TRNC and Comcare (Compensation)

Case [2017] AATA 1105


TRNC and Comcare (Compensation) [2017] AATA 1105 (14 July 2017)

Division:GENERAL DIVISION

File Number:           2015/6250

Re:TRNC

APPLICANT

AndComcare

RESPONDENT

DECISION

Tribunal:Deputy President Dr C Kendall
L M Gallagher, Member

Date:14 July 2017

Place:Perth

Comcare’s reviewable decision of 13 November 2015 to deny liability under section 14 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 in relation to the Applicant’s claim for compensation, is affirmed.

........................................................................

Deputy President Dr C Kendall

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION – Commonwealth employees – date of injury – nature of injury – appropriate diagnosis – whether ailment a disease – schizophrenia – brief psychotic episode – prodromal symptoms – whether pre-existing condition – whether Applicant was subject to bullying and harassment in the workplace – whether ailment was contributed to, to a significant degree, by employment – decision under review affirmed

LEGISLATION

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 – ss 4(1), 5A, 5B, 7(4),14

CASES

Australian Telecommunications Commission v Tzikas (1985) 5 AAR 173

Re Cho and Comcare [2017] AATA 175

Dean v Australian Postal Corporation (2010) 52 AAR 54; [2010] FCA 680

Kirkpatrick v Commonwealth of Australia (1985) 9 FCR 36

Wiegand v Comcare (2002) FCA 1464

SECONDARY MATERIALS

The National Institute of Mental Health, Report on Schizophrenia (NIH Publication No. 15-3517)

American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition

REASONS FOR DECISION

Deputy President Dr C Kendall
Ms LM Gallagher, Member

14 July 2017

BACKGROUND

1.By way of background, the Tribunal notes a number of general factual matters which are set out in the T documents and are not in dispute. 

2.The Applicant is employed at the APS6 level with a Commonwealth Government Department (the ‘Department’), where he joined as a graduate in February 2008.  In order to perform the role, the Applicant was required to leave his home city and reside in a new city where the Department’s office is located.

3.On 9 March 2013, the Applicant had been drinking at a nightclub and was subsequently stopped by police while travelling home in a taxi.  The Applicant was searched and breathalysed.  The Applicant states that he thought he might then have signed a document that he should not have.  The next day, the police confirmed that there were no outstanding charges against him.

4.On 16 March 2013, the Applicant took leave to return to his home city to visit his family.  The Applicant claims he was anxious about getting on the plane and believed he was being followed.  The Applicant became more relaxed once he reached his destination.

5.While in his home city, the Applicant sought medical treatment in relation to a mental health condition.  The Applicant was certified as unfit for work for a few weeks.

6.The Applicant returned to work on 15 April 2013 and asked to take 12 months leave without pay to allow him to return to live in his home city.  On 16 April 2013, he was advised that his request for leave without pay had not been approved.  The Applicant…

Continue reading TRNC and Comcare (Compensation)

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
TRNC and Comcare (Compensation) [2017] AATA 1105
Case
[2017] AATA 1105
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The Administrative Appeals Tribunal considered a dispute between the Applicant (TRNC) and Comcare concerning a claim for compensation. The Applicant sought compensation for an ailment, which Comcare had previously denied liability for under section 14 of the relevant Act.

The Tribunal was required to determine whether the Applicant's ailment, described as a brief psychotic episode and potentially schizophrenia with prodromal symptoms, constituted a disease. Furthermore, the Tribunal had to assess whether this ailment was contributed to, to a significant degree, by the Applicant's employment, particularly in light of allegations of bullying and harassment in the workplace, and whether any pre-existing condition was relevant.

Deputy President Kendall P affirmed Comcare's reviewable decision of 13 November 2015 to deny liability. The reasoning, not detailed in the provided text, led to the conclusion that the Applicant's condition did not meet the criteria for compensation under section 14 of the Act, implying that the employment was not found to be a significant contributing factor to the ailment.

The Tribunal ordered that the reasons for its decision be made available to the Applicant through his parents, acknowledging the sensitive and distressing nature of the hearing for the Applicant and his family.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

For the reasons outlined above, Comcare’s reviewable decision of 13 November 2015 to deny liability under section 14 of the Act in relation to the Applicant’s claim for compensation is affirmed.PUBLICATION OF DECISION Clearly, the hearing of this application was distressing to the Applicant. The subject matter at times moved into areas that were of a highly sensitive nature and clearly upsetting for the Applicant and his parents. Again, the Tribunal is grateful to the parties and their representatives and witnesses for the manner in which they have conducted themselves. Despite the care and consideration that has been shown, there is a reasonable possibility that the decision in this review, and these reasons for decision, will cause the Applicant additional stress. In the circumstances, the Tribunal orders that these reasons for decision be made available to the Applicant through his parents.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.