Treacy v Newlands

Case [2008] VSC 395


IN THE SUPREME COURT OF VICTORIA Not Restricted

AT MELBOURNE

COMMON LAW DIVISION

No. 5301 of 2007

MAREE TREACY Plaintiff
v
DR CAROL NEWLANDS & ORS Defendants

---

JUDGE:

BEACH J

WHERE HELD:

Melbourne

DATE OF HEARING:

26 September 2008

DATE OF JUDGMENT:

2 October 2008

CASE MAY BE CITED AS:

Treacy v Newlands & Ors

MEDIUM NEUTRAL CITATION:

[2008] VSC 395

---

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW – Review of Medical Panel – Jurisdictional error – No failure to take into account relevant considerations – Adequacy of reasons – Section 8 Administrative Law Act 1978.

ACCIDENT COMPENSATION – Review of Medical Panel – No failure to take into account relevant considerations – Adequacy of reasons – Section 45 and Division 3 of Part III of the Accident Compensation Act 1985

---

APPEARANCES:

Counsel Solicitors
For the Plaintiff Mr M. O’Loughlin QC
with Mr N. Horner
Workforce Legal
For the First to Fourth Defendants No appearance Monahan & Rowell
For the Fifth Defendant Mr P.H. Solomon Herbert Geer & Rundle

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Introduction........................................................................................................................................ 2

History of this proceeding................................................................................................................ 4

The relevant principles..................................................................................................................... 4

Failure to take account of relevant considerations...................................................................... 9

Inadequacy of reasons..................................................................................................................... 15

Disposition of the proceeding....................................................................................................... 18

Conclusion......................................................................................................................................... 19

HIS HONOUR:

Introduction

  1. On 9 May 1999, Mrs Maree Treacy, the plaintiff, suffered injury in the course of her employment with Wilson Parking Australia 1992 Pty Ltd, the fifth defendant, when she fell whilst stepping out of a caravan kitchen at Melbourne Airport.  Subsequently, Mrs Treacy made a claim for compensation pursuant to the Accident Compensation Act 1985 (“the Act”). That claim was accepted. On 3 July 2005, the plaintiff’s entitlement to weekly payments of compensation under the Act was terminated[1] on the basis that she had received such payments for more than 104 weeks and had a current work capacity.[2] Eventually, proceedings were issued by Mrs Treacy in the Magistrates’ Court of Victoria against Wilson Parking seeking an order for weekly payments pursuant to s 93 of the Act “from 3 July 2005 and ongoing in accordance with law”. During the course of those proceedings, Wilson Parking requested certain medical questions[3] to be referred by the Magistrates’ Court to a medical panel pursuant to s 45(1)(b) of the Act.

    [1]Pursuant to s 114(2)(b), and in reliance upon s 93CC(1), of the Act

    [2]The expression “current work capacity” is defined in s 5 of the Act

    [3]The expression “medical question” is defined in s 5 of the Act

  1. A medical panel comprising the first to fourth defendants was convened to answer the referred medical questions.  On 4 December 2006, the Medical Panel answered the referred medical questions as follows:

Question 1.What is the nature of the Plaintiff’s medical condition relevant to the following alleged injuries:

(a)injury to the left knee resulting in a left total knee replacement;

(b)production, aggravation and acceleration of osteoarthritis of the left knee;

(c)injury to the left ankle;

(d)injury to the back including broad based disc bulge with annular disruption at L4/5;

(e)resultant referred pain to…

Continue reading Treacy v Newlands

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Treacy v Newlands [2008] VSC 395
Case
[2008] VSC 395
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

Treacy brought a claim against Newlands in the Administrative Appeals Tribunal for a review of a decision made by a Medical Panel under the Accident Compensation Act 1985. The dispute centred on the Medical Panel's decision to deny Treacy's claim for compensation on the grounds that his injury did not meet the criteria set out in the Act. The case was heard and determined by the Supreme Court of Victoria.

The primary legal issue before the court was whether the Medical Panel had erred in its decision by failing to take into account relevant considerations or by providing inadequate reasons for its decision. The court was required to examine whether the Panel's decision was in accordance with the statutory criteria outlined in the Act, and whether the reasons provided were sufficient to justify the outcome. Additionally, the court had to consider whether the Panel had made a jurisdictional error under Section 8 of the Administrative Law Act 1978.

The court found that the Medical Panel had not erred in its decision. The Panel had adequately considered all relevant factors and provided comprehensive reasons for its decision, which aligned with the statutory criteria. The reasons given by the Panel were sufficient to justify the outcome and did not indicate a failure to take into account relevant considerations. The court held that the Panel's decision was within its jurisdiction, and there was no ground for review under Section 8 of the Administrative Law Act 1978. The court also determined that the Panel's decision complied with the requirements of Section 45 and Division 3 of Part III of the Accident Compensation Act 1985.

The Supreme Court dismissed Treacy's claim and upheld the decision of the Medical Panel. The court's judgment confirmed that the Panel's decision was legally sound and that there were no grounds for review on the basis of a failure to take into account relevant considerations or inadequate reasons.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.