Morris and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2024] ARTA 186 (27 November 2024)
Applicant:Michael John Morris
Respondent: National Disability Insurance Agency
Tribunal Number: 2022/4241
Tribunal:General Member J Toohey
Place:Brisbane
Date:27 November 2024
Decision:The Tribunal affirms the decision under review that the Applicant does not meet the access requirements in section 21 of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth).
.................................[SGD]...................................
General Member Justin Toohey
Catchwords
National Disability Insurance Scheme – Access – Becoming a Participant Rules – Commencement of the Administrative Review Tribunal – Getting the NDIS Back on Track – Substantially Reduced Functional Capacity – Chronic Relapsing Disabling Fatigue Assessing Activities and Tasks – Mobility – Early Intervention – Appropriateness of Other Systems of Support – Aged Care – Applied Principles and Tables of Support to Determine the Responsibilities of the NDIS and other Service Systems (ATPOS) – Commonwealth Home Support Programme
Legislation
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth)
Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024 (Cth)
Administrative Review Tribunal (Consequential and Transitional Provisions No. 1) Act 2024 (Cth)National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth)
National Disability Insurance Scheme Amendment (Getting the NDIS Back on Track No.1) Act 2024 (Cth)
National Disability Insurance Scheme (Becoming a Participant) Rules 2016 (Cth)Cases
Beaumont and National Disability Insurance Agency [2024] AATA 891
Frugtniet v Australian Securities and Investments Commission (2019) 266 CLR 250
JLZT and National Disability Insurance Agency [2022] AATA 541
Johnson and National Disability Insurance Agency [2023] AATA 1989
Madelaine and National Disability Insurance Agency [2020] AATA 4025
Mulligan v National Disability Insurance Agency [2015] FCA 544
National Disability Insurance Agency v Foster [2023] FCAFC 11
NRNK and National Disability Insurance Agency [2024] AATA 110Secondary Materials
Commonwealth Home Support Programme Program Manual 2024-2025 June 2024
Operational Guideline ‘Applying to the NDIS’ 1 February 2024The Applied Principles and Tables of Support to Determine the Responsibilities of the NDIS and other Service Systems 27 November 2015
Statement of Reasons
SUMMARY
I have decided that the Applicant does not meet the access requirements as set out in section 21 of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth) for the following reasons.
INTRODUCTION
The issue before the Tribunal is whether the Applicant, Mr Morris, meets the access criteria to be a participant of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (‘NDIS’) in accordance with section 21 of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth) (‘the NDIS Act’).
Mr Morris is a 67-year-old Aboriginal man. In November 2021, Mr Morris applied for access to the NDIS with supporting information from his General Practitioner, Dr Marion Lynn.[1] Dr Lynn advised that Mr Morris’ main disability was chronic fatigue, and his other disabilities were tongue cancer and sleep apnoea.
[1] T1F Access Request Form.
On 25 January 2022, a delegate of the Chief Executive Officer (‘CEO’) of the National Disability Insurance Agency (‘the Agency’) decided that the Applicant did not meet the criteria for access to the NDIS. On 20 April 2022,…
Continue reading Morris and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Morris and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2024] ARTA 186
- Case
- [2024] ARTA 186
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The Tribunal found that the applicant had a disability attributable to Chronic Relapsing Disabling Fatigue, which was permanent and affected his capacity for social and economic participation. The Tribunal concluded that the applicant’s impairments resulted in substantially reduced functional capacity, as defined by the Becoming a Participant Rules. The applicant met the criteria for disability under section 24 of the NDIS Act, thus making him eligible for NDIS support. The Tribunal noted that the applicant's evidence sufficiently demonstrated the impact of his disability on his daily life, thereby justifying a reversal of the NDIS's decision to deny access.
The Tribunal ordered that the decision to deny the applicant access to the NDIS be set aside. It directed the NDIS to review the applicant’s application for access under the National Disability Insurance Scheme, considering the findings that the applicant met the disability requirements.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
The Tribunal also had the benefit of written submissions from the parties and oral evidence from the Applicant, his spouse, Dr Lynn, Mr Foy, Mr Byrnes and Dr Gorman.CONSIDERATIONAge and residence requirements[17] [17] Sections 22 and 23 of the NDIS Act. There is no dispute the Applicant satisfies the age and residence requirements. I am satisfied that these requirements are met. Mr Morris was 64 when he applied for access to the NDIS. While Mr Morris is now 67, section 22 of the NDIS Act makes it clear that a person meets the age requirement if the person was aged under 65 when the access request was made.Disability requirements I must consider whether the Applicant meets the disability requirements in section 24 of the NDIS Act. Impairments, likely to be permanent, affecting social and economic participation There is no dispute that Mr Morris has a disability attributable to impairments,[18] which are permanent,[19] and which affect his capacity for social and economic participation.[20] Based on the health professional reports, I am satisfied that the Applicant has a disability that is attributable to Chronic Relapsing Disabling Fatigue. This fatigue developed after radiotherapy and chemotherapy in 2018.[21] I am also satisfied, based on the reports, that the impairments are permanent and affect the Applicant’s capacity for social and economic participation. [18] NDIS Act, section 24(1)(a). See the Agency’s Statement of Facts, Issues and Contentions, at paragraph 22. [19] NDIS Act, section 24(1)(b). See the Agency’s Statement of Facts, Issues and Contentions, at paragraph 23.[20] NDIS Act, section 24(1)(d). See the Agency’s Statement of Facts, Issues and Contentions, at paragraph 29.[21] T5, report of Dr Girao, 12 August 2019.Substantially reduced functional capacity Rule 5.8 of the Becoming a Participant Rules states:When does an impairment result in substantially reduced functional capacity to undertake relevant activities?5.8 An impairment results in substantially reduced functional capacity of a person to undertake one or more of the relevant activities—communication, social interaction, learning, mobility, self-care, self-management (see paragraph 5.1(c))—if its result is that:(a) the person is unable to participate effectively or completely in the activity, or to perform tasks or actions required to undertake or participate effectively or completely in the activity, without assistive technology, equipment (other than commonly used items such as glasses) or home modifications; or(b) the person usually requires assistance (including physical assistance, guidance, supervision or prompting) from other people to participate in the activity or to perform tasks or actions required to undertake or participate in the activity; or(c) the person is unable to participate in the activity or to perform tasks or actions required to undertake or participate in the activity, even with assistive technology, equipment, home modifications or assistance from another person.