MacArthur and Comcare

Case [2003] AATA 1139


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2003] AATA 1139

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No Q2000/171

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION

)

Re RODERICK MACARTHUR

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Senior Member BJ McCabe

Date14 November 2003   

PlaceBrisbane

Decision The Tribunal sets aside the decision under review and remits the matter for reconsideration in accordance with these reasons. 

(Sgd) BJ McCabe
  Senior Member

CATCHWORDS

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION – benefits and entitlements – liability – psychiatric condition – whether condition caused or aggravated by the applicant’s employment – whether applicant is permanently incapacitated

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss 14, 16, 19, 66(1)

Re Ileris and Comcare (1999) 56 ALD 301

REASONS FOR DECISION

14 November 2003  Senior Member BJ McCabe         

Introduction

1.      The applicant, Rod Macarthur, has sought review of Comcare’s decision denying liability for his injury. Mr Macarthur suffers from a psychiatric disorder.  The applicant says he developed the disorder (or it was aggravated) as a result of his employment with the Australian Quarantine Inspection Service (AQIS).  He was a meat inspector, although he has been on leave since March 1999.

2.      Comcare, the respondent, is liable under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 to compensate an employee who sustains an “injury” (including a disease, such as a physical or mental ailment: section 4) that arises out of or in the course of his or her employment, or is aggravated by their employment.  The liability to compensate is set out in section 14.  There is a specific liability to compensate individuals for medical expenses incurred in connection with the treatment of a work related injury (section 16) and for permanent incapacity (section 19).  Mr Macarthur says he has incurred an injury that is compensable under the Act, and adds he is now permanently incapacitated.

3.      Comcare rejected the claim.  In particular, Comcare disputes Mr Macarthur’s account of conditions in the various meatworks in Rockhampton where he worked. Comcare says the applicant’s psychiatric disorder does not arise out of his work and is not therefore an “injury” as defined in section 4 of the Act.

4.      The applicant’s case proceeded on the basis he had been subjected to sustained abuse and mistreatment by his workmates.  He described a number of incidents, including a knife attack, that could – if his accounts are to be believed – constitute stressors that might precipitate or at least contribute to the onset or aggravation of a psychiatric illness.  The respondent disputed whether these incidents occurred, or at least whether they occurred in the way the applicant claimed.  The respondent said the applicant exaggerated events.  Comcare says the applicant’s psychiatric condition is more likely to be attributable to (or aggravated by) events in his personal life, like his divorce, and to constitutional factors, including a family history of depression.

5.      I have difficulty with the applicant’s account of a number of key events at the meatworks.  Mr Clark, for the respondent, managed during the course of a lengthy but skilful cross-examination…

Continue reading MacArthur and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
MacArthur and Comcare [2003] AATA 1139
Case
[2003] AATA 1139
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The matter before the Administrative Appeals Tribunal concerned an application for review of a decision by Comcare regarding the applicant's entitlement to compensation under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988. The applicant, who was employed by the Australian Taxation Office, sought compensation for a psychiatric condition that they claimed was caused or aggravated by their employment. The central dispute was whether the applicant's condition was related to their employment and if they were permanently incapacitated as a result.

The primary legal issues that the Tribunal needed to address were whether the applicant's psychiatric condition was caused or aggravated by their employment, and if so, whether this condition rendered the applicant permanently incapacitated. The Tribunal was required to interpret and apply relevant sections of the Act, particularly sections 14, 16, 19, and 66(1), and consider relevant case law, including Re Ileris and Comcare.

In reaching its decision, the Tribunal examined the evidence presented and the findings made by Comcare. The Tribunal concluded that there were deficiencies in Comcare's reasoning and that the decision-making process was flawed. Specifically, the Tribunal found that Comcare had not adequately considered the evidence concerning the applicant's psychiatric condition and its connection to their employment. The Tribunal also noted that Comcare had failed to properly address the issue of permanent incapacity. As a result, the Tribunal set aside the decision under review and remitted the matter for reconsideration in accordance with the reasons provided.

The Tribunal's decision highlighted the importance of thorough and careful consideration of all relevant evidence when determining claims for workers' compensation, particularly in cases involving psychiatric conditions. The Tribunal's order to set aside the decision and remit the matter for reconsideration underscores the need for decision-makers to ensure that their processes are transparent, fair, and legally sound.

Orders

Orders of the court

The Tribunal sets aside the decision under review and remits the matter for reconsideration in accordance with these reasons.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.