Hewitt and Comcare (Compensation) [2023] AATA 991 (2 May 2023)
Division:GENERAL DIVISION
File Number: 2020/0535
Re:Tara Hewitt
APPLICANT
AndComcare
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:R Cameron, Senior Member
Date:2 May 2023
Place:Melbourne
The Tribunal affirms the reviewable decision.
.............................[sgd]...........................................
R Cameron, Senior Member
Catchwords
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION – review of decision denying liability for medical expenses under section 16 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 – injury to lower back – L4/5 disc replacement – left lumbar pain – full patient history not furnished to some medical experts – multilevel degenerative change of lumbar spine – disc aggravation occurred due to coughing incident in 2005 – long history of musculoskeletal complaints – alternative condition of hypermobility – Tribunal satisfied that L4/5 disc protrusion or aggravation was an injury – Tribunal not satisfied that injuries occurred in the course of applicant’s employment – allegations of failed disc replacement surgery or failed back surgery syndrome not established – chronic pain not contributed to a significant degree by applicant’s employment – decision affirmed
Legislation
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act1988 (Cth)
Cases
Cash and Australian Postal Corporation [2021] AATA 3323
Comcare v Lofts [2013] FCA 1197
Comcare v PVYW (2013) 250 CLR 246
Dring v Telstra Corporation Ltd (2021) 172 ALD 305
Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission v May (2016) 257 CLR 468
Portors and Comcare (Compensation) [2017] AATA 2166
Portors v Comcare [2018] FCA 914
Telstra v Hannaford [2006] FCAFC 87
REASONS FOR DECISION
R Cameron, Senior Member
2 May 2023
INTRODUCTION
The applicant seeks a review of a decision made by the respondent on 6 January 2020 (“the reviewable decision”).[1] The reviewable decision was a reconsideration of a determination made on 17 April 2019 which found that the respondent had no present liability to the applicant for medical expenses under s 16 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act1988 (Cth) (“the SRC Act”).[2]
[1] The reviewable decision is document 7 in the Tribunal Book.
[2] The decision of 17 April 2019 is document 5 in the Tribunal book. It should also be noted that in relation to the applicant's claim for a secondary condition of chronic pain syndrome, the respondent determined that because the compensable condition was no longer work related, consideration could not be given to any secondary condition that may have resulted from non-compensable circumstances or from a non-compensable condition.
THE EVIDENCE BEFORE THE TRIBUNAL
There was both oral and documentary evidence before the Tribunal during the hearing of this application.
The following witnesses gave oral evidence:
(a)the applicant;
(b)Dr David Gorman, a Consultant General Physician, Pain Management Physician and Medical Oncologist;
(c)Dr Simon Journeaux, a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon; and
(d)Dr Loretta Reiter, a Consultant Rheumatologist.
The documentary evidence consisted of two volumes of a Tribunal book together with the T documents and the supplementary T documents.[3]
[3] The Tribunal book consisted of approximately 2708 pages.
Additionally, both parties lodged and served written submissions after the conclusion of the evidence.
BACKGROUND
The 2018 claim
Continue reading Hewitt and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Hewitt and Comcare (Compensation) [2023] AATA 991
- Case
- [2023] AATA 991
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The central legal issues before the Tribunal were whether the applicant's current condition constituted an "injury" as defined by the Act, and if so, whether that injury occurred in the course of her employment. Specifically, the Tribunal had to determine if the L4/5 disc protrusion or aggravation was an injury, and if the applicant's chronic pain was significantly contributed to by her employment. The Tribunal also considered allegations of failed disc replacement surgery or "Failed Back Surgery Syndrome" as potential causes of the applicant's ongoing pain.
The Tribunal found that the applicant did suffer an injury, specifically an L4/5 disc protrusion or aggravation, which occurred due to a coughing incident on 19 July 2005. This conclusion was based on the applicant's own statements in her workers' compensation claim and evidence, as well as a workplace incident report. The Tribunal noted a significant difference in the severity of her pain before and after this incident. However, the Tribunal was not satisfied that this injury, or the subsequent chronic pain, occurred in the course of the applicant's employment. The Tribunal also concluded that the allegations of failed disc replacement surgery or Failed Back Surgery Syndrome were not established by the evidence, preferring the opinions of medical experts who noted a pre-existing degenerative condition of the lumbar spine and found that the patient history provided to some experts was incomplete.
Ultimately, the Tribunal affirmed Comcare's decision, finding no present liability for medical expenses under section 16 of the SRC Act. The Tribunal was not satisfied that the applicant's chronic pain was contributed to a significant degree by her employment, nor were the claims of failed surgery substantiated.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
In cross-examination of the other doctors who gave evidence, the applicant suggested that cluneal nerve irritation was a possible cause of the pain she experienced. For various reasons those doctors rejected such a suggestion. The Tribunal has explained why it prefers the evidence of Dr Journeaux and Dr Reiter. Similarly, for those reasons it does not accept this contention.CONSIDERATION The Tribunal considers that on the preponderance of the evidence before it the L4/L5 disc protrusion, or as it was referred to from time to time during the hearing of the application, the “disc aggravation” suffered by the applicant occurred because of the bout of coughing she experienced on 19 July 2005. There are several reasons why the Tribunal reaches this conclusion. There are the contents of the Claim for Workers’ Compensation in which the applicant herself, when asked what action, exposure or event happened to cause her injury or illness responded with the words, “I coughed”. The applicant when in the witness box gave evidence to a similar effect. She stated that she coughed and her back seized up completely. It appears the coughing without any doubt caused her back to seize up as she said. Prior to that occasion, whilst she may well have experienced some back discomfort it does not appear that the disc protrusion or the disc aggravation, however it may be described, had manifested itself in the way it did after the 19 July 2005 coughing episode. A similar consistent version of events with respect to the cough causing her lower back to seize upon 19 July 2005 was also attached to the Workplace Incident Report Form that was in evidence before the Tribunal.[67][67] The Workplace Incident Report Form is document 1 of the Tribunal book. In her own evidence during cross-examination, the applicant readily conceded that after her back really seized up on 19 July 2005 there was a major difference to what had been happening with her back previously. She even went so far as to say it was, “the increased massive spasm, I suppose you would call it, where you’re 10 out of 10 on the pain scale, versus 4 or 5 on the pain scale, which I probably was up until that point.”[68][68] Transcript page 50, lines 26-28. The applicant also relied upon the evidence of Dr Gorman both contained in his report and from the witness box, a summary of which has been outlined above. He readily conceded that the pain generator that the applicant experienced could not with certainty be diagnosed. However, he consistently maintained that wherever the pain generator or source of the pain was, it was aggravated by the change in mechanics and the change in physiology of the applicant’s lumbar spine occasioned by the disc replacement surgery. To his credit he readily conceded that not all of the effects of the surgery would cause the incident pain that the applicant experienced. Dr Gorman also conceded quite readily on several occasions that an assessment of the causes of pain experienced by the applicant was speculative. He also explained that by reason of the very nature of the surgery where nerves were cut to gain access to the discs to be replaced, there were many reasons why the pain might have changed following such surgery. Ultimately, therefore he concluded that the applicant’s symptoms were post-disc replacement.