Ly v Jitt Offset Pty Ltd

Case [2021] NSWPICPD 2


DETERMINATION OF APPEAL AGAINST A DECISION OF THE COMMISSION CONSTITUTED BY A MEMBER
CITATION: Ly v Jitt Offset Pty Ltd [2021] NSWPICPD 2
APPELLANT: Van Tho Ly
RESPONDENT: Jitt Offset Pty Ltd
INSURER: AAI Limited t/as GIO
FILE NUMBER: A1-4002/20
MEMBER: Mr J Isaksen
DATE OF MEMBER’S DECISION: 1 October 2020
DATE OF APPEAL DECISION: 18 March 2021
CATCHWORDS: WORKERS COMPENSATION – principles applicable to the acceptance or rejection of expert evidence that is not rebutted by contrary expert opinion – Strinic v Singh [2009] NSWCA 15, Wiki v Atlantis Relocations (NSW) Pty Ltd [2004] NSWCA 174 considered and applied
PRESIDENTIAL MEMBER: Deputy President Elizabeth Wood
HEARING: On the papers
REPRESENTATION: Appellant:
Mr M Daley, counsel
MN Compensation Lawyers
Respondent:
Mr J Beran, counsel
Hall & Wilcox
ORDERS MADE ON APPEAL:

1.     Determination 1 and Order 2 of the Certificate of Determination dated 1 October 2020 are revoked.

2.     The appellant’s neck condition is a consequential condition resulting from the appellant’s injury to the back occurring on 20 October 1997.

3.     The respondent is to pay the appellant’s reasonably necessary treatment expenses pursuant to s 60 of the 1987 Act.

4. The matter is remitted to a non-presidential member in order to determine the terms upon which the claim/s pursuant to s 66 of the 1987 Act are to be referred to the medical assessor.

INTRODUCTION AND BACKGROUND

  1. Mr Van Tho Ly (the appellant) was employed by Jitt Offset Pty Ltd (the respondent) as a general factory hand. The appellant suffered the onset of lower back pain on 20 October 1997 in the course of his employment with the respondent when he was stacking boxes from a machine. The appellant lodged a claim for compensation with the respondent and the respondent accepted liability.

  2. On 10 June 1998, the appellant underwent surgery to his lower back in the form of a spinal decompression and discectomy at the hands of Dr Peter Giblin, orthopaedic surgeon. On 16 May 2000, a consent award was entered in the Compensation Court wherein the respondent agreed to pay the appellant lump sum compensation pursuant to s 66 of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 (the 1987 Act) in respect of 22.5% permanent impairment of the back and 7.5% loss of efficient use of the left leg at or above the knee. An award was entered in favour of the respondent “in respect of any claim for permanent impairment of the neck … ”.[1] Further consent orders were entered in the Workers Compensation Commission on 16 October 2007, which dealt with a claim brought by the appellant in relation to his weekly compensation entitlements.

    [1] Short Minutes of Order, Reply to Application to Resolve a Dispute (Reply), p 87.

  3. The appellant brought proceedings in the former Workers Compensation Commission in 2020, alleging that the neck symptoms that the appellant was experiencing were a consequence of the lower back injury. The appellant claimed a further 7.5% permanent impairment of the back, a further 2.5% loss of efficient…

Continue reading Ly v Jitt Offset Pty Ltd

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Ly v Jitt Offset Pty Ltd [2021] NSWPICPD 2
Case
[2021] NSWPICPD 2
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

Ly brought an appeal against the decision of the Workers Compensation Commission of New South Wales, contesting the rejection of his claim for ongoing treatment costs related to a neck condition, which he argued was a consequential injury from a back injury sustained in 1997. The appeal was heard by the District Court of New South Wales. The primary dispute centred on whether the neck condition was a consequential injury of the 1997 back injury, and if so, whether the rejection of the expert evidence supporting this claim was justified.

The legal issues before the court involved the principles applicable to the acceptance or rejection of expert evidence that was not rebutted by contrary expert opinion. The court considered the cases of Strinic v Singh and Wiki v Atlantis Relocations (NSW) Pty Ltd, which established the framework for evaluating unrebutted expert evidence. The key issue was whether the Commission erred in rejecting the appellant's expert evidence regarding the consequential nature of the neck condition without presenting contrary expert evidence.

The court found that the Commission had misapplied the principles governing the acceptance of unrebutted expert evidence. It determined that the Commission should have accepted the appellant's expert evidence as it was not rebutted by contrary expert opinion. The court held that the neck condition was indeed a consequential injury of the 1997 back injury. Consequently, the court revoked the earlier determinations, recognised the consequential nature of the neck injury, and directed that the respondent pay the appellant's reasonably necessary treatment expenses. The matter was remitted to a non-presidential member to determine the appropriate terms for referring the claim to the medical assessor.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. Determination 1 and Order 2 of the Certificate of Determination dated 1 October 2020 are revoked.

2. The appellant’s neck condition is a consequential condition resulting from the appellant’s injury to the back occurring on 20 October 1997.

3. The respondent is to pay the appellant’s reasonably necessary treatment expenses pursuant to s 60 of the 1987 Act.

4. The matter is remitted to a non-presidential member in order to determine the terms upon which the claim/s pursuant to s 66 of the 1987 Act are to be referred to the medical assessor.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.