the Act,…

Continue reading McNicol and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
McNicol and Comcare [2003] AATA 559
Case
[2003] AATA 559
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

McNicol and Comcare involved a claim by the widow of a deceased employee, seeking compensation for her late husband's death. The dispute centred on whether the employee's death from a myocardial infarction was caused by a compensable injury, as defined under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988. The tribunal had to decide if the widow qualified as a dependant for the purposes of the Act, given her status as the employee's spouse at the time of his death. The case was heard in the Administrative Appeals Tribunal of Australia.

The central legal issues in the case revolved around the interpretation of the term "dependant" under the Act and whether the widow's relationship with the deceased at the time of his death qualified her to claim compensation. The tribunal had to determine if the myocardial infarction was caused by a compensable injury and whether the death was a result of that injury. Precedent cases such as Casarotto v Australian Postal Commission, Lott and Comcare, Re, and Nadge and Australian Postal Corporation, Re provided guidance on the interpretation of the Act's provisions. The tribunal also considered the broader context of workers' compensation law, including the decision in Zickar v MGH Plastic Industries Pty Ltd.

In its reasoning, the tribunal examined the specific provisions of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 and applied the relevant case law to the facts of the case. The tribunal concluded that the myocardial infarction was indeed a compensable injury and that the deceased's death was a direct result of that injury. Given that the widow was the deceased's spouse at the time of his death, she qualified as a dependant under the Act. The tribunal affirmed the decision under review, finding that the widow was entitled to compensation for her late husband's death. The tribunal further ruled that no costs were associated with this application.

The tribunal's decision was upheld, and the applicant was granted no costs associated with the application. This ruling clarifies the criteria for determining dependant status under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 and reinforces the importance of establishing a causal link between a compensable injury and the deceased's death in workers' compensation claims.

Orders

Orders of the court

The tribunal affirms the decision under review. The applicant qualifies for no costs associated with this application.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.