Bacic and Comcare

Case [2008] AATA 465


Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2008] AATA 465

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No T200400132

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION

)

Re HELENA BACIC

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal The Hon R J Groom (Deputy President)

Date5 June 2008

PlaceHobart

Decision

The decision under review is set aside and the matter remitted to the respondent with the following directions:

(a)      The applicant is suffering a permanent impairment as a result of an injury suffered by her on the 4 May 1999 in the course of her employment;

(b)      The degree of permanent impairment under Table 9.5 of the Guide to the Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment is 20%.

[Sgd The Hon R J Groom]

Deputy President

CATCHWORDS

Compensation – permanent impairment – Table 9.5 of Guide to Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment – meaning of “difficulty”, “grades”, “steps”, "distances" - video evidence – degree of impairment – decision set aside

Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss. 4, 24, 67

Guide to the Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment

Comcare v Fiedler (2001) 34 AAR 237

Re  Peters and Australian Postal Commission AAT Decision No 9680 23 August 1994

Re  Whelan and Department of Defence (1996) 47 ALD 383 at 389

Re  Morley and Comcare (1996) 40 ALD 725 at 731

Re  Watkins and Comcare (2003) 69 ALD 498 at 500

Hemley and Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission [2006] AATA 128. 

Re  Holmes and Comcare [2001] AATA 290

Thiele v Commonwealth (1990) 22 FCR 342 at 346

Wilson v Wilsons Tile Works Pty Ltd (1960) 104 CLR 328 at 335

Whitaker v Comcare (1998) 28 AAR 55 at 67

Nguyen and Comcare AATA Decision No 10133 18 April 1995

REASONS FOR DECISION

5 June 2008 The Hon R J Groom (Deputy President)

INTRODUCTION

1.      The applicant claimed compensation for 20% whole person impairment caused by a fall at work.  The respondent accepted the claim and paid compensation.  However, after viewing a surveillance video of the applicant walking and obtaining further medical advice, Comcare revoked that decision.  It now intends to seek recovery of the lump sum already paid.  The applicant maintains that she has suffered a 20% whole person impairment.  The issue in this application is the degree of permanent impairment suffered by the applicant. 

BACKGROUND

2.      On the 4 May 1999 the applicant, who was then aged 51 years, injured her right knee when she fell in the course of her employment with the Health Insurance Commission.

3.      A claim for compensation under the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (“the Act”) was lodged by the applicant on the 30 July 1999.  Liability was subsequently accepted for a tear of the cartilage or meniscus of the right knee.   Compensation was paid and the applicant undertook a course of rehabilitation.  She then returned to work at the Health Insurance Commission on reduced hours.

4.      The applicant had ongoing problems as a result of her injury.    She had suffered bleeding…

Continue reading Bacic and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Bacic and Comcare [2008] AATA 465
Case
[2008] AATA 465
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

Bacic commenced proceedings against Comcare in the Administrative Appeals Tribunal seeking a review of a decision that assessed her permanent impairment as 10% under Table 9.5 of the Guide to the Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment. The Tribunal was required to determine the meaning of certain terms in the Guide and to assess the degree of permanent impairment suffered by the applicant. The primary issue was the interpretation of terms in Table 9.5, including "difficulty", "grades", "steps", and "distances". The Tribunal examined the evidence provided, including video footage of the applicant's gait, and considered the relevant statutory provisions and precedents. The Tribunal found that the decision-maker had misinterpreted the terms in the Guide and had not properly assessed the applicant's degree of impairment. The Tribunal set aside the decision and remitted the matter to Comcare with directions to reassess the degree of impairment, taking into account the correct interpretation of the terms in the Guide.

The Tribunal considered the relevant statutory provisions, including sections 4, 24, and 67 of the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, and relevant precedents, including Comcare v Fiedler, Re Peters and Australian Postal Commission, Re Whelan and Department of Defence, Re Morley and Comcare, Re Watkins and Comcare, Hemley and Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission, Re Holmes and Comcare, Thiele v Commonwealth, Wilson v Wilsons Tile Works Pty Ltd, Whitaker v Comcare, and Nguyen and Comcare. The Tribunal found that the decision-maker had misinterpreted the terms in the Guide and had not properly assessed the applicant's degree of impairment. The Tribunal set aside the decision and remitted the matter to Comcare with directions to reassess the degree of impairment, taking into account the correct interpretation of the terms in the Guide. The Tribunal also noted that the video evidence provided was relevant to the assessment of the applicant's degree of impairment.

Orders

Orders of the court

The decision under review is set aside and the matter remitted to the respondent with the following directions:

(a) The applicant is suffering a permanent impairment as a result of an injury suffered by her on the 4 May 1999 in the course of her employment;

(b) The degree of permanent impairment under Table 9.5 of the Guide to the Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment is 20%.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.