Lamers v Repatriation Commission

Case [2001] FCA 24


FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

Lamers v Repatriation Commission [2001] FCA 24

VETERANS’ AFFAIRS – appeal from decision of Administrative Appeals Tribunal – whether veteran entitled to pension at special rate – whether failure to act according to substantial justice and substantial merits of case – whether error of law – nature of remunerative work undertaken by veteran.

Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth): s 24, s 119

Flentjar v Repatriation Commission (1997) 26 AAR 93 referred to

Banovich v Repatriation Commission (1986) 69 ALR 395 referred to
Repatriation Commission v Sheehy (1995) 133 ALR 654 referred to
Collins v Minister for Immigration (1981) 36 ALR 598 referred to

PETER JOHN LAMERS as the legal personal representative of the late JOHN FLENTJAR v REPATRIATION COMMISSION

V 660 of 1999

GOLDBERG J
24 JANUARY 2001
MELBOURNE

IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

VICTORIA DISTRICT REGISTRY

V 660 of 1999

BETWEEN:

PETER JOHN LAMERS as the legal personal representative of the late JOHN FLENTJAR
Applicant

AND:

REPATRIATION COMMISSION
Respondent

JUDGE:

GOLDBERG J

DATE OF ORDER:

24 JANUARY 2001

WHERE MADE:

MELBOURNE

THE COURT ORDERS THAT:

1.        The appeal be dismissed.

2.        The applicant pay the respondent’s costs of the appeal.

Note:    Settlement and entry of orders is dealt with in Order 36 of the Federal Court Rules

IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

VICTORIA DISTRICT REGISTRY

V 660 of 1999

BETWEEN:

PETER JOHN LAMERS as the legal personal representative of the late JOHN FLENTJAR
Applicant

AND:

REPATRIATION COMMISSION
Respondent

JUDGE:

GOLDBERG J

DATE:

24 JANUARY 2001

PLACE:

MELBOURNE

REASONS FOR JUDGMENT

Introduction

  1. On 29 October 1999 the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (“the Tribunal”) determined that the late John Flentjar deceased (“the veteran”) was not entitled to be paid a pension at the special rate pursuant to s 24 of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) (“the Act”). The veteran died on 2 December 1998 and his application for a pension at the special rate has been continued by the applicant, the executor of his will, in accordance with s 126(1) of the Act. The applicant has appealed against the Tribunal’s decision pursuant to s 44 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth).

  2. This is the second time the veteran’s application for payment of a pension at the special rate has been before the Court.  An earlier decision of the Tribunal had allowed the veteran’s application but that decision was set aside by Spender J and remitted to the Tribunal for further hearing:  Repatriation Commission v Flentjar (1997) 47 ALD 67. An appeal by the veteran against that decision was dismissed by a Full Court: Flentjar v Repatriation Commission (1997) 26 AAR 93. An application to the High Court for special leave to appeal was refused on 19 May 1998.

    Background

  3. The veteran was born on 4 September 1916 and undertook operational service during the Second World War.  He served in the Royal Australian Navy from 1934 until his discharge on 7 October 1946.  After his discharge he initially worked as a sign writer and,…

Continue reading Lamers v Repatriation Commission

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Lamers v Repatriation Commission [2001] FCA 24
Case
[2001] FCA 24
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

This case involves an appeal by a veteran against the decision of the Repatriation Commission, which denied his application for a pension at the special rate. The veteran, who served in the Royal Australian Navy during the Second World War, claims his war-caused disability, specifically irritable bowel syndrome, prevents him from engaging in remunerative work. The case has previously been before the courts, with an earlier decision of the Tribunal allowing the veteran's application, which was later set aside and remitted to the Tribunal. An appeal against the decision was dismissed by the Full Court, and the High Court declined to grant special leave to appeal.

The primary legal issue before the court is whether the veteran meets the criteria for a pension at the special rate as stipulated in section 24 of the relevant Act. The veteran must demonstrate that his degree of incapacity from war-caused injury or disease is at least 70%, and that he is totally and permanently incapacitated, unable to undertake more than 8 hours of remunerative work per week. Additionally, the veteran must prove he is suffering a loss of salary or wages due to his incapacity, and not due to other reasons. The court must assess whether the veteran's cessation from driving his taxi, due to his disability, satisfies the criteria for a special rate pension.

