Mitchell and Comcare (Compensation) [2016] AATA 871 (4 November 2016)
Division
GENERAL DIVISION
File Number(s)
2016/1568
Re
Albertus Mitchell
APPLICANT
And
Comcare
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal Dr L Bygrave, Member
Dr M Couch, MemberDate 4 November 2016 Place Sydney The Tribunal sets aside the reviewable decision and in substitution decides that Albertus Mitchell continues to be entitled to the terms of the Comcare determination dated 8 April 2011.
.....................................[sgd]...................................
Dr L Bygrave, Member
CATCHWORDS
COMPENSATION – liability initially accepted for aggravation of adjustment disorder with anxious and depressed mood – later determination found condition was a result of a pre-existing, constitutional personality disorder – whether applicant remains presently entitled to compensation under ss 16 and 19 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 – decision set aside
LEGISLATION
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) ss 16, 19
REASONS FOR DECISION
Dr L Bygrave, Member
Dr M Couch, MemberNovember 2016
INTRODUCTION
The applicant, Mr Albertus Mitchell, was born in 1974.
Mr Mitchell attended the University of NSW where he completed a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering in 1998 and a Masters of Technology Management in 2000. Between 1998 and 2002, Mr Mitchell was employed by Boeing Australia, Lucent Technology and ADI. Mr Mitchell moved to Canberra and was employed from 2002 to 2006 as a Systems Engineer working on various defence projects.
On 23 October 2006, Mr Mitchell commenced employment at the Department of Defence (the Department) in Canberra. His employment at the Department was terminated on 14 October 2009.
On 8 April 2011, Comcare accepted liability for an injury of ‘aggravation of adjustment disorder with anxious and depressed mood’ (compensable injury) that was deemed to have been sustained by Mr Mitchell on 11 July 2009 and was significantly contributed to by his employment with the Department. Comcare issued a determination on 17 October 2011 that Mr Mitchell had suffered a 30% whole person impairment (WPI) in relation to his compensable injury.[1]
[1] A letter from Comcare dated 15 November 2011 stated that, following reconsideration by a Comcare delegate, Mr Mitchell’s WPI rating was increased from 25% to 30%.
Following a medical assessment on 4 December 2015, Comcare determined on 27 January 2016 that Mr Mitchell was not presently entitled to compensation for incapacity under s 19 and/or medical expenses under s 16 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (the Act). This determination was affirmed by Comcare on 2 March 2016.
On 23 March 2016, Mr Mitchell lodged an application to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal for a review of the determination by Comcare on 2 March 2016.
The application was heard in Sydney on 6 and 7 September 2016. Mr Mitchell attended the hearing in person and had legal representation.
ISSUE FOR DETERMINATION
There is substantial material before the Tribunal relating to incidents that occurred while Mr Mitchell was employed at the Department and processes involved with resolving those incidents and the compensable injury.
This application does not require, and it is not appropriate for, the…
Continue reading Mitchell and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Mitchell and Comcare (Compensation) [2016] AATA 871
- Case
- [2016] AATA 871
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The Tribunal was required to determine whether Mr Mitchell continued to suffer from the effects of his compensable injury, specifically an adjustment disorder with anxiety and depressed mood, which had been significantly contributed to by his employment. This involved assessing whether his condition was a consequence of his employment or a pre-existing personality disorder, and whether the sequelae of the employment stressor were ongoing.
The Tribunal considered extensive medical evidence from various practitioners. While some reports suggested a possible residual psychological vulnerability or constitutional cause for Mr Mitchell's condition, the Tribunal found the weight of medical evidence indicated that Mr Mitchell continued to suffer from an adjustment disorder with anxious and depressed mood. The Tribunal was not persuaded by a diagnosis of a general personality disorder, noting inconsistencies with other treating psychiatrists and a reliance on a report from a practitioner Mr Mitchell did not fully engage with. The Tribunal concluded that the employment at the Department was the stressor for his adjustment disorder, and the ongoing consequences, including loss of employment and career interruption, constituted continuing sequelae of his compensable injury.
Accordingly, the Tribunal set aside Comcare's reviewable decision and substituted a decision that Mr Mitchell continued to be entitled to the terms of the original Comcare determination dated 8 April 2011.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Dr Lee acknowledged Mr Mitchell’s childhood experiences but noted that, although these may have contributed to his interpersonal sensitivity, these experiences had not caused his current anxiety and depression or his adjustment disorder. She stated that, while Mr Mitchell had ‘a lot of issues going on’, most of these were ‘in the background’. Rather, it was his adjustment disorder that was impacting on his capacity to return to work.CONSIDERATION On 2 March 2016, Comcare affirmed the determination made on 27 January 2016 that Mr Mitchell no longer suffered from the compensable injury. Comcare relied solely on the medical reports by Dr Akkerman, Dr Ventura and Dr Lee, and determined that Mr Mitchell has a psychiatric condition but this condition ‘is as a result of a pre-existing, constitutional personality disorder’. We have considered all the evidence before the Tribunal and find that:·Mr Mitchell suffered from an adjustment disorder with anxiety and depressed mood that was significantly contributed to by his employment at the Department. This is the compensable injury that Comcare accepted liability for on 8 April 2011.·Mr Mitchell has personality vulnerable features as described by Dr Lee and Dr Dimarco. We are not persuaded by Dr Ventura’s diagnosis that Mr Mitchell has a general personality disorder because this is inconsistent with the evidence of the other psychiatrists (Dr George, Dr Swift, Dr Dinnen, Dr Taylor, Dr Synnott, Dr Akkerman, Dr Dimarco and Dr Lee) who have treated and diagnosed Mr Mitchell’s psychiatric condition since 2008. We also note that Dr Ventura relied on Dr Akkerman’s assertion that Mr Mitchell’s condition may be congenital to make her diagnosis. We place limited weight on Dr Akkerman’s report in view of Mr Mitchell’s oral evidence to the Tribunal that he left his appointment with Dr Akkerman before it was completed.·Dr Ventura’s opinion that ‘bipolar affective disorder Type II should be considered as a differential diagnosis’ relied on the diagnosis of Dr Anis set out in the discharge summary dated 4 July 2011 from the St John of God Hospital. As there is no further information provided to the Tribunal in relation to this diagnosis and no evidence of a diagnosis of bipolar affective disorder Type II from any of the other consulting psychiatrists who have treated Mr Mitchell, we are not persuaded by this opinion.·The weight of medical evidence shows that Mr Mitchell continues to suffer from an adjustment disorder with anxious and depressed mood. The ‘stressor’ for his adjustment disorder was his employment at the Department, which ceased in 2009. The sequelae of the stressor are the consequences of his compensable injury, which are continuing. The sequelae of the stressor include Mr Mitchell’s enduring loss of employment and interruption to his career, and dealing with ongoing legal proceedings associated with his compensable injury. We note Dr Synnott’s view that it may be difficult to correctly attribute symptoms to a particular stressor in a medico-legal context.CONCLUSION