Ryan v Comcare

Case [2005] FMCA 355


FEDERAL MAGISTRATES COURT OF AUSTRALIA

RYAN v COMCARE [2005] FMCA 355
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW – Appeal from Administrative Appeals Tribunal – finding by Tribunal on medical evidence – appeal against Tribunal's findings – findings all on questions of fact – no error of law in findings on questions of fact – whether applicant misled about procedures at hearing – whether breach of natural justice – whether conduct of applicant consistent with claim of being misled – error of law in affirming decision of authority that not liable in the future – error not affecting decision – whether orders should be made correcting error.
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975, s.44
Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth), ss.14, 16, 19
Clements v Independent Indigenous Advisory Committee (2003) 131 FCR 28
Re: Refugee Tribunal; Ex Parte Aala (2000) 204 CLR 82
Rossilo v Telstra Corporation Ltd [2003] FCA 1628], 77 ALD 396
Australian Postal Corporation v Oudyn (2003) 73 ALD 659
Liu and Comcare [2004] AATA 617, 79 ALD 119
Applicant: KERRYN RYAN
Respondent: COMCARE
File Number: MLG 564 of 2004
Judgment of: Phipps FM
Hearing date: 21 March 2005
Date of Last Submission: 21 March 2005
Delivered at: Melbourne
Delivered on: 7 April 2005

REPRESENTATION

Counsel for the Applicant:

Solicitors for the Applicant:

Nil

Nil

Counsel for the Respondent: Ms McMahon
Solicitors for the Respondent: Australian Government Solicitor

ORDERS

  1. The applicant's appeal filed 1 March 2004 is dismissed.

  2. That part of the decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal dated 6 February 2004 which affirmed the reviewable decision of the respondent dated 9 November 2001 affirming the determination dated 21 August 2001 is set aside.

  3. The decision is varied so as to determine that in the period 22 August 2001 to 6 February 2004, the applicant had no entitlement to compensation in respect of the claim for aggravation of sinusitis sustained on 6 March 2000 under Section 19 or Section 16 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

  4. Otherwise, the reviewable decision dated 19 November 2001 in respect of the determination dated 20 September 2001 is affirmed.

FEDERAL MAGISTRATES
COURT OF AUSTRALIA AT
MELBOURNE

MLG564 of 2004

KERRYN RYAN

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

REASONS FOR JUDGMENT

  1. This is an appeal pursuant to s.44 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 ("AAT Act") from a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal delivered on 6 February 2004.

  2. The Tribunal affirmed two decisions of the respondent dated


    19 November 2001 which affirmed determinations made by the respondent on 21 August 2001 and 20 September 2001.  These determinations related to claims made by the applicant under the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (“the SRC Act").

  3. The applicant filed a notice of appeal on 1 March 2004 in the Federal Court of Australia.  By order made on 10 May 2004, Crennan J. transferred the appeal to the Federal Magistrates Court.

  4. The applicant commenced work in the Family Court of Australia in 1995.  She lodged two claims for compensation.…

Continue reading Ryan v Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Ryan v Comcare [2005] FMCA 355
Case
[2005] FMCA 355
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The matter of Ryan v Comcare involved the applicant appealing a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT), which had upheld a decision made by the respondent, Comcare. The applicant sought compensation for aggravation of sinusitis sustained during their employment, which they claimed occurred on 6 March 2000. The crux of the dispute lay in the interpretation and application of the relevant provisions of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, specifically Sections 19 and 16, in determining the applicant's entitlement to compensation for the claimed aggravation of their condition.

The court was tasked with determining whether the applicant had a valid claim for compensation for the aggravation of their pre-existing condition, and if so, the period during which the applicant was entitled to such compensation. The central legal issue was whether the aggravation of the sinusitis was a result of the employment, and if the statutory provisions were correctly applied by the AAT in affirming the respondent's decision. Additionally, the court needed to consider the appropriate time frame for determining the applicant's entitlement to compensation.

The court found that the AAT had erred in affirming the respondent's decision by not correctly applying the statutory provisions in question. The court determined that the applicant had no entitlement to compensation for the aggravation of sinusitis in the period from 22 August 2001 to 6 February 2004. The court held that the statutory provisions were not correctly applied by the AAT, leading to an incorrect affirmation of the respondent's decision. Consequently, the court set aside the AAT's decision and varied the respondent's decision to reflect the correct period during which the applicant had no entitlement to compensation. The court affirmed the rest of the respondent's decision.

Orders

Orders of the court

1.

The applicant's appeal filed 1 March 2004 is dismissed.

2.

That part of the decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal dated 6 February 2004 which affirmed the reviewable decision of the respondent dated 9 November 2001 affirming the determination dated 21 August 2001 is set aside.

3.

The decision is varied so as to determine that in the period 22 August 2001 to 6 February 2004, the applicant had no entitlement to compensation in respect of the claim for aggravation of sinusitis sustained on 6 March 2000 under Section 19 or Section 16 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

4.

Otherwise, the reviewable decision dated 19 November 2001 in respect of the determination dated 20 September 2001 is affirmed.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.