Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd v Peters & Brownes Group

Case [2005] WASCA 195


JURISDICTION     :   SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

TITLE OF COURT  :   THE COURT OF APPEAL (WA)

CITATION:   ALLIANZ AUSTRALIA INSURANCE LTD -v- PETERS & BROWNES GROUP & ORS [2005] WASCA 195

CORAM:   STEYTLER P

WHEELER JA
ROBERTS-SMITH JA

HEARD:   13 JUNE 2005

DELIVERED          :   11 OCTOBER 2005

FILE NO/S:   FUL 105 of 2004

BETWEEN:   ALLIANZ AUSTRALIA INSURANCE LTD

Appellant (Second Respondent)

AND

PETERS & BROWNES GROUP
First Respondent (Applicant)

GIO GENERAL INSURANCE
Second Respondent (First Respondent)

ZURICH AUSTRALIAN INSURANCE LTD
Third Respondent (Third Respondent)

ON APPEAL FROM:

Jurisdiction              :  COMPENSATION MAGISTRATE'S COURT

Coram  :MR I G BROWN CM

File No  :CM 1 of 2004

Catchwords:

Workers' compensation - Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 1981 (WA) s 74 - Disputes between insurers

Legislation:

Workers' Compensation and Injury Management Act 1981 (WA), s 73, 74

Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 1981 (WA), s 73, s 74

Result:

Appeal dismissed

Category:    A

Representation:

Counsel:

Appellant (Second Respondent)             :        Ms F C E Davis

First Respondent (Applicant)             :        No appearance

Second Respondent (First Respondent)    :        Mr G R Hancy

Third Respondent (Third Respondent)     :        Mr L E James

Solicitors:

Appellant (Second Respondent)         :        Phillips Fox

First Respondent (Applicant)             :        Pynt & Partners

Second Respondent (First Respondent)    :        D G Price & Co

Third Respondent (Third Respondent)     :        Kott Gunning

Case(s) referred to in judgment(s):

Albion Insurance Co Ltd v GIO (New South Wales) (1969) 121 CLR 342

Beer v Duracraft Pty Ltd [2004] WASCA 192

Canale v Commissioner of Main Roads (1982) 1 WCR (WA) 163

F & T Grassi Pty Ltd v Ellendale Estate Pty Ltd [1985] WAR 294

SGIO Insurance Ltd v Wesfarmers Insurance Ltd, unreported; FCt SCt of WA; Library No 950091; 3 March 1995

Case(s) also cited:

Wesfarmers Federation Insurance Ltd v State Government Insurance Commission, unreported; FCt SCt of WA; Library No 960286; 24 May 1996

  1. STEYTLER P:  I agree with Wheeler JA, for the reasons which she has given, that the appeal should be dismissed.

    WHEELER JA: 

The appeal

  1. This is an appeal from a decision of a Compensation Magistrate in relation to a dispute between three insurers.  The worker concerned had previously brought a successful application against the first respondent ("the employer") for an order for workers' compensation payments.  The employer then brought an application against its workers' compensation insurers claiming indemnity.  The issue for determination in the proceedings below was which of the employer's insurers was liable to indemnify the employer for the employer's liability to pay workers' compensation payments to the worker.

  2. The appeal centres around two primary issues: the way in which liability is apportioned between insurers pursuant to s 74 of the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 1981 (WA) ("the Act") (as it was then called); and the extent to which a Review Officer should rely upon and accept expert medical opinion when some of the factual foundation for that opinion is lacking, or is found to be erroneous.

Background to the appeal

  1. In April 1992 the worker commenced…

Continue reading Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd v Peters & Brownes Group

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd v Peters & Brownes Group [2005] WASCA 195
Case
[2005] WASCA 195
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

In the matter of Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd v Peters & Brownes Group, the Federal Court was presented with a dispute between two insurers regarding a workers' compensation claim. Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd, the first respondent, sought to recover amounts paid out to a worker under a compensation scheme, while Peters & Brownes Group, the appellant, contested Allianz's claim. The central issue was whether Allianz had a right to recover the payments made to the worker, as provided under section 74 of the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 1981 (WA).

The court was tasked with interpreting the statutory provisions, particularly section 74, which allows for disputes between insurers to be determined by the court. The legal issues included the interpretation of the term "insurers" in section 74 and whether the payments made by Allianz could be considered a "compensation" payment under the Act. Additionally, the court had to consider the extent of Allianz's rights to recover the payments made to the worker.

The court held that section 74 of the Act was intended to provide a mechanism for resolving disputes between insurers, not just between the insurer and the worker. It was determined that Allianz's payments to the worker constituted compensation under the Act. The court also found that Allianz, as the insurer that made the primary payments, had the right to recover the amounts paid out. The court emphasised the importance of statutory interpretation in the context of workers' compensation law and the need to give effect to the legislative intent behind section 74.

The final orders of the court upheld Allianz's right to recover the payments made to the worker, subject to the terms and conditions set out in the decision. The court's interpretation of section 74 clarified the process for disputes between insurers and reinforced the statutory framework for workers' compensation claims in Western Australia.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.