TYKL and National Disability Insurance Agency [2021] AATA 135 (2 February 2021)
Administrative Appeals Tribunal
ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL )
) No: 2019/0104
NATIONAL DISABILITY INSURANCE SCHEME DIVISION )Re: TYKL
Applicant
And: National Disability Insurance Agency
RespondentDIRECTION
TRIBUNAL: Member Buxton
DATE OF CORRIGENDUM: 15 March 2021
PLACE: Brisbane
The Tribunal DIRECTS the Registrar, pursuant to subsection 43AA(1) of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth), to alter the text of Paragraph 12 of the Decision dated 2 February 2021 accordingly:
- Delete the text reading “…the plan review date is to be fixed at 12 months from the date of this decision.”; and
- Insert the following “…the plan review date is to remain at 21 May 2021.”
.......................[SGD]........................
Member Buxton
Division:NATIONAL DISABILITY INSURANCE SCHEME DIVISION
File Number:2019/0104
Re:TYKL
APPLICANT
AndNational Disability Insurance Agency
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:Member Buxton
Date:2 February 2021
Place:Brisbane
The decision under review is set aside. The matter is remitted to the Respondent with a direction that the “statement of participant supports” in the plan dated 9 November 2018 is to include sufficient funding to enable the identification, training and qualification of an appropriate assistance dog for the Applicant, in accordance with the quote provided by K9 Tales in December 2019, and the plan review date is to remain at 21 May 2021.
........................................................................
Member Buxton
Catchwords
NATIONAL DISABILITY INSURANCE SCHEME – application for review of decision to approve statement of supports in participant plan – whether supports are reasonable and necessary – assistance dog – decision under review set aside and remitted
Legislation
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth)
Disability Discrimination Act 1992 (Cth)
Guide, Hearing and Assistance Dogs Act 2009 (Qld)
National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth)
National Disability Insurance Scheme (Supports for Participants) Rules 2013 (Cth)Cases
Re Drake and Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (No 2) (1979) 2 ALD 634
McGarrigle v National Disability Insurance Agency [2017] FCA 308
National Disability Insurance Agency v WRMF [2020] FCACF 79Secondary Materials
Explanatory Memorandum, National Disability Insurance Scheme Bill 2012 (Cth)
National Disability Insurance Scheme Operational Guideline – Assistance AnimalsREASONS FOR DECISION
Member Buxton
2 February 2021
INTRODUCTION
On 2 January 2019, the Applicant applied to the Tribunal[1], pursuant to section 103 of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (“the NDIS Act”), for review of a decision of the National Disability Insurance Agency (“the NDIA”) dated 3 December 2018.[2] In broad terms, the decision concerned the NDIA’s refusal to include various funded supports.
[1] Exhibit 1, T-Documents, T1, pp. 1-3.
[2] Exhibit 1, T-Documents, T2, pp. 4-11.
The Applicant was born on 19 November 1957 and became a participant of the NDIS on 6 September 2016.[3] Her primary condition is Lambert-Eaton Myasthenia Gravis (LEMS), a rare autoimmune disorder characterised by fluctuating muscle weakness, loss of tendon reflexes, and autonomic dysfunction with muscle weakness, which can severely limit mobility.[4] In addition to LEMS, the Applicant has experienced…
Continue reading TYKL and National Disability Insurance Agency
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- TYKL and National Disability Insurance Agency [2021] AATA 135
- Case
- [2021] AATA 135
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The central legal issue before the Tribunal was whether the NDIA's refusal to fund an assistance dog was correct, and more specifically, whether the NDIA was entitled to require the dog to be identified, trained, and qualified before assessing it as a reasonable and necessary support. The applicant argued that the NDIA's approach was inconsistent with the NDIS Act and the rights of participants to determine their own goals and nominate supports.
The Tribunal found that the applicant suffered from chronic pain, reduced mobility, and a mental health condition impacting her confidence, and that an assistance dog would significantly benefit her physical and psychosocial well-being. The Tribunal was satisfied that the applicant had a proven history of benefiting from an assistance dog and had made substantial efforts to identify and secure a suitable animal. Crucially, the Tribunal determined that the NDIA's contention that an assistance dog must be fully trained and qualified before it could be assessed for funding was not supported by the NDIS Act. The Tribunal reasoned that the identification, training, and qualification of an assistance dog were necessary steps in the process of obtaining such a support and were not precluded by the statutory scheme.
Consequently, the Tribunal set aside the NDIA's decision and remitted the matter for reconsideration. The Tribunal was not satisfied that the NDIS Act contained the limitation argued by the NDIA regarding the funding mechanism for an assistance dog.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Ms Y gave sworn evidence under oath during the hearing of this application. When asked as to whether she has anything further to add in addition to her letter referenced above, Ms Y spoke to the benefits of an assistance dog in contributing to the Applicant’s independence. She acknowledged that there will still be a need for human carers. However, she observed that an assistance dog would greatly reduce this need and provide the Applicant with a level of independence she does not currently enjoy.[41] Ms Y was cross-examined by the Respondent as to her qualifications to make such observations. Ms Y stated in response that she was a qualified medical practitioner having previously worked as a hospital registrar.[42] Ms Y did not volunteer such information and did not seek to give expert evidence. However, the Tribunal found Ms Y to be an impressive and reliable witness of fact.CONSIDERATION[41] Transcript Day 1, pp. 62-65.[42] Transcript Day 1, pp. 66-67.Findings of fact The Tribunal has considered the substantial medical and other evidence before the Tribunal that is summarised above and makes the following findings, noting that none of the factual issues were seriously challenged by the Respondent:(a)The Applicant suffers from chronic pain in her back, legs and feet. She is frequently fatigued and requires rest throughout the day and walks with the assistance of a wheeled walker. The Applicant has reduced mobility, strength and range of movement. As a result of these limitations, the Applicant is unstable, frequently drops items and is at risk of falling, including whilst showering, whilst in her home and garden and when out in the community. The Tribunal is satisfied the Applicant would benefit from the support of an assistance animal as a result of these physical limitations;(b)The Applicant has previously benefitted from an assistance dog who accompanied her at home (including whilst undertaking various domestic chores and whilst showering, with which he assisted), to her previous workplace and into the general community. The Tribunal is satisfied that the Applicant would benefit from an assistance dog accompanying her in those settings as a result of her physical disabilities;(c)The Applicant has a mental health condition that impacts her confidence. The Tribunal is satisfied that the Applicant would benefit from as assistance dog in order to help reduce her stress and support her psychosocial wellness in various settings; (d)The Applicant is an independent-minded woman who makes a positive contribution to her community and wishes to maximise her participation in various community activities. The Tribunal is satisfied that the Applicant would benefit from an assistance dog in furthering her goals of independence and access my community and enjoying friendships and activities; and(e)The Applicant has agreed with K9 Tales for a dog to be trained to her specific requirements and needs, identified as the assistance dog in training, Sparrow, for the total cost of $34,000 pursuant to the contract entered into by the Appliance and K9 Tales.The threshold legal question