Re Monger

Case [2004] WASC 48


RE MONGER; EX PARTE URQUHART [2004] WASC 48



SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIACitation No:[2004] WASC 48
Case No:CIV:2640/200222 MARCH 2004
Coram:ROBERTS-SMITH J25/03/04
12Judgment Part:1 of 1
Result: Order nisi for mandamus made absolute
B
PDF Version
Parties:COLIN SCOTT URQUHART

Catchwords:

Workers' compensation
Disability
Degree of permanent disability said to be 22 per cent at time of assessment
Condition still unstabilised
Should be further review to enable full evaluation of disability
Whether "unequivocal" statement that disability permanent
Director rejecting referral
Correct test
Medical report to indicate degree of permanent disability

Legislation:

Workers' Compensation & Rehabilitation Act 1981 (WA), s 93D(6)

Case References:

Clough Engineering v Thomas [2004] WASCA 36
Girrawheen Tavern v Joseph [2003] WASCA 244
Kinsella v Seton Catholic College, unreported; CM (WA); 112/00; 22 February 2001
Re Alexeef; Ex parte Paul [2002] WASC 291
Re Croser; Ex parte Rutherford (2001) 25 WAR 170
Re Monger; Ex parte Dutch [2001] WASCA 220

Edwards v Westaff (Australia) Pty Ltd & Anor, unreported; CM(WA); 179/03; 9 March 2004

JURISDICTION : SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA
    IN CIVIL
CITATION : RE MONGER; EX PARTE URQUHART [2004] WASC 48 CORAM : ROBERTS-SMITH J HEARD : 22 MARCH 2004 DELIVERED : 25 MARCH 2004 FILE NO/S : CIV 2640 of 2002 MATTER : Application for a Writ of Mandamus against ROSS MONGER, Director of Workcover WA EX PARTE

    COLIN SCOTT URQUHART
    Applicant



Catchwords:

Workers' compensation - Disability - Degree of permanent disability said to be 22 per cent at time of assessment - Condition still unstabilised - Should be further review to enable full evaluation of disability - Whether "unequivocal" statement that disability permanent - Director rejecting referral - Correct test - Medical report to indicate degree of permanent disability




Legislation:

Workers' Compensation & Rehabilitation Act 1981 (WA), s 93D(6)




Result:

Order nisi for mandamus made absolute



(Page 2)

Category: B

Representation:


Counsel:


    Applicant : Mr B L Nugawela


Solicitors:

    Applicant : Evangel Taylor



Case(s) referred to in judgment(s):

Clough Engineering v Thomas [2004] WASCA 36
Girrawheen Tavern v Joseph [2003] WASCA 244
Kinsella v Seton Catholic College, unreported; CM (WA); 112/00; 22 February 2001
Re Alexeef; Ex parte Paul [2002] WASC 291
Re Croser; Ex parte Rutherford (2001) 25 WAR 170
Re Monger; Ex parte Dutch [2001] WASCA 220

Case(s) also cited:



Edwards v Westaff (Australia) Pty Ltd & Anor, unreported; CM(WA); 179/03; 9 March 2004


(Page 3)

1 ROBERTS-SMITH J: This matter first came before me for hearing as a special appointment on Friday 19 March 2004. The potential contradictor (the respondent) had filed a notice that he would abide the court's decision and did not intend to appear. However, there was no appearance for the applicant. As a result, I ordered the application be struck out for want of prosecution.

2 Later that day, the applicant's solicitors advised that counsel had not appeared as a result of a domestic medical emergency, which they explained. They…

Continue reading Re Monger

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Re Monger [2004] WASC 48
Case
[2004] WASC 48
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

Colin Scott Urquhart applied for a writ of mandamus against Ross Monger, the Director of Workcover WA, seeking a direction that the Director accept the referral of a question about the degree of Urquhart's disability. The referral was made by Urquhart's solicitors on 5 June 2002 and accompanied by a medical report from Dr David Kennedy dated 4 June 2002. The Director rejected the referral on the basis that the report did not unequivocally state that Urquhart's disability was permanent. Urquhart's application was heard by Roberts-Smith J in the Supreme Court of Western Australia. The central issue before the court was whether the Director had correctly interpreted the statutory requirement for a medical report to indicate a permanent degree of disability, and whether the Director's rejection of the referral was lawful.

The court considered the relevant statutory provision, s 93D(6) of the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 1981 (WA), which mandates that the Director accept a referral if the medical report indicates the degree of disability is not less than the relevant level. The court examined previous case law, including Girrawheen Tavern v Joseph and Clough Engineering v Thomas, which highlighted the need for a non-technical and generous approach in interpreting the statutory requirements. The court also noted the distinction between an "indication" and an "unequivocal statement" of a permanent disability. The Director's insistence on an unequivocal statement was deemed contrary to the legislative intent and an inappropriate gloss on the statutory language. The court concluded that the Director had misstated the applicable law and that the report, while noting the condition was unstabilised, did indicate that the degree of disability was at least 22 per cent and could be more once the condition stabilised.

Roberts-Smith J held that the Director had erred in law by requiring an unequivocal statement of permanence and by rejecting the referral on that basis. The court found that the medical report did comply with s 93D(6) as it indicated the degree of disability was not less than the relevant level. The order nisi for mandamus made on 24 February 2003 was made absolute, directing the Director to accept the referral of the question regarding Urquhart's degree of disability.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.