Ramalingam and Comcare

Case [2004] AATA 385


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2004] AATA 385

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No A2003/133

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION )
Re SHANKAR RAMALINGAM

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Mr M J Sassella, Senior Member

Date16 April 2004

PlaceCanberra

Decision The decision under review is set aside and the tribunal substitutes its own decision that the applicant is entitled to compensation in accordance with s 14(1) of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

[sgd] M J Sassella

Senior Member

CATCHWORDS

WORKERS' COMPENSATION – applicant has compensable injury in the nature of adjustment disorder – applicant’s employment made material contribution to onset of adjustment disorder – workplace events affecting applicant predominantly not disciplinary action – applicant not precluded for payment of compensation because injury caused by reasonable disciplinary action

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss 4(1)(“aggravation”, “ailment”, “disease”, “injury”), 7(4)(a), (6), 14(1), 16, 19

Public Service Act 1999 ss 13, 15, 29(3)

Casarotto v Australian Postal Commission (1989) 86 ALR 399

Wiegand v Comcare Australia (2002) 72 ALD 795

Re Harper and Commonwealth of Australia (1989) 17 ALD 569

Re Pandos and Commonwealth of Australia (1991) 22 ALD 784

Re To Nga Quach and Australian Postal Corporation (1991) 22 ALD 79

Re Choo and Comcare (1995) 39 ALD 399

Re Bennett and Comcare (1992) 17 AAR 18

Re Quarry and Comcare (1997) 47 ALD 113

Re Arthur and Comcare [2004] AATA 241

Commission for the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation for Commonwealth Employees v Chenhall (1992) 37 FCR 75

Re Sheridan and Comcare (1999) 61 ALD 318

Re Battye and Comcare [2000] AATA 18

Re Sloane and Comcare (AAT 11512, 20 December 1996)

Re Tan and Comcare (AAT 12209, 15 September 1997)

Re Wierbicki and Comcare [1999] AATA 123. 

Re Friedlos and Comcare [1998] AATA 249

Re Mitsopoulos and Comcare (1999) 55 ALD 608

REASONS FOR DECISION

16 April 2004 Mr M J Sassella, Senior Member

RESULT

The tribunal has decided that Mr Ramalingam qualifies for payment of compensation in accordance with s 14(1) of the Act. However, in order to receive any compensation payments he will have to be found by a decision-maker to qualify for payment of particular forms of compensation. For example, he may qualify for weekly incapacity payments under s 19 of the Act if he satisfies the requirements of that section. As another example, he may apply for compensation for medical expenses under s 16 of the Act if he can satisfy the requirements of that section.

BACKGROUND

1.      Mr Shankar Ramalingam (“the applicant”), born 12 December 1957, commenced working at the Australian Agency for International Development (“AusAID”) on 26 March 2001.  On 29 May 2002 AusAID terminated Mr Ramalingam’s employment because it was alleged that he had failed to treat supervisors with respect and courtesy and he had failed to follow directions.  On 31 May 2002 Mr Ramalingam completed a claim form for compensation under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (“the Act”)[1] claiming anxiety, insomnia and…

Continue reading Ramalingam and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Ramalingam and Comcare [2004] AATA 385
Case
[2004] AATA 385
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

In this matter, the applicant sought compensation for an adjustment disorder that arose from his employment. The dispute was adjudicated in the Administrative Appeals Tribunal of Australia. The central legal issues concerned whether the applicant's employment had contributed materially to the onset of his compensable injury and whether the injury could be compensated despite it being caused by workplace events that were not disciplinary in nature. The tribunal needed to determine if the applicant's condition qualified as an injury under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 and if the injury was compensable despite arising from reasonable disciplinary action.

The tribunal considered the relevant statutory provisions and previous case law to address the issues. It found that the applicant's adjustment disorder was indeed an injury within the meaning of the Act. Importantly, the tribunal concluded that the workplace events leading to the disorder were not disciplinary actions but rather constituted a series of incidents that significantly affected the applicant's mental health. Given that the injury was not caused by unreasonable disciplinary action, the applicant was not precluded from receiving compensation. The tribunal emphasised that the focus should be on the nature of the workplace events and their impact on the employee rather than categorising them strictly as disciplinary.

The tribunal set aside the original decision and ruled that the applicant was entitled to compensation under section 14(1) of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988. The tribunal's decision recognised the broad scope of compensable injuries and underscored that workplace events detrimental to an employee's mental health could warrant compensation even if they were not disciplinary in nature. The tribunal's ruling provided clarity on the interpretation of "injury" and the circumstances under which compensation may be awarded.

Orders

Orders of the court

The decision under review is set aside and the tribunal substitutes its own decision that the applicant is entitled to compensation in accordance with s 14(1) of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.