Morton and Comcare

Case [2005] AATA 318


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2005] AATA 318

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No   A2004/117

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION )
Re   SUSAN MORTON

Applicant

And

  COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal

  Mr J.W. Constance, Senior Member

Dr M.D. Miller AO, Member

Date  8 April 2005

Place  Canberra

Decision

1.        The reviewable decision made 17 March 2004 is set aside.

2.        In substitution the Tribunal decides:

1)      that in the period between 1995 and 2003 inclusive Ms Morton suffered an injury resulting in permanent impairment within the meaning of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth);

2)      that the degree of permanent impairment of Ms Morton resulting from the injury is 24%;

3)      that Comcare is liable to pay compensation to Ms Morton in respect of the injury pursuant to section 24 of the Act;

4)      Comcare is liable to pay additional compensation to Ms Morton in respect of the injury pursuant to section 27 of the Act in accordance with the scores determined by the Tribunal.

3.        Each party shall have liberty to apply for an order in relation to costs if necessary.

..............................................

Senior Member

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION – permanent impairment – pain and restricted movement in cervical spine – whether pain due to physiological pathology or psychology – whether pain permanent – assessment of whole person impairment and non-economic loss – decision set aside

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) – s 24, 27

Commonwealth v Beattie (1981) 35 ALR 369

Tippett v Australian Postal Corporation (1998) 27 AAR 40

Halliday v Comcare Australia (1994) 19 AAR 431

Comcare v Kay (1997) 26 AAR 124

Comcare v Fiedler (2001) 115 FCR 328

Whittaker v Comcare (1998) FCR 532

REASONS FOR DECISION

8 April 2005 Mr J.W. Constance, Senior Member
Dr M.D. Miller AO, Member

1.        In 1996, as an employee of the Department of the Senate, Ms Morton suffered an injury to her right arm.  Initially Comcare accepted liability for “severe tendonitis of the right forearm.”  This was later extended to liability for “a sequelae injury of ‘adjustment disorder with depression’ that has been sustained as a result of the accepted physical injury”.

2.        In 2003 Ms Morton made a claim for permanent impairment for “Continual pain in neck & both arms reduced strength in both arms depression, anxiety, teariness restricted mobility of neck”.[1]  This claim was rejected.

[1] Exhibit A7, T17.

3.        Ms Morton seeks a review of the decision of Comcare affirming the decision to reject her claim.  It should be noted that at the hearing of the application for review Ms Morton did not seek to claim any permanent impairment arising from a psychiatric condition.

4.        We have decided that Ms Morton has suffered permanent impairment resulting from a compensable injury and that she is entitled to compensation for that impairment and for the non-economic loss suffered as a result.

5.        For the reasons we now set out the decision under review will be set aside and a decision will be made in…

Continue reading Morton and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Morton and Comcare [2005] AATA 318
Case
[2005] AATA 318
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The case involved a dispute between Ms Morton and Comcare over compensation for a permanent impairment caused by an injury. The case was heard by the Federal Court of Australia. The central issue was whether Ms Morton's pain and restricted movement in her cervical spine were due to physiological pathology or psychological factors, and if the pain was permanent. Additionally, the court needed to assess the whole person impairment and non-economic loss to determine the appropriate compensation.

The court examined various cases and statutes, including the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth), to understand the legal framework for determining permanent impairment and compensation. The court considered the arguments from both parties and the evidence presented, including medical reports and expert opinions. Ultimately, the court found that Ms Morton's pain and restricted movement were due to a combination of physiological pathology and psychological factors, and that the pain was permanent.

In its decision, the court set aside the previous determination and substituted its own findings. The court found that Ms Morton suffered an injury resulting in permanent impairment between 1995 and 2003, with a degree of permanent impairment of 24%. The court held that Comcare was liable to pay compensation to Ms Morton in accordance with the Act, including additional compensation for non-economic loss. The court's decision provided a clear framework for assessing permanent impairment and determining appropriate compensation in similar cases.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The reviewable decision made 17 March 2004 is set aside.

2. In substitution the Tribunal decides:

1) that in the period between 1995 and 2003 inclusive Ms Morton suffered an injury resulting in permanent impairment within the meaning of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth);

2) that the degree of permanent impairment of Ms Morton resulting from the injury is 24%;

3) that Comcare is liable to pay compensation to Ms Morton in respect of the injury pursuant to section 24 of the Act;

4) Comcare is liable to pay additional compensation to Ms Morton in respect of the injury pursuant to section 27 of the Act in accordance with the scores determined by the Tribunal.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.