DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2002] AATA 1259
ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL ) No A2000/345
) No A2001/44
GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION ) No A2001/363 No A2001/364 No A2001/365
Re JOANNE ROBERTSON
Applicant
And COMCARE
Respondent
DECISION
Tribunal Mr G A Mowbray
Date6 December 2002
PlaceCanberra
Decision The Tribunal: 1. Sets aside the decisions under review in matters A2000/345, A2001/364 and A2001/365 and remits the matters to the Respondent for reconsideration with a direction to give effect to the findings of the Tribunal as set out in the reasons for decision that (a) in early 1995 Ms Robertson injured her right shoulder, forearm and thumb (b) as a consequence Ms Robertson currently suffers from a chronic regional pain syndrome (c) Ms Robertson's regional pain syndrome has been ongoing and continuous since early 1995 (d) the regional pain syndrome was work-related in its origin in 1995 and continues to be a work-caused injury for the purposes of the Act (e) this condition has not ceased (f) Ms Robertson was incapacitated for work as a result of the original injury in early 1995 (g) Ms Robertson was incapacitated during the periods for which she sought incapacity payments from May 1998 to October 1999 (h) Ms Robertson was incapacitated for work at 13 March 2000 (i) Ms Robertson was incapacitated for work at 20 June 2001 (j) Ms Robertson remains incapacitated for work today. 2. Sets aside the decision under review in matter A2001/44 and in substitution therefor decides Ms Robertson is entitled to compensation for a house clean and gardening assistance. 3. Sets aside the decision under review in matter A2001/363 and in substitution therefor decides Ms Robertson is entitled to the cost of motorised garage doors. 4. Orders the Respondent to pay the Applicant's costs as agreed or taxed.
..............................................
Member
CATCHWORDS
COMPENSATION – correct diagnosis of condition – whether current condition related to employment or constitutional – whether incapacitated for work – whether entitled to compensation for house clean and gardening assistance – whether entitled to the cost of motorised garage doors
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, ss 4, 14, 19, 29, 39
Re Carson and Telstra Corporation (2001) 33 AAR 351
Lees v Comcare (1999) 29 AAR 350; 56 ALD 84
Comcare v Nichols [1999] FCA 209
Re Quinn and Australian Postal Corporation (1992) 15 AAR 519
Commonwealth v Borg (1991) 20 AAR 299n
Comcare v Rowe (2002) 35 AAR 410
Re Smith and Comcare [2002] AATA 249
REASONS FOR DECISION
6 December 2002 Mr G A Mowbray
This matter concerns five applications by Joanne Robertson for review of decisions made by Comcare. The first application (A2000/345) is for review of a decision dated 31 August 2000 that on and from 13 March 2000 Ms Robertson was not entitled to any payments for incapacity under section 19 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ("the Act"). A2001/44 relates to a decision dated 12 January 2001 that accepted some liability for household services but denied a "one off…
Continue reading Robertson and Comcare
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Robertson and Comcare [2002] AATA 1259
- Case
- [2002] AATA 1259
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The court's reasoning was influenced by prior cases such as Re Carson and Telstra Corporation and Lees v Comcare, which clarified the nature of "cease liability" decisions under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988. The court noted that such decisions do not necessarily revoke the initial determination of liability but rather may pertain to the cessation of certain compensation payments. The tribunal considered whether Ms Robertson's condition was related to her employment and if it rendered her incapacitated for work. It also examined her entitlement to compensation for household services, including a one-off clean and gardening assistance, as well as the cost of motorised garage doors.
After reviewing the evidence and submissions, the tribunal found that Ms Robertson's condition was indeed related to her employment, and she was entitled to certain forms of compensation. The tribunal concluded that the restrictions suggested by her general practitioner were reasonable and that her self-managed treatment regime was appropriate. The tribunal further determined that Ms Robertson was entitled to compensation for specific household services and the cost of motorised garage doors, based on the recommendations from a home assessment conducted in March 2000. The final orders reflected these findings, granting Ms Robertson the compensation she was entitled to for the services and costs in question.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Full text does not contain this section.
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Her current treatment regime was self-managed, which was appropriate. The only other intervention that might be suitable was formal pain management. The restrictions suggested by Dr Kwan were reasonable.Consideration of Issues and Findings"Cease liability/effects" decisions As I have said before, in many "cease liability" or "cease effect" decisions under the Act there appears to be a misunderstanding of the nature and effect of the determination that is made and of the statutory provisions relied on. In Re Carson and Telstra Corporation (2001) 33 AAR 351 Deputy President Estcourt stated"49. It would only be a rare case where a reconsideration of the substantive determination under s.14 that Comcare was liable to pay compensation in accordance with the Act would be warranted. Such a case might arise, for example, if it was subsequently discovered that the injury had never in fact occurred or that the person claiming was never in fact an employee.50. In such a case a reconsideration of the s.14 determination under s.62 resulting in a revocation would surely carry with it the result that no future claims in respect of that incident could properly be made, but in other cases, the revocation of a determination under relevant sections would not have the effect of preventing altogether further or other claims for compensation.…55. Telstra by its determination of 21 February 1995 was not, properly understood, denying those findings implicit in the original determination, it was merely determining that, on the available medical evidence, it was no longer liable for payment of medical expenses or incapacity payments.56. That is to say, the effect of the determination that "liability in respect of this injury ceased on and from 5 February 1995" was not a decision to "cease liability" altogether or to "cease liability" under s.14, but rather a purported determination to cease the payment of compensation under s.16 and s.19 of the Act.…58. The conclusion I have reached, namely, that at its highest, Telstra's determination only ceased payments of compensation under s.16 and s.19 of the Act and did not effectively revoke the earlier determination to accept liability under s.14, thereby preventing further claims for compensation being made at a later time, is also consistent with the reasoning of the Full Court in Plumb v Comcare (1992) 39 FCR 236." Implicit support for this approach is found in Lees v Comcare (1999) 29 AAR 350; 56 ALD 84, especially at [34] upon which Deputy President Estcourt relies. I agree with and adopt the views of Deputy President Estcourt. In these proceedings the fourth matter is a cease liability decision.The burden of persuasion It is neither particularly apt nor appropriate to refer to a common law concept of a burden or onus of proof placed on a particular party in administrative proceedings in the Tribunal. However there has been a line of authority in both the courts and the Tribunal on what has been described as the "burden of persuasion" in these matters.