McLean v Repatriation Commission

Case [2001] FCA 1505


FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

McLean v Repatriation Commission [2001] FCA 1505

VETERANS’ AFFAIRS - claim by widow of veteran for pension on grounds that death of husband was war-caused – whether reasonable hypothesis connecting the veteran’s injury with war service – application of Statements of Principles – reasonableness of hypothesis.  

Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) ss 14, 120, 120A

Byrnes v Repatriation Commission (1993) 177 CLR 564, applied
Repatriation Commission v Bey (1997) 79 FCR 364, applied
Repatriation Commission v Deledio (1998) 83 FCR 82, applied
Bushell v Repatriation Commission (1992) 175 CLR 408, applied

JOYCE LEONIE McLEAN v REPATRIATION COMMISSION

N 357 of 2001

WHITLAM, MADGWICK & DOWSETT JJ
26 OCTOBER 2001
SYDNEY

IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

NEW SOUTH WALES DISTRICT REGISTRY

N 357 OF 2001

ON APPEAL FROM A JUDGE OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

BETWEEN:

JOYCE LEONIE McLEAN
APPELLANT

AND:

REPATRIATION COMMISSION
RESPONDENT

JUDGES:

WHITLAM, MADGWICK & DOWSETT JJ

DATE OF ORDER:

26 OCTOBER 2001

WHERE MADE:

SYDNEY

THE COURT ORDERS THAT:

1.        The appeal be dismissed with costs.

Note:   Settlement and entry of orders is dealt with in Order 36 of the Federal Court Rules.

IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

NEW SOUTH WALES DISTRICT REGISTRY

N 357 OF 2001

ON APPEAL FROM A JUDGE OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

BETWEEN:

JOYCE LEONIE McLEAN
APPELLANT

AND:

REPATRIATION COMMISSION
RESPONDENT

JUDGES:

WHITLAM, MADGWICK & DOWSETT JJ

DATE:

26 OCTOBER 2001

PLACE:

SYDNEY

REASONS FOR JUDGMENT

THE COURT:

HISTORY

  1. On 13 June 1995 the present appellant lodged a claim for a pension pursuant to s 14 of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) (the “Act”), the basis of her claim being the death of her husband (the “veteran”) on 24 August 1953. This claim was rejected and such rejection advised to the appellant by letter dated 4 July 1995. That decision was subsequently affirmed by the Veterans’ Review Board on 6 March 1996. On 17 October 1997, the Administrative Appeals Tribunal set aside the decision and determined that the appellant was entitled to a pension. This decision was the subject of a successful application for review in the Federal Court (Davies J), judgment being given on 17 April 1998. The matter was remitted to the Tribunal for further hearing. On 22 June 2000 the Tribunal affirmed the decision of the Commission dated 4 July 1995 and the subsequent decision of the Veterans’ Review Board dated 6 March 1996. Tamberlin J dismissed the appellant’s application for review, and she now appeals to the Full Court.

    THE LEGISLATION

  2. Relevant provisions of the Act are as follows.

  3. Subsection 14(1) provides:

    “Subject to subsection (2), a veteran, or a dependant of a deceased veteran, may make a claim for a pension in accordance with subsection (3).”

  4. Section 120 provides:

    “(1)Where a claim under Part II for a pension in respect of … the death of a veteran, relates to the operational service rendered by the veteran, the Commission shall determine … that the…

Continue reading McLean v Repatriation Commission

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
McLean v Repatriation Commission [2001] FCA 1505
Case
[2001] FCA 1505
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The case of McLean v Repatriation Commission involved a dispute concerning the compensation claims of a veteran, who argued that his death was due to his reduced mobility caused by his operational service. The Tribunal, however, rejected the veteran's claim, finding that there was no evidence linking his mobility issues to his service or to his death. The veteran appealed the Tribunal's decision, arguing that the Tribunal had erred in its findings. The primary issue before the court was whether the Tribunal correctly determined that the veteran's lack of mobility was not a contributing factor to his death and if the Tribunal's reasons for this conclusion were adequate.

The court examined the evidence presented and the Tribunal's reasoning, concluding that the Tribunal had considered all relevant factors, including the veteran's actions and awareness at the time of the incident. The court found that the Tribunal's conclusion that there was no evidence pointing to the veteran's mobility as a relevant factor was clearly open to them based on the evidence presented. The court held that the Tribunal's decision was justified and that there was no error in their reasoning. The court dismissed the appeal, confirming that the Tribunal's findings were supported by the evidence and that there was no basis for overturning their decision.

The court ordered that the appeal be dismissed with costs, affirming the Tribunal's decision and the validity of their reasons. The court found that the Tribunal had correctly determined that the veteran's claim was unreasonable based on the lack of evidence linking his reduced mobility to his service or to his death. This decision highlights the importance of the burden of proof in such cases, where the veteran must demonstrate a clear connection between their service and their condition or death. The court's dismissal of the appeal and imposition of costs underscores the strength of the Tribunal's findings and the lack of merit in the veteran's appeal.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The appeal be dismissed with costs.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

In considering whether the material points to the veteran’s having failed to find a safe place because of reduced mobility, one must consider many factors. Much would depend upon what was known of the veteran’s incapacity and of his actions at the relevant time, particularly the evasive action actually taken by him and the extent by which he failed to attain a position of safety. The possibility of an error of judgment, perhaps because he was not aware of the falling rock, might also be relevant. The Tribunal appears to have considered all relevant matters and to have concluded that there was “no evidence pointing to (the veteran’s) mobility or otherwise being a relevant factor”. This view was clearly open. CONCLUSION Thus the Tribunal demonstrated that there was no material pointing to any lack of mobility being attributable to the veteran’s operational service nor to such a lack having contributed to causing his death. These matters clearly led to and justified the factual finding that the hypothesis was unreasonable. No error has been shown in the Tribunal’s reasons. The appeal should be dismissed with costs.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.