Thomson and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 1950 (1 October 2025)
Applicant/s: David Thomson
Respondent: National Disability Insurance Agency
Tribunal Number: 2024/0710
Tribunal:General Member Robertson
Place:Perth
Date:1 October 2025
Decision:1. The hearing listed for 11 November 2025 be and is hereby vacated.
2. Pursuant to s 85 of the Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024 (Cth), the Tribunal remits the decision under review, being the decision of the delegate of the Chief Executive Officer of the respondent dated 18 September 2023 and as affirmed on internal review on 18 January 2024, for reconsideration within 28 days.
........................................................................
Statement made on 01 October 2025 at 11:27am
CATCHWORDS
NATIONAL DISABILITY INSURANCE SCHEME – practice and procedure – request for access – where respondent concedes the applicant meets the access criteria – where the respondent seeks remittal of the review application for reconsideration – where applicant opposes remittal – where parties agree that the applicant meets the access criteria but disagree as to why – whether the Tribunal should conduct a hearing to determine dispute as to why the applicant meets the access criteria – reviewable decision remitted pursuant to s 85 of the Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024 (Cth) to permit applicant to become a participant
LEGISLATION
Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024 (Cth)
National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth)
National Disability Insurance Scheme Amendment (Getting the NDIS Back on Track No. 1) Act 2024 (Cth)
CASES
Browne v Commissioner of Taxation [2013] AATA 866
Commissioner of Taxation v Cancer and Bowel Research Association (2013) 305 ALR 534; [2013] FCAFC 140
Drake v Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (1979) 46 FLR 409
N1112/00A v Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs [2000] FCA 1597
Negi and National Disability Insurance Agency [2022] AATA 1423
Pelovski and National Disability Insurance Agency [2022] AATA 3380
Statement of Reasons
INTRODUCTION
On 26 September 2025, I heard an application by the respondent for an order remitting the decision under review for reconsideration pursuant to s 85 of the Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024 (Cth) (ART Act). The applicant was represented by his father, Dr A Thomson. The respondent was represented by Mr T J Noonan of counsel. Both Dr Tomson and Mr Noonan made clear, concise, and helpful submissions. I thank them both for their submissions. I indicated to them that I would take some time to consider their submissions and provide a written decision together with my reasons.
In short, in relation to this review application, both the applicant and the respondent agree that the applicant meets the access criteria to become a participant in the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS). They disagree, however, on the statutory basis for that access.
The respondent, having conceded that the applicant satisfies the early intervention requirements, asks the Tribunal to remit the matter for reconsideration so that a decision in relation to the applicant’s Statement of Participant Supports (SoPS) can be made.
The applicant resists this, contending…
Continue reading Thomson and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Thomson and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 1950
- Case
- [2025] ARTA 1950
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The legal issue before the court was whether the Tribunal should conduct a hearing to determine the dispute as to why Thomson met the access criteria, or whether it should remit the matter to the NDIS for reconsideration, allowing the NDIS to make a decision in Thomson's favour. The court considered the power to remit decisions to decision-makers for further consideration under s 85 of the Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024 (ART Act). The court found that the power to remit a reviewable decision for reconsideration was discretionary and could be exercised according to the circumstances of the particular case. The court concluded that remittal was appropriate in this case as the NDIS had conceded that Thomson met the access criteria, and any further delay in providing him with supports would be unjust. The court remitted the decision under review for reconsideration within 28 days.
The court determined that remittal was appropriate because Thomson was already entitled to become a participant in the NDIS. The court found that the NDIS Act did not create different classes of participants depending on whether access was obtained under the disability requirements or the early intervention requirements. The court also found that the reasonable and necessary supports available to a participant were unaffected by the reasons for which access was granted. The court held that the NDIS's status in the scheme was the same regardless of whether it met the access criteria, and that the reasonable and necessary supports it was to receive were not affected by the reasons why it met the access criteria. The court found that, after Thomson became a participant in the NDIS, a decision-maker must reconsider afresh which of his impairments met the access requirements to determine the supports that were reasonable and necessary, and that the initial access decision was not binding on the decision-maker at the planning stage. The court also found that, absent remittal, Thomson could not become a participant in the NDIS until the review was completed, and that it was desirable for Thomson to be able to receive supports as soon as possible rather than delaying the provision of supports to resolve a dispute that had no practical effect.
