Voudouris v TDV Constructions Pty Ltd

Case [2023] NSWPICPD 53


DETERMINATION OF APPEAL AGAINST A DECISION OF THE COMMISSION CONSTITUTED BY A MEMBER

CITATION:

Voudouris v TDV Constructions Pty Ltd [2023] NSWPICPD 53

APPELLANT:

Tom Voudouris

RESPONDENT:

TDV Constructions Pty Ltd

INSURER:

AAI Limited t/as GIO

FILE NUMBER:

A1-W3227/22

PRESIDENTIAL MEMBER:

President Judge Phillips

DATE OF APPEAL DECISION:

31 August 2023

ORDERS MADE ON APPEAL:

1. The appellant’s application for leave to appeal pursuant to s 352(3A) of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 is declined.

2.   The Certificate of Determination dated 25 October 2022 is confirmed.

3.   This matter is referred to a medical assessor in accordance with the terms of the Certificate of Determination dated 25 October 2022.

CATCHWORDS:

WORKERS COMPENSATION – whether injuries with 0% permanent impairment can be included in a referral to a medical assessor – medical assessment for the purpose of s 39 of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 – principles regarding a ‘claim’ and ‘medical dispute’ considered – s 319 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 – Shankarv Ceva Logistics (Australia) Pty Ltd [2021] NSWPICPD 18 discussed – Skates v Hills Industries Ltd [2021] NSWCA 142 applied

HEARING:

On the papers

REPRESENTATION:

Appellant:

Mr B Necovski, counsel

Parnell Legal

Respondent:

Mr A Combe, counsel

Rankin Ellison Lawyers

DECISION UNDER APPEAL

MEMBER:

Mr A Scarcella

DATE OF MEMBER’S DECISION:

25 October 2022

INTRODUCTION AND BACKGROUND

  1. Mr Tom Voudouris, the appellant, was a builder and sole director of the respondent. He sustained multiple injuries in the course of his employment on 26 July 2016, when he fell several metres through a void in a building he was working in. He received workers compensation benefits for his injuries, including payment of weekly compensation and medical or related treatment expenses.

  2. On 14 December 2021, Mr Voudouris ceased receiving weekly compensation by operation of s 39 of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 (the 1987 Act), on the basis that his injuries did not result in permanent impairment of more than 20% for an entitlement to weekly compensation beyond 260 weeks. In ceasing his weekly compensation, the respondent’s insurer relied on an independent medical report of Dr Stephen Rimmer, orthopaedic surgeon, dated 27 April 2021.[1] In this report, Dr Rimmer assessed the appellant with a combined 8% whole person impairment (WPI), comprised of 2% WPI in respect of the right elbow and 6% WPI in respect of the left wrist. Dr Rimmer also found there to be nil impairment (0%) to the right femur and right knee.

    [1] Reply to Application for Assessment by a Medical Assessor (reply), p 10.

  3. On 24 February 2022, the appellant wrote to the respondent’s insurer by email seeking they review the decision to terminate his weekly payments under s 39 of the 1987 Act. In this request, the appellant’s representative submitted that s 39 did not apply to the appellant and the “insurer should be satisfied that the degree of permanent impairment is likely to be more than 20% (whether or not the degree…

Continue reading Voudouris v TDV Constructions Pty Ltd

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Voudouris v TDV Constructions Pty Ltd [2023] NSWPICPD 53
Case
[2023] NSWPICPD 53
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The case of Voudouris v TDV Constructions Pty Ltd involved a dispute regarding workers' compensation, specifically whether injuries resulting in 0% permanent impairment could be included in a referral to a medical assessor. The case was heard by the New South Wales Court of Appeal. The central legal issue was whether such injuries could be considered in a medical assessment under section 39 of the Workers Compensation Act 1987. Additionally, the court had to consider the principles surrounding a 'claim' and a 'medical dispute' under section 319 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998. The court referred to the decision in Shankar v Ceva Logistics (Australia) Pty Ltd [2021] NSWPICPD 18 and applied the principles from Skates v Hills Industries Ltd [2021] NSWCA 142.

The court addressed the issue by examining the statutory framework and the relevant case law. It found that the referral to a medical assessor under section 39 was intended to address disputes about the existence of a compensable injury or the extent of impairment. The court concluded that injuries resulting in 0% permanent impairment could indeed be included in such referrals, as they still constituted a compensable injury. The reasoning hinged on the interpretation of the statutory provisions and the established principles that a claim could include injuries with no impairment rating. The court also considered the implications of the Shankar case, which highlighted the need to address all aspects of a claim, including those with minimal impairment.

The outcome of the case was that the injuries with 0% permanent impairment were considered valid for inclusion in the referral to a medical assessor. The court's decision reinforced the importance of addressing all elements of a workers' compensation claim comprehensively. The final orders reflected this by affirming the broader interpretation of compensable injuries under the statutory scheme.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

The doctrine of stare decisis is the doctrine of precedent, literally “to stand by decided matters.” In Burwood Council v PD Mayoh Pty Ltd,[52] Clarke AJA (Priestley and Beazley JJA agreeing) said as follows:“Although discussion of the doctrine of precedent usually focuses on the difficulty in some cases of identifying the ratio decidendi ... it is clear, in my opinion, that in appropriate cases the actual decision binds an inferior court. Where that decision takes the form of a declaration that a statutory instrument is invalid it would seem clearly to follow that no inferior court is thereafter entitled to say that the instrument is valid or partly valid. The position was expressed, in [terms] with which I agree, by Lord Diplock in Hoffman-La Roche & Co v Secretary of State for Trade and Industry [1975] AC 295 at 365:‘Under our legal system, however, the courts as the judicial arm of government do not act on their own initiative. The jurisdiction to determine that a statutory instrument is ultra vires does not arise until its validity is challenged in proceedings inter [partes] either brought by one party to enforce the law declared by the instrument against another party or brought by a party whose interests are affected by the law so declared sufficiently directly to give him locus [standi] to initiate proceedings to challenge the validity of the instrument. Unless there is such a challenge and, if there is, until it has been upheld by a judgment of the court, the validity of the statutory instrument and the legality of acts done pursuant to the law declared by it are presumed. It would, however, be inconsistent with the doctrine of ultra vires as it has been developed in English law as a means of controlling abuse of power by the executive arm of government if the judgment of a court in proceedings properly constituted that a statutory instrument was ultra vires were to have any lesser consequence in law than to render the instrument incapable of ever having had any legal effect upon the rights or duties of the parties to the proceedings (cf Ridge v Baldwin [1964] AC 40). Although such a decision is directly binding only as between the parties to the proceedings in which it was made, the application of the doctrine of precedent has the consequence of enabling the benefit of it to accrue to all other persons whose legal rights have been interfered with in reliance on the law which the statutory instrument purported to declare.’This authority is consistent with the dictum of Viscount Dunedin in Great Western Railway Co v Owners of SS Mostyn (The Mostyn) [1928] AC 57 at 73:‘Now, when any tribunal is bound by the judgment of another court, either superior or co-ordinate [sic, subordinate], it is, of course, bound by the judgment itself. And if from the opinions delivered it is clear … what the ratio decidendi was which led to the judgment, then that ratio decidendi is also binding.’” (emphasis added)[52] [1997] NSWCA 53. It is beyond doubt that the Commission’s members, both presidential and non-presidential, are bound to follow decisions of the Court of Appeal.[53][53] Section 8 of the 2020 Act.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.