Mitchell and Comcare (Compensation) [2021] AATA 3376 (17 September 2021)
Division:GENERAL DIVISION
File Number(s): 2019/4342; 2020/2610
Re:Albertus Mitchell
APPLICANT
AndComcare
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:Senior Member A Poljak
Date:17 September 2021
Place:Sydney
In accordance with s 43 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth):
(a)The reviewable decision dated 1 July 2019 is affirmed.
(b)The reviewable decision dated 23 April 2020 is set aside and in substitution find that as at 5 December 2019, the applicant did not suffer a ‘disease’ in accordance with s 5B of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (the Act). Therefore, the pre-requisites, specified under s 37(1) for making any determination, are not fulfilled.
(c)There is no order as to costs.
..................................[sgd]......................................
Senior Member A Poljak
CATCHWORDS
COMPENSATION – applicant previously employed by Department of Defence – adjustment disorder – anxiety – depression – adult attention deficit disorder – hepatitis B – post traumatic stress disorder – renal failure – back pain – claim for boxing classes to be compensated under s 16 – claim for law degree to be included as part of rehabilitation program under s 37 – whether applicant continued to suffer from aggravation of compensable injury during relevant period – whether applicant still suffered a ‘disease’ as defined in ss 4 and 5B – reviewable decision related to boxing classes claim affirmed – reviewable decision related to law degree claim set aside and substituted
LEGISLATION
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) s 43
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988(Cth) ss 4, 5A, 5B, 14, 16, 19, 37
CASES
Albertus Mitchell and Comcare [2016] AATA 871
Kirkpatrick v Commonwealth (1985) 9 FCR 36
Pedersen and Comcare [2016] AATA 449
Prain v Comcare (2017) 256 FCR 65; [2017] FCAFC 143
Telstra Corporation Ltd v Hannaford (2006) 151 FCR 253
REASONS FOR DECISION
Senior Member A Poljak
17 September 2021
Mr Mitchell, the applicant, has a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering and a Master of Technology Management from the University of NSW. He has also obtained a Certificate IV in Accounting, a Master of Business Administration, and a Certificate II in Security Operations.
The applicant commenced employment with the Department of Defence (Defence) on 23 October 2006. After 28 October 2009, the applicant’s employment with Defence was terminated.
On 10 October 2007, the applicant claimed that he suffered a psychiatric injury which he alleged was caused by several workplace factors including harassment and interactions with his supervisor. On 9 February 2008, the respondent accepted liability under section 14 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (the Act) for adjustment reaction with mixed emotional features with a deemed date of injury of 13 June 2007 (compensable injury).
On 3 January 2008, the applicant reportedly stated to Anita Boettger, rehabilitation consultant, that he would kill himself and take other people (Defence personnel) with him. The applicant denied making these threats. On 9 December 2009, the applicant lodged a further claim for compensation for…
Continue reading Mitchell and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Mitchell and Comcare (Compensation) [2021] AATA 3376
- Case
- [2021] AATA 3376
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The court was required to determine several legal issues. Firstly, it needed to ascertain whether the applicant suffered from an aggravation of a compensable injury on 5 December 2019 and, if so, whether that condition still constituted a "disease" as defined in ss 4 and 5B of the Act. Secondly, the court had to consider whether, in light of s 37(1) of the Act, any rehabilitation program should be provided from 5 December 2019. Finally, if a rehabilitation program was deemed appropriate, the court had to assess whether including a law degree was the preferable decision, having regard to the factors outlined in s 37(3) of the Act.
The court reasoned that while the applicant had suffered from an adjustment disorder, by the relevant periods of review, this disorder no longer had a significant impact on his functioning, with other contributing factors having a far greater impact. Consequently, the court found that during the period between 10 September 2018 and 30 February 2019, the applicant did not suffer a "disease" as defined in s 4(1) and s 5B of the Act, meaning he was not entitled to medical treatment under s 16. Furthermore, as at 5 December 2019, the applicant did not suffer a "disease" under s 5B, and therefore, the prerequisites for a rehabilitation program under s 37(1) were not met.
In accordance with s 43 of the *Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975* (Cth), the reviewable decision dated 1 July 2019 was affirmed. The reviewable decision dated 23 April 2020 was set aside, and in substitution, it was found that as at 5 December 2019, the applicant did not suffer a "disease" under s 5B of the Act, meaning no rehabilitation program was required. There were no orders as to costs.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
On 3 October 2012, Professor Farrell, hepatologist, advised that the applicant was treated with Interferon in 2007 for hepatitis B. He reported that the applicant ‘became quite depressed during the interferon period and during the last few years there have been some substantive psychological health issues’. Consideration The decisions under review concern only s 16 compensation and a s 37 rehabilitation program. I cannot review the initial s 14 liability. However, I must determine the nature of the injury for the purpose of its present review, and in so doing can make findings inconsistent with the original s 14 decision to accept liability: Telstra Corporation Ltd v Hannaford (2006) 151 FCR 253. Section 16 of the Act relates to the ‘injury’ the employee has suffered and its effects as at the time treatment was sought. Section 37 of the Act provides that a rehabilitation authority may make a determination that an employee who has suffered an injury resulting in an incapacity for work or an impairment should undertake a rehabilitation program. ‘Injury’ is defined in s 5A(1) of the Act as follows: injury means: (a) a disease suffered by an employee; or (b) an injury (other than a disease) suffered by an employee, that is a physical or mental injury arising out of, or in the course of, the employee’s employment; or (c) an aggravation of a physical or mental injury (other than a disease) suffered by an employee (whether or not that injury arose out of, or in the course of, the employee’s employment), that is an aggravation that arose out of, or in the course of, that employment; but does not include a disease, injury or aggravation suffered as a result of reasonable administrative action taken in a reasonable manner in respect of the employee’s employment. ‘Disease’ is defined in s 5B of the Act as follows:Definition of disease (1) In this Act: disease means: (a) an ailment suffered by an employee; or (b) an aggravation of such an ailment; that was contributed to, to a significant degree, by the employee’s employment by the Commonwealth or a licensee. (2) In determining whether an ailment or aggravation was contributed to, to a significant degree, by an employee’s employment by the Commonwealth or a licensee, the following matters may be taken into account: (a) the duration of the employment; (b) the nature of, and particular tasks involved in, the employment; (c) any predisposition of the employee to the ailment or aggravation; (d) any activities of the employee not related to the employment; (e) any other matters affecting the employee’s health. This subsection does not limit the matters that may be taken into account. (3) In this Act: significant degree means a degree that is substantially more than material. I accept that in the relevant 2018 and 2019 period, the applicant continued to suffer from symptoms of an adjustment disorder however, the adjustment disorder no longer has a significant impact on the applicant’s functioning as opposed to the far greater impact of other contributing factors.