The court remitted the decision under review, being the decision of the delegate of the Chief Executive Officer of the NDIS dated 18 September 2023 and as affirmed on internal review on 18 January 2024, for reconsideration within 28 days.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Full text does not contain this section.
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
The respondent submits that remittal is appropriate because the applicant is already entitled to become a participant in the NDIS. It argues that:(a)the NDIS Act does not create different classes of participants or ‘pathways’ depending on whether access is obtained under the disability requirements or the early intervention requirements;(b)the reasonable and necessary supports available to a participant are unaffected by whether access was granted via ss 24 or 25 of the NDIS Act;(c)any decision, or decisions, concerning supports in a SoPS involve a fresh assessment of the impairments requiring support and decision makers are not bound by the conclusions reached in any previous access decision for that purpose;(d)delaying remittal prolongs the period before the applicant can access and receive supports, notwithstanding that his entitlement to be a participant is no longer in dispute.CONSIDERATION The Tribunal’s task on review is to determine whether the applicant meets the access criteria. Under s 21 of the NDIS Act, this requires satisfaction of the age requirements, the residence requirements, and either the disability requirements or the early intervention requirements. The respondent submits that a remittal pursuant to s 85 of the ART Act should occur. Essentially, the respondent submits: (a)a participant’s status in the scheme is the same regardless of whether the meet the access criteria either because they satisfy the early intervention requirements (s 24) or the disability requirements (s 25) and that the Act does not create different classes of participants based on the way in which they satisfy the access criteria;(b)the reasonable and necessary supports that a person is to receive is not affected by the reasons why a person meets the access criteria; (c)after the applicant becomes a participant in the NDIS, when considering the applicant’s SoPS, a decision-maker must reconsider afresh which of the person’s impairments meet the access requirements to determine the supports that are reasonable and necessary and that the initial access decision is not binding on the decision-maker at the planning stage; (d)absent a remittal under s 85 of the ART Act, the applicant cannot become a participant in the NDIS until the review is completed and that as a person entitled to become a participant in the NDIS it is desirable for the applicant to be able to receive supports as soon as possible rather than delaying the provision of supports to resolve a dispute that has no practical effect. When the Tribunal reviews a decision, its function is to stand in the shoes of the original decision maker and make the correct or preferable decision. The decision that the Tribunal is required to make is that which is provided for in s 20 of the NDIS Act, namely to decide whether or not the prospective participant meets the access criteria.[10] Whether a person meets the access criteria is determined by the requirements in s 21 of the NDIS Act.[11] In order to meet the access criteria, a prospective participant must meet:(a)the ‘age requirements’;[12] (b)the ‘residence requirements’;[13] and(c)either the disability requirements or the early intervention requirements.[14] [10] National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth), s 20(1).[11] I note that s 21 of the NDIS Act was amended on 3 October 2024 by the National Disability Insurance Scheme Amendment (Getting the NDIS Back on Track No. 1) Act 2024 (Cth). Among other things, those amendments require the respondent (and in my view likely the Tribunal on review), when making an access decision, to expressly identify whether access is being granted on the basis of the disability requirements or the early intervention requirements. However, the amendments do not apply to access requests made prior to 3 October 2024. The access request in the present case was made on 30 July 2023 and therefore these amendments do not alter my reasoning.[12] National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth), s 21(1)(a) read with s 22. [13] National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth), s 21(1)(b) read with s 23.[14] National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth), s 21(1)(c) read with ss 24-25.