The court found that the veteran did not meet the criteria for a pension at the special rate. The court held that the veteran's cessation from driving his taxi was due to his disability, but he continued to work for other employers without suffering a loss of salary or wages. The court determined that the veteran was not suffering a loss of earnings due to his incapacity alone, as he had ceased driving his taxi for reasons other than his disability. Furthermore, the court found that the veteran was not incapacitated from engaging in remunerative work for reasons other than his war-caused injury. Consequently, the veteran did not meet the requirements under section 24 of the Act.

The court dismissed the veteran's appeal and ordered that the veteran pay the respondent's costs of the appeal. This decision underscores the stringent criteria that must be met to qualify for a pension at the special rate, emphasizing the need for a direct link between the war-caused incapacity and the loss of earnings.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The appeal be dismissed.

2. The applicant pay the respondent’s costs of the appeal.

Background

Background to the litigation

This is the second time the veteran’s application for payment of a pension at the special rate has been before the Court. An earlier decision of the Tribunal had allowed the veteran’s application but that decision was set aside by Spender J and remitted to the Tribunal for further hearing: Repatriation Commission v Flentjar (1997) 47 ALD 67. An appeal by the veteran against that decision was dismissed by a Full Court: Flentjar v Repatriation Commission (1997) 26 AAR 93. An application to the High Court for special leave to appeal was refused on 19 May 1998.Background The veteran was born on 4 September 1916 and undertook operational service during the Second World War. He served in the Royal Australian Navy from 1934 until his discharge on 7 October 1946. After his discharge he initially worked as a sign writer and, at some time prior to 1960, he purchased a licence to operate a taxi and earned his living as a taxi owner/driver. In approximately 1970, on medical advice, he ceased driving his taxi as a result of his war‑caused disability of irritable bowel syndrome, which condition was exacerbated by his sitting for long hours in the taxi. Shortly thereafter he sold his taxi licence and for the balance of his working life he worked for Courage Breweries and the Victorian Tramways. He retired at the age of 62 years. On 7 August 1991, the day on which the veteran lodged a claim for a pension at the special rate, he was aged 74 years and 11 months and on the day he died, 2 December 1998, he was aged 82 years and 3 months. The day on which the veteran lodged his claim for a pension at the special rate, 7 August 1991, is the application day for the purpose of assessing his entitlement to the pension at the special rate: s 19(9) of the Act. In order to be entitled to be paid the pension at the special rate the veteran had to bring himself within the provisions of s 24 of the Act on 7 August 1991 or at any time during the assessment period, that is the period between the date of his claim and the date his claim was determined. Effectively that period terminated earlier on the date of his death. As at 7 August 1991, s 24 (which has since been amended) provided:“(1) This section applies to a veteran if:(a) either:(i)the degree of incapacity of the veteran from war‑caused injury or war‑caused disease, or both, is determined under section 21A to be at least 70% or has been so determined by a determination that is in force; or(ii)the veteran is, because he or she has suffered or is suffering from pulmonary tuberculosis, receiving or entitled to receive a pension at the general rate; and(b)the veteran is totally and permanently incapacitated, that is to say, the veteran’s incapacity from war‑caused injury or war‑caused disease, or both, is of such a nature as, of itself alone, to render the veteran incapable of undertaking remunerative work for periods aggregating more than 8 hours per week; and(c)the veteran is, by reason of incapacity from that war‑caused injury or war‑caused disease, or both, alone, prevented from continuing to undertake remunerative work that the veteran was undertaking and is, by reason thereof, suffering a loss of salary or wages, or of earnings on his or her own account, that the veteran would not be suffering if the veteran were free of that incapacity; and(d) …(2)For the purpose of paragraph (1)(c):(a)a veteran who is incapacitated from war‑caused injury or war‑caused disease, or both, shall not be taken to be suffering a loss of salary or wages, or of earnings on his or her own account, by reason of that incapacity if:(i)the veteran has ceased to engage in remunerative work for reasons other than his or her incapacity from that war‑caused injury or war‑caused disease, or both; or(ii)the veteran is incapacitated, or prevented, from engaging in remunerative work for some other reason; and …”

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

GOLDBERG J

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Established by: GOLDBERG J

Full text does not contain this section.