Re Arthur and Comcare

Case [2004] AATA 241


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2004] AATA 241

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No A2002/160
  )          No A2002/423
  )          No A2002/434
  )          No A2002/476

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE  DIVISION )
Re DEBORAH ANNE ARTHUR

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Michael Sassella, Senior Member
Dr M D Miller AO, Member

Date10 March 2004

PlaceCanberra

Decision

The tribunal sets aside the reviewable decision dated 6 December 2002 (application A2002/476) and substitutes its own decision that Comcare is liable to pay compensation to Mrs Arthur in respect of depressive disorder.

The tribunal sets aside the reviewable decision dated 30 October 2001 (application A2002/423) and substitutes its own decision that Comcare is to pay compensation to Mrs Arthur for incapacity to work for the period from 5 to 30 June 2001 on the basis that Mrs Arthur has no ability to earn.

The tribunal sets aside the reviewable decision dated 9 April 2002 (application A2002/160) and substitutes its own decision that Comcare is to pay compensation to Mrs Arthur for incapacity to work for the period from 1 July 2001 to 14 January 2002 on the basis that Mrs Arthur has no ability to earn.

The tribunal sets aside the reviewable decision dated 31 October 2002 (application A2002/434).  The tribunal takes no further action in respect of this decision because the decision in relation to the reviewable decision dated 9 April 2002 has dealt with Mrs Arthur’s compensation entitlements for the period from 2 to 17 July 2001.

The applicant qualifies for costs in accordance with the tribunal’s general practice direction.

...............................................

Senior Member

CATCHWORDS

WORKERS' COMPENSATION – synovitis and tenosynovitis causing no incapacity for employment – depressive disorder aggravated by employment – compensation payable for incapacity for work caused by depressive disorder – action taken by employer not reasonable disciplinary action

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss 4(1)(“aggravation”, “ailment”, “disease”, “injury”), (9)(a), 7(4), (6), 14(1), 19(1), (2), (4)(e), 36(1)

Public Service Act 1999 ss 13, 15(1), (3), 22(6), 29(3)

Australian Postal Corporation v Oudyn (2003) 73 ALD 659

Casarotto v Australian Postal Commission (1989) 86 ALR 399

Re Harper and Commonwealth of Australia (1989) 17 ALD 569

Re Pandos and Commonwealth of Australia (1991) 22 ALD 784

Re To Nga Quach and Australian Postal Corporation (1991) 22 ALD 792

Commission for the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation for Commonwealth Employees v Chenhall (1992) 37 FCR 75

Re Choo and Comcare (1995) 39 ALD 399

Re Bennett and Comcare (1992) 17 AAR 18

Re Quarry and Comcare (1997) 47 ALD 113

REASONS FOR DECISION

March 2004 Michael Sassella, Senior Member
Dr M D Miller AO, Member           

RESULT

The tribunal has decided that Comcare should have accepted Mrs Arthur’s depressive disorder as a compensable injury.  The tribunal has decided that the action taken by her managers in Comsuper in respect of her job performance was not disciplinary action.  The tribunal has decided that Mrs Arthur qualifies for incapacity payments for the period from 5 June 2001 to 14 January 2002.  The…

Continue reading Re Arthur and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Re Arthur and Comcare [2004] AATA 241
Case
[2004] AATA 241
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

In the matter of Re Arthur and Comcare, the applicant sought compensation for injuries sustained in the course of her employment. Mrs Arthur's claim related to a degenerative condition of her knee and a depressive disorder. The dispute arose from Comcare's refusal to compensate Mrs Arthur for her alleged incapacity to work due to these conditions. The case was heard by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.

The primary legal issues addressed by the tribunal were whether Mrs Arthur's degenerative knee condition and depressive disorder were injuries within the meaning of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, and whether the employer's actions were reasonable in the circumstances. Specifically, the tribunal had to determine whether the employer's actions constituted reasonable disciplinary action under the Public Service Act 1999.

The tribunal concluded that Mrs Arthur's degenerative knee condition, while not an injury within the Act, did not prevent her from being capable of earning. However, the tribunal found that her depressive disorder was an injury under the Act, as it was aggravated by her employment and resulted in a total incapacity for work. The tribunal further found that the employer's actions were not reasonable, as they exacerbated Mrs Arthur's depressive disorder. Based on these findings, the tribunal substituted its own decision for Comcare to pay compensation for Mrs Arthur's incapacity to work due to her depressive disorder.

The tribunal set aside the previous decisions of Comcare and ordered that Comcare pay compensation to Mrs Arthur for her incapacity to work due to her depressive disorder. The tribunal also ordered that Mrs Arthur was entitled to costs in accordance with the tribunal’s general practice direction.

Orders

Orders of the court

The tribunal sets aside the reviewable decision dated 6 December 2002 (application A2002/476) and substitutes its own decision that Comcare is liable to pay compensation to Mrs Arthur in respect of depressive disorder.

The tribunal sets aside the reviewable decision dated 30 October 2001 (application A2002/423) and substitutes its own decision that Comcare is to pay compensation to Mrs Arthur for incapacity to work for the period from 5 to 30 June 2001 on the basis that Mrs Arthur has no ability to earn.

The tribunal sets aside the reviewable decision dated 9 April 2002 (application A2002/160) and substitutes its own decision that Comcare is to pay compensation to Mrs Arthur for incapacity to work for the period from 1 July 2001 to 14 January 2002 on the basis that Mrs Arthur has no ability to earn.

The tribunal sets aside the reviewable decision dated 31 October 2002 (application A2002/434). The tribunal takes no further action in respect of this decision because the decision in relation to the reviewable decision dated 9 April 2002 has dealt with Mrs Arthur’s compensation entitlements for the period from 2 to 17 July 2001.

The applicant qualifies for costs in accordance with the tribunal’s general practice direction.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.