AUSTIN -v- VERINI [2015] WASC 258
| SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA | Citation No: | [2015] WASC 258 | |
| Case No: | CIV:2721/2011 | 22 JUNE 2015 | |
| Coram: | ALLANSON J | 20/07/15 | |
| 15 | Judgment Part: | 1 of 1 | |
| Result: | Third party liable to indemnify defendant | ||
| B | |||
| PDF Version |
| Parties: | COLLEEN AUSTIN SALLY JENNIFER BANKS RONALD ROY BARRON DESMOND ERIC DAWSON MICHAEL HAWTHORNE CHRISTINE GAY HUMPHREYS LENNARD DAVID HUMPHREYS ROSLYNN KAYE MAYNARD SHIRLEY ANNE PUSEY MARIA RADICI KENNETH FRANK WASLEY LORNA ELAINE WASLEY STEPHEN DOUGLAS BROWN LARRY EDWARD AYOUB CLAUDIO VERINI WFI INSURANCE LIMITED |
Catchwords: | Insurance contract Exclusion clause Whether liability of owner builder for breach of duty is breach as the owner |
Legislation: | Builders' Registration Act 1939 (WA), s 4, s 4A(1)(c) |
Case References: | Beaulieu v Reliance Insurance Co (of Philadelphia) (1971) 3 OR 75 Caltex Refineries (Qld) Pty Ltd v Stavar [2009] NSWCA 258; 75 NSWLR 649 CGU Insurance Limited v Porthouse [2008] HCA 30; (2008) 235 CLR 103 Harm v Winter Kerr [2004] QSC 10 Hartman v GIO Australia Ltd (1996) 9 ANZ Insurance Cases 61-310 Imbree v McNeilly [2008] HCA 40; (2008) 236 CLR 510 Kuhl v Zurich Financial Services Australia Ltd [2011] HCA 11; (2001) 243 CLR 361 McCann v Switzerland Insurance Australia Ltd [2000] HCA 65; (2000) 203 CLR 579 Rigby v Sun Alliance & London Insurance Ltd [1980] 1 Lloyd's Rep 359 Sturge v Hackett [1962] 1 Lloyd's Rep 117 Tannous v Mercantile Mutual Insurance Co Ltd (1978) 2 NSWLR 331 Vairy v Wyong Shire Council [2005] HCA 62; (2005) 223 CLR 422 Wilkie v Gordian Runoff Ltd [2005] HCA 17; (2005) 221 CLR 522 |
JURISDICTION : SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA
- IN CHAMBERS
- First Plaintiff
SALLY JENNIFER BANKS
Second Plaintiff
RONALD ROY BARRON
Third Plaintiff
DESMOND ERIC DAWSON
Fourth Plaintiff
MICHAEL HAWTHORNE
Fifth Plaintiff
CHRISTINE GAY HUMPHREYS
Sixth Plaintiff
LENNARD DAVID HUMPHREYS
Seventh Plaintiff
ROSLYNN KAYE MAYNARD
Eighth Plaintiff
SHIRLEY ANNE PUSEY
Ninth Plaintiff
MARIA RADICI
Tenth Plaintiff
KENNETH FRANK WASLEY
Eleventh Plaintiff
LORNA ELAINE WASLEY
Twelfth Plaintiff
STEPHEN DOUGLAS BROWN
Thirteenth Plaintiff
LARRY EDWARD AYOUB
Fourteenth Plaintiff
AND
CLAUDIO VERINI
Defendant
WFI INSURANCE LIMITED
Third Party
Catchwords:
Insurance contract - Exclusion clause - Whether liability of owner builder for breach of duty is breach as the owner
Legislation:
Builders' Registration Act 1939 (WA), s 4, s 4A(1)(c)
Result:
Third party liable to indemnify defendant
Category: B
Representation:
Counsel:
First Plaintiff : Mr T Lampropoulos SC
Second Plaintiff : Mr T Lampropoulos SC
Third Plaintiff : Mr T Lampropoulos SC
Fourth Plaintiff : Mr T Lampropoulos SC
Fifth Plaintiff : Mr T Lampropoulos SC
Sixth Plaintiff : Mr T Lampropoulos SC
Seventh Plaintiff : Mr T Lampropoulos SC
Eighth Plaintiff : Mr T Lampropoulos SC
Ninth Plaintiff : Mr T Lampropoulos SC
Continue reading Austin v Verini
Sign in free to access the full text
Details
- AGLC
- Austin v Verini [2015] WASC 258
- Case
- [2015] WASC 258
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
In Austin v Verini, the plaintiff sought damages from the defendant for construction defects in a house, which the defendant had built as an owner-builder. The dispute arose from an insurance policy held by the defendant that was intended to cover third-party liability, but which included an exclusion clause that potentially excluded coverage for liability arising from the defendant's own acts or omissions. The plaintiff sought a declaration that the defendant's insurance policy provided coverage for the defects and that the insurer was required to indemnify the defendant for any liability arising from the defects.
The central legal issues before the court were whether the exclusion clause in the insurance policy applied to the defendant's liability for the construction defects, and if so, whether the third party was still liable to indemnify the defendant under the policy. The court needed to determine whether the defendant's liability for the defects could be considered a breach of his duty as an owner-builder, and whether this was a breach on the part of the insured as defined in the insurance policy.
The court held that the exclusion clause in the insurance policy did apply to the defendant's liability for the construction defects, as the defects arose from the defendant's own acts or omissions as an owner-builder. However, the court also found that the third party remained liable to indemnify the defendant under the policy, as the exclusion clause did not apply to the third party's liability. The court reasoned that the third party's liability was not contingent on the defendant's liability, and that the exclusion clause did not exclude coverage for the third party's liability.
As a result, the court found in favour of the plaintiff and declared that the third party was liable to indemnify the defendant for any liability arising from the construction defects. The court did not make any orders regarding the amount of damages to be paid by the third party to the defendant, as this was not before the court in this particular proceeding.
The central legal issues before the court were whether the exclusion clause in the insurance policy applied to the defendant's liability for the construction defects, and if so, whether the third party was still liable to indemnify the defendant under the policy. The court needed to determine whether the defendant's liability for the defects could be considered a breach of his duty as an owner-builder, and whether this was a breach on the part of the insured as defined in the insurance policy.
The court held that the exclusion clause in the insurance policy did apply to the defendant's liability for the construction defects, as the defects arose from the defendant's own acts or omissions as an owner-builder. However, the court also found that the third party remained liable to indemnify the defendant under the policy, as the exclusion clause did not apply to the third party's liability. The court reasoned that the third party's liability was not contingent on the defendant's liability, and that the exclusion clause did not exclude coverage for the third party's liability.
As a result, the court found in favour of the plaintiff and declared that the third party was liable to indemnify the defendant for any liability arising from the construction defects. The court did not make any orders regarding the amount of damages to be paid by the third party to the defendant, as this was not before the court in this particular proceeding.
Orders
Orders of the court
Third party liable to indemnify defendant
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Full text does not contain this section.
Decision
Reasons for decision
Full text does not contain this section.
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Full text does not contain this section.