FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA
National Disability Insurance Agency v Jones [2025] FCA 877
File number(s): QUD 334 of 2024 Judgment of: COLLIER J Date of judgment: 31 July 2025 Catchwords: ADMINISTRATIVE LAW – construction of s 25 of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth) – “early intervention supports” – requirements of s 25(3) – where decision-maker required to be satisfied that early intervention support for the person not most appropriately funded or provided through the National Disability Insurance Scheme – where early intervention supports not identified – where psychiatric report recommended clinical supports – decision of Tribunal attended by error of law – matter remitted for reconsideration Legislation: Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) s 44(1)
National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth) ss 3, 21, (1), (c), 24, (1)(a), 25, (1)(b), (c), (3)
National Disability Insurance Scheme Amendment (Getting the NDIS Back on Track No. 1) Act 2024 (Cth)
Division: General Division Registry: Queensland National Practice Area: Administrative Law Number of paragraphs: 29 Date of last submission/s: 11 November 2024 Date of hearing: 18 November 2024 Counsel for the Applicant: Mr PM Nolan Solicitor for the Applicant: Sparke Helmore Lawyers Counsel for the First Respondent: The First Respondent did not appear ORDERS
QUD 334 of 2024 BETWEEN: NATIONAL DISABILITY INSURANCE AGENCY
Applicant
AND: CAITLIN JONES
First Respondent
ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL
Second Respondent
ORDER MADE BY:
COLLIER J
DATE OF ORDER:
31 JULY 2025
THE COURT ORDERS THAT:
1.The decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal given orally on 23 May 2024 and in writing on 30 May 2024 be set aside.
2.The matter be remitted to the Administrative Review Tribunal, differently constituted, for reconsideration according to law.
3.There be no order as to costs.
Note: Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.
REASONS FOR JUDGMENT
COLLIER J:
Before the Court is a Notice of Appeal from a Tribunal, being an appeal by the National Disability Insurance Agency (applicant) from a decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (Tribunal) given orally on 23 May 2024 and in writing on 30 May 2024 (decision). In its decision the Tribunal set aside the review decision of the applicant dated 9 June 2023 (Review Decision). The Tribunal substituted the Review Decision with a decision that the first respondent (Ms Jones) met the early intervention requirements for access to the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) under s 25 of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (NDIS Act).
The lawful interpretation and application of s 25 of the NDIS Act is key to the present proceedings before me.
Unfortunately the proceeding before me was somewhat one-sided, in that there was no participation by Ms Jones at any time. In particular, at the hearing of the application, Mr Nolan for the applicant informed me as follows:
HER HONOUR: Good morning. Now, is there any appearance by the respondent?
MR NOLAN: As far…
Continue reading National Disability Insurance Agency v Jones
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- National Disability Insurance Agency v Jones [2025] FCA 877
- Case
- [2025] FCA 877
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The primary legal issue was whether the AAT erred in concluding that Ms Jones met the early intervention requirements under section 25 of the NDIS Act. The Court had to determine if the AAT correctly applied the relevant statutory provisions and if the evidence supported the AAT's findings. Specifically, the Court examined whether the AAT properly assessed the criteria in section 25(1) and (3) of the NDIS Act, including whether Ms Jones' impairments were likely to be permanent and whether the early intervention supports were most appropriately funded by the NDIS.
The Court found that the AAT had misapplied section 25(3) of the NDIS Act, which requires the NDIA to be satisfied that early intervention supports are not more appropriately funded or provided by other systems. The AAT failed to consider that the supports Ms Jones required were primarily clinical in nature and the responsibility of the health system, not the NDIS. Consequently, the Court concluded that the AAT's decision was flawed as it did not perform its statutory task correctly. The Court set aside the AAT's decision and remitted the matter back to the AAT for reconsideration.
The final orders of the Court were to set aside the decision of the AAT, remit the matter to the AAT for reconsideration by a differently constituted tribunal, and make no order as to costs. This outcome ensures that the AAT re-evaluates Ms Jones' eligibility for NDIS funding in light of the correct legal principles and evidence.
Orders
Orders of the court
1. The decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal given orally on 23 May 2024 and in writing on 30 May 2024 be set aside.
2. The matter be remitted to the Administrative Review Tribunal, differently constituted, for reconsideration according to law.
3. There be no order as to costs.
Note: Entry of orders is dealt with in Rule 39.32 of the Federal Court Rules 2011.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Full text does not contain this section.
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
As I noted earlier in these reasons, only the applicant made any submissions in this matter. In summary, the applicant submitted:·The issue requiring determination by the Tribunal was whether Ms Jones met the disability requirements under s 24 or the early intervention requirements under s 25 of the NDIS Act.·The Tribunal’s reasons attached significant weight to the reports of the psychiatrist Dr Ewer. In his later report Dr Ewer limited his diagnoses to Post-traumatic Stress Disorder and a Major Depressive Disorder.·The Tribunal was satisfied that Ms Jones met the early intervention requirements under s 25 of the Act, however in doing so the Tribunal failed to ask itself the correct questions, misunderstood or misapplied s 25(3) of the NDIS Act and thereby failed to perform its statutory task.·The legislation contemplates that the NDIS would not cover people whose requirements for support would most appropriately be met by other systems.·The Tribunal found (at [9] of its reasons) that the treatments suggested by Dr Ewer, and the supports Ms Jones claimed she would require, were clinical in nature and were primarily the responsibility of the health system to deliver.·The Tribunal found that the “specific supports” that “may be provided” to Ms Jones as part of the “planning process…may yet be different from what the Applicant is asking for now”, however that speculation was an erroneous basis on which to conclude that Ms Jones met the early intervention requirement.·Assistance to access services that appropriately lie outside of the NDIS are “general supports” rather than “early intervention supports” for the purposes of s 25. The Tribunal incorrectly conflated “general supports” with “early intervention supports”.·Although the NDIS Act was amended following the determination by the Tribunal, it is appropriate for the Court to apply s 25 as it stood prior to those amendments.CONSIDERATION In her application to the Tribunal Ms Jones sought review of the Review Decision on the following basis:I have found that as the NDIS has moved in the mainstream of the disability sector. All access to resources are being moved over to the NDIS system. Meaning that people like myself are not even receiving the support that they need, as I am not considered disabled enough for the NDIS but on the other hand my access to any adequate support is accessible as they are all NDIS providers. I have been forced by the Government’s hand to be on the NDIS not because I want to but because there is no other option for me now. But at the same time the government wants me to fight to prove im disabled enough to be deemed fit to access any help through the NDIS to which they are declaring I am not and my claim was denied. I am very confused as to how the government has considered me disabled enough to place me on a disability pension but then conclude I’m not disabled enough to not have any access to resources through the NDIS to support a recovery to get off the disability pension (which I think at this stage will never happen).(errors in original)