Fiddian and Comcare (Compensation) [2019] AATA 10 (8 January 2019)
Division: GENERAL DIVISION
File Number(s): 2016/7004
2018/1552
Re:Gemma Fiddian
APPLICANT
AndComcare
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:Senior Member Linda Kirk
Date:8 January 2019
Place:Canberra
The Tribunal sets aside the first Reviewable Decision dated 18 November 2016 and, in substitution, decides that the Respondent is liable to pay compensation between the date of the indexed injury up until 2 May 2017.
The Tribunal sets aside the second Reviewable Decision dated 23 February 2018 and, in substitution, decides that the Applicant is entitled to incapacity payments for the period 7 November 2016 to 16 December 2016.
..................................................................
Senior Member Linda KirkCatchwords
WORKER’S COMPENSATION – ailment or aggravation of ailment – adjustment disorder with anxiety and depressed mood – whether the Applicant’s employment contributed to her ailment to a significant degree – scope of wilful and false representation that an applicant did not previously suffer from a disease – whether nexus between representation and disease the subject of the claim can be established – whether previous representations wilful or false – whether the Applicant’s employment contributed to a significant degree to her ongoing ailment – contribution to ailment from rehabilitation process found to be related to the Applicant’s employment – decisions set aside.
Legislation
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) ss 4, 5A, 5B, 7(7), 14 16, 19
Cases
Anderson and Australian Postal Corporation [2016] AATA 228
Comcare Australia v Porter (1996) 70 FCR 139
Comcare v Power [2015] FCA 1502
Dalton and Comcare [2018] AATA 2923
Federal Broom Company v Semlitch [1964] HCA 34
FWZW and Comcare 2016/4826 (unreported)
Griffiths and Australian Postal Corporation [2017] AATA 1025
Griffiths v Australian Postal Corporation [2018] FCA 520
Havnen and Comcare [2010] AATA 535
Hennessey-Milne and Comcare [2018] AATA 4453
JXTZ and Comcare [2017] AATA 880
Kennedy and Comcare [2015] AATA 334
K & S Freighters Pty Ltd v McQueen-Thomas [2018] FCA 1518
National Australia Bank Ltd v Georgoulas [2013] FCA 1412
Pettiford v Comcare [2014] AATA 95
Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations v Comcare [2008] FCA 52Wiegand v Comcare Australia [2002] FCA 1464
REASONS FOR DECISION
Senior Member Linda Kirk
8 January 2019
DECISIONS UNDER REVIEW
Application 2016/7004
Ms Gemma Fiddian (‘the Applicant’) was born in 1985 and commenced employment as a teacher with the ACT Education and Training Directorate in January 2010. On 23 January 2013 the Applicant commenced work as a classroom teacher at the Woden School teaching Year 7/8 classes on a full time basis. The School specialises in the teaching of students with autism spectrum disorder from Year 7 to Year 12.
On 5 May 2014 the Applicant lodged a workers’ compensation claim in respect of ‘situational stress’[1] arising from an incident that occurred at the Woden School on 2 April 2014 (‘the April 2014 incident’).
[1] T3.
On 8 July 2014, by way of Determination, the Respondent accepted liability under s 14 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (‘the…
Continue reading Fiddian and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Fiddian and Comcare (Compensation) [2019] AATA 10
- Case
- [2019] AATA 10
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The court was required to determine several legal issues. These included whether the Applicant suffered an 'ailment' or an 'aggravation' of an ailment for the purposes of the *Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988* (SRC Act). Crucially, the court had to ascertain whether the Applicant's employment contributed to a significant degree to her ailment, thereby qualifying it as a 'disease' under s 5B(1) of the SRC Act. Further questions involved whether the ailment was excluded from being an 'injury' under s 5A(1)(a) by reason of s 7(7) of the SRC Act, and whether the Applicant continued to suffer from a disease or aggravation thereof that was significantly contributed to by her employment, leading to a need for medical treatment and incapacity for work.
The Tribunal found that the Applicant suffered from 'adjustment disorder with anxiety and depressed mood', with severe panic attacks being a feature of this condition. It accepted that the April 2014 incident, which involved witnessing a violent assault on a student, was a significant stressor. The Tribunal also acknowledged that the rehabilitation process itself acted as a stressor, reminding the Applicant of the workplace event. The Tribunal set aside the previous decisions of Comcare and found that Comcare was liable to pay compensation from the date of the indexed injury until 2 May 2017, and that the Applicant was entitled to incapacity payments for the period of 7 November 2016 to 16 December 2016.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Dr Oelrichs expressed the view that the specific stressor in the Applicant’s circumstances was the April 2014 incident. She also agreed that the rehabilitation process itself was a stressor for the Applicant as it reminded her of the workplace event.CONSIDERATION AND REASONS(1) What is the ailment suffered by the Applicant? The Respondent contended that all three medical specialists opined that the Applicant suffers from an aggravation of a disease. However they disagreed as to the diagnosis of the disease. The Respondent urged the Tribunal to prefer the diagnosis of the Applicant’s condition made by Dr Lovell, namely ‘panic disorder’, over that made by Dr Oelrichs and Dr Cohen. This is for reason that Dr Lovell was the only practitioner who had the opportunity to consider all relevant materials, including the clinical notes from the University of Canberra Medical Centre, in his own time before providing his supplementary reports.[84][84] Transcript at page 15, lines 5-7. The Applicant contended that the disease suffered by her is that diagnosed by Dr Oelrichs, namely ‘adjustment reaction with mixed emotional features’. This is consistent with the diagnosis of the condition by Dr Cohen of ‘chronic adjustment disorder’ and Dr Lovell’s initial diagnosis of ‘adjustment disorder with mixed anxiety and depressed mood.’ In cross-examination, both Dr Cohen and Dr Oelrichs maintained that they did not depart from their diagnosis of the Applicant’s condition subsequent to being made aware of the clinical notes from the University of Canberra Medical Centre which include a number of references to the Applicant suffering ‘panic attacks’ and include an entry by Dr Weekes of ‘has a panic disorder’. Both doctors agreed that notwithstanding this clinical history, their diagnosis remained unchanged, that is ‘adjustment disorder with anxiety and depressed mood’ (Dr Oelrichs) and ‘chronic adjustment disorder’ (Dr Cohen). In making its finding in relation to the ‘ailment’ suffered by the Applicant, the Tribunal has had regard to the consistent and unwavering evidence of the Applicant in her written statements and oral evidence that the symptoms she suffered post the April 2014 incident were unlike any others she had ever experienced. She freely admitted that she has long suffered from an anxiety disorder, and that on more than one occasion she felt anxious and ‘panicky’ in the school environment when placed in a tense situation such as when the child went missing. However she steadfastly maintained that the debilitating physical symptoms she experienced following the April 2014 incident were completely different from the feelings of anxiety that she had previously suffered. The Tribunal finds on the basis of the evidence before it, including the reports and oral evidence of the medical specialists and the Applicant’s written statements and oral evidence, that the ‘ailment’ suffered by the Applicant is ‘adjustment disorder with anxiety and depressed mood’. The severe and debilitating panic attacks the Applicant suffered post the April 2014 incident are, as Dr Lovell opined in October 2015, and as noted by Dr Oelrichs in May 2017, a feature or symptom of this condition.