Keep and Repatriation Commission

Case [2007] AATA 1409


Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2007] AATA 1409

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL        N°V 200600545

VETERANS'      APPEALS        DIVISION
Re: KYLIE MICHELLE KEEP

Applicant

And:

REPATRIATION COMMISSION

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal:Mr Egon Fice, Member

Date:6 June 2007

Place:Melbourne

Decision:The decision of the Veterans’ Review Board made on 14 February 2005 should be set aside and this matter remitted to the Repatriation Commission for assessment of pension payable to Ms Keep.

(sgd) Egon Fice

Member

VETERANS’ AFFAIRS – war-caused injury – depressive disorder – anxiety disorder – pathological gambling – Statement of Principles revoked after commencement of hearing – sequential approach to dealing with revoked Statement of Principles – jurisdiction to deal with defence-caused injury – reasonable hypothesis where no Statement of Principles determined – experiencing a life-threatening event – being threatened with a weapon – objective and subjective requirements – experiencing bullying in the workplace – experiencing a severe psychological stressor

Acts Interpretation Act 1901

Military Compensation Act 1994

Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988

Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986

Benjamin v Repatriation Commission (2001) 70 ALD 622

Bushell v Repatriation Commission (1992) 109 ALR 30

Byrnes v Repatriation Commission (1993) 177 CLR 564

East v Repatriation Commission (1987) 16 FCR 517

Repatriation Commission v Deledio (1998) 83 FCR 82

Repatriation Commission v Gorton (2001) 110 FCR 32

Repatriation Commission v Gosewinckel (1999) 59 ALD 690

Repatriation Commission v Keeley (2000) 98 FCR 108

Repatriation Commission v Stoddart (2003) 134 FCR 392

Stoddart v Repatriation Commission (2003) 197 ALR 283

White v Repatriation Commission [2004] FCA 633

Woodward and Another v Repatriation Commission (2003) 131 FCR 473

REASONS FOR DECISION

6 June 2007  Mr Egon Fice, Member

1.      Ms Kylie Keep enlisted in the Australian Army on 27 February 1991.  She was allocated to the Australian Army Catering Corps to work as a cook.

2.      Ms Keep rendered operational service as defined in the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (the VE Act) in East Timor between 14 January 2000 and 20 February 2000. On 29 July 2004, Ms Keep made a claim for a disability pension under the VE Act. The claim was based on incapacity arising from a depressive condition as well as a left leg and knee condition.

3.      The Repatriation Commission (the Commission) accepted Ms Keep’s claim in respect of her left leg.  The Commission refused her claim for depressive disorder with obssessional features and plica of the left knee, deciding that these conditions were not related to her military service.

4.      Ms Keep applied to the Veterans’ Review Board (the VRB) for a review of the Commission’s decision.  Ms Keep withdrew her claim in respect of her left knee in the course of the hearing before the VRB which proceeded to determine her claim for depressive disorder with obssessional features.  In a decision made on 8 February 2005, the VRB affirmed the decision of the Commission.  Ms Keep now seeks a review of the VRB decision denying her claim for depressive disorder…

Continue reading Keep and Repatriation Commission

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Keep and Repatriation Commission [2007] AATA 1409
Case
[2007] AATA 1409
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

Ms Kylie Michelle Keep made a claim for a disability pension under the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 (the VE Act) based on incapacity arising from a depressive condition as well as a left leg and knee condition. The Repatriation Commission (the Commission) accepted Ms Keep's claim in respect of her left leg. The Commission refused her claim for depressive disorder with obsessional features and plica of the left knee, deciding that these conditions were not related to her military service. Ms Keep applied to the Veterans' Review Board (the VRB) for a review of the Commission's decision. Ms Keep withdrew her claim in respect of her left knee in the course of the hearing before the VRB which proceeded to determine her claim for depressive disorder with obsessional features. In a decision made on 8 February 2005, the VRB affirmed the decision of the Commission. Ms Keep now seeks a review of the VRB decision denying her claim for depressive disorder with obsessional features. The central issue before the Tribunal was whether Ms Keep's claimed conditions are war-caused injuries in that they resulted from an occurrence that happened while she was rendering operational service. There is an additional, jurisdictional issue, regarding Ms Keep's claimed second depression hypothesis. That claim has been brought under the VE Act and there is a question as to whether the Tribunal has jurisdiction to hear that claim given that it does not relate to Ms Keep's operational service. Furthermore, the claim arose after 7 April 1994, which was the commencing date for the Military Compensation Act 1994 (the MC Act). The Tribunal found that Ms Keep's anxiety and depression, and her pathological gambling, were either contributed to in a material degree by, or were aggravated by, her eligible war service and should therefore be taken to be war-caused for the purposes of the VE Act. The decision of the VRB made on 14 February 2005 should be set aside and this matter remitted to the Commission for assessment of pension payable to Ms Keep.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.