Roe and Comcare

Case [2003] AATA 126


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2003] AATA 126

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )
  )           No  A2001/341 &

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION        )                   A2001/421

Re ROBYN ROE

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Mr S Webb, Member

Date7 February 2003

PlaceCanberra

Decision

1. Pursuant to section 43 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975, the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (“the Tribunal”) determines:

(a)       In relation to the reviewable decision dated 19 September 2001 (A2001/421), to set aside the decision under review and, in substitution therefor, decides:

(i) The Applicant suffers an injury pursuant to section 4 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 in the form of a regional pain syndrome that is attributable to work-caused carpal tunnel syndrome, de Quervain’s tenosynovitis and volar ganglion;

(ii) The Applicant is entitled to compensation pursuant to section 14 of the Act on 28 August 2001 and thereafter;

(iii) The Applicant is entitled to compensation for reasonable medical treatment costs in respect of her work-related injury pursuant to section 16 of the Act on and after 28 August 2001;

(iv) The Applicant has been and remains incapacitated for work as a consequence of her work-related injury from 28 August 2001 and is entitled to be paid compensation for incapacity pursuant to section 19 of the Act on and after that date.

(b)       In relation to the reviewable decision dated 13 July 2001 (A2001/341), to set aside the decision and, in substitution therefor, decides:

(i) The Applicant has a 20% whole person impairment of her left upper limb pursuant to Table 9.4 of the Comcare Guide to the Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment (“the Guide”) and is entitled to compensation for permanent impairment pursuant to section 24 of the Act and compensation for non-economic loss pursuant to section 27 of the Act.

2.      The Respondent is liable to pay the Applicant’s reasonable legal costs in these matters as agreed or taxed.

................(signed)..................

Mr S Webb, Member 

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION – injury – liability – carpal tunnel syndrome, de Quervain’s tenosynovitis, volar ganglion – regional pain syndrome – whether entitled to compensation for permanent impairment, incapacity and medical treatment costs

LEGISLATION

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss4, 14, 16, 19, 24

AUTHORITIES

Re Beer and Australian Telecommunications Commission [1997] AAT 5974

Re Wood and Comcare [1999] AATA 263

Commonwealth v Borg (1991) 20 AAR 299n

Re Quinn and Australian Postal Corporation (1992) 15 AAR 519

Commonwealth v Muratore (1978) 141 CLR 296

Comcare v Nichols [1999] FCA 209

Comcare v Mooi (1996) 42 ALD 495

Semlitch v Federal Broom Co Pty Ltd (1963) 110 CLR 626

Commonwealth v Beattie (1981) 53 FLR 191

Treloar v Australian Telecommunications Commission (1990) 26 FCR 316

Tippett v Australian Postal Corporation (1988) 27 AAR 40

Whittaker v Comcare (1998) 86 FLR 532

Comcare v Fielder (2001) 115 FCR 328

REASONS FOR DECISION

7 February 2003  Mr S Webb, Member      

1.      This matter involves two applications by Mrs Robyn Roe (“the Applicant”) for review of decisions…

Continue reading Roe and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Roe and Comcare [2003] AATA 126
Case
[2003] AATA 126
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The applicant, Roe, brought an action against Comcare, seeking compensation for injuries sustained in the course of her employment. The injuries in question were carpal tunnel syndrome, de Quervain’s tenosynovitis, a volar ganglion, and a regional pain syndrome. The case was reviewed by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, which was required to determine whether the applicant was entitled to compensation for her permanent impairment, incapacity, and medical treatment costs. The primary legal issue was whether the applicant's injuries and subsequent conditions were attributable to her employment, and if so, what compensation she was entitled to under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

The Tribunal found that the applicant's injuries were indeed work-related and led to the development of a regional pain syndrome. It was determined that the applicant had been incapacitated for work since 28 August 2001, and she was entitled to compensation for her incapacity and ongoing medical treatment costs. Additionally, the Tribunal assessed the applicant's left upper limb impairment at 20% and ruled that she was entitled to compensation for this permanent impairment and non-economic loss. The Tribunal set aside the previous decisions of Comcare and substituted its own, detailing the specific compensation to which the applicant was entitled.

In summary, the Tribunal ruled in favour of the applicant, ordering Comcare to compensate her for her permanent impairment, incapacity, and medical treatment costs. The Tribunal also mandated that Comcare cover the applicant's reasonable legal costs in the matter. This decision provided clarity and relief to the applicant, affirming her entitlements under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. Pursuant to section 43 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975, the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (“the Tribunal”) determines:

(a) In relation to the reviewable decision dated 19 September 2001 (A2001/421), to set aside the decision under review and, in substitution therefor, decides:

(i) The Applicant suffers an injury pursuant to section 4 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 in the form of a regional pain syndrome that is attributable to work-caused carpal tunnel syndrome, de Quervain’s tenosynovitis and volar ganglion;

(ii) The Applicant is entitled to compensation pursuant to section 14 of the Act on 28 August 2001 and thereafter;

(iii) The Applicant is entitled to compensation for reasonable medical treatment costs in respect of her work-related injury pursuant to section 16 of the Act on and after 28 August 2001;

(iv) The Applicant has been and remains incapacitated for work as a consequence of her work-related injury from 28 August 2001 and is entitled to be paid compensation for incapacity pursuant to section 19 of the Act on and after that date.

(b) In relation to the reviewable decision dated 13 July 2001 (A2001/341), to set aside the decision and, in substitution therefor, decides:

(i) The Applicant has a 20% whole person impairment of her left upper limb pursuant to Table 9.4 of the Comcare Guide to the Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment (“the Guide”) and is entitled to compensation for permanent impairment pursuant to section 24 of the Act and compensation for non-economic loss pursuant to section 27 of the Act.

2. The Respondent is liable to pay the Applicant’s reasonable legal costs in these matters as agreed or taxed.